We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gardners Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gardners Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Large selection of reasonably priced food, delivered quickly. We had beef nachos & chicken Parma which were both delicious. The food seemed home made rather than processed. A large crowd gathered for lunch around the fire. Service was friendly & the bistro area clean, comfortable & spacious

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CharlieHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    14
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
10
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We wanted a great getaway in the mountains and that's what we got. A fantastic, friendly, warm environment down in the bar (lovely locals too); great, reasonably priced food; clean, spacious and quiet rooms at a good price for this very popular area; and friendly and helpful staff. Am planning another trip to Gardner's, Blackheath at the moment!! My only criticism is that the music in the bar could have started earlier!

Room Tip: My best tip would be to tell the staff exactly what you want- do you want peace and quiet, do you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvvvretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed 1 night here over the Easter break for $70 and this is what we found:
- Large room with ample space to move about
- Room seemed reasonably neat and clean
- Shared bathroom was reasonably new and clean despite some towels being left lying on the floor.
- There is a small wash basin in the room which is handy to have.
- Because the room was virtually opposite the stairs where people come up and down, we found it to be quite noisy as you can hear everything, esp conversations between people where they probably don't even realise you can hear them, so avoid this room! Apart from that noise, there was no other noise we found disturbing.
- No internet - we've come to expect this as pretty standard in many places but not here!
- The included breakfast is not worth it unless you want bread and cereal.
- Staff are hard to find and when they're wandering about, don't seem too particularly friendly although they will help you out if you need assistance (as they should!)
- The accommodation is basically above a pub - beware of the Friday night Karaoke(!) but otherwise the location is great and within walking distance to all the shops in Blackheath. Check out Wattle Cafe nearby - food is excellent esp the goats cheese tart! Blackheath itself is a pretty little town so make sure you do take some time to wander around and enjoy the atmosphere.
Overall it was a pretty average experience. Think I will try elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Avoid the room opposite the stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

The room is basic and clean which is ok for $50 per night. The main problem was the service, we came across some of the unfriendliest staff. It was a long weekend and it really seemed like people did not want to be there, quite unwelcoming. We requested a remote for the tiny TV and it almost seemed like it was a laughing matter. We were there for 3 nights, the room was not serviced even once. That being said the restaurant is pretty good, some of the best pies I've had in Australia. Use it as a last resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiegoAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackheath hotels

Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights at a cost of $50.00 per night.Rooms were clean and comfortable. The room included a handbasin and jug with coffee and tea. Found the room noisy (it was on the main drag), but I guess you pay for what you get, staff are pleasant, meals are good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the very back of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This place is essentially an old (by Oz standards) pub with rooms. The public areas are covered in dirt engrained carpet. Our room (double) was very small and awkward. It was not secure and there was a lot of noise from a very noisy road and rail nearby. Staff were nice enough and obliging but obviously dont see the grubbiness and general tattiness. The room was cold but then so is Blackheath generally. Awful place.

Good restaurant on left about twenty yards - bring your own wine from the hotel. Wine excellent. If you are thinking of visiting the area for a holiday forget it. It is all puffed up as somwhere wonderful but I have no desire to go back whatsoever. It is just boring scrub covered hills. Very well run (and cheap) railway!

Room Tip: Get as far away fro road/rail as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomira6830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

The place was value for money. The staff was friendly, we were given basic amenities (towels, soap, glasses, kettler etc), the room (no bed bugs or insects) and the shared facilities was clean. We were horrified by some accommodations so we were reluctant and worried the place may be the same but to our surprise the place was perfect for our budget and location was central to the activities we had planned for the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sayphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.4 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
5.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#3 of 8 in Blackheath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Mountains Motor Inn
High Mountains Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Blackheath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardners Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardners Inn Hotel

Property: Gardners Inn Hotel
Address: 255 Great Western Hwy | Opposite railway station, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardners Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Located in the heart of Blackheath, Gardners Inn is the oldest hotel in the Blue Mountains and has been welcoming travellers since 1831. The Inn is located in the heart of Blackheath which nestles at one of the highest points of the Blue Mountains at 1065 metres. The accommodation on offer has 24 individually decorated rooms featuring WiFi and DVD players. For a bit of entertainment, TV's include digital channels and guests can also appreciate conveniences like living rooms and dining areas. The Hotel provides daily housekeeping and there are rooms available with shared bathroom and ensuite options. This smoke-free hotel features a restaurant, WiFi in public areas, four bar areas, pool tables, TAB, bottle shop, arcade/game room, outdoor deck, beer garden and cosy warm log fires for those cold winter nights. There is Self parking available free of charge and Tour/ticket assistance. The Hotel's restaurant Hydoras, has taken Australian cuisine to the next level by infusing both Western and Eastern flavours to deliver a taste uniquely its own, including its famous deep dish pies. Gardners Inn is the perfect venue for functions and events with a number of options available to suit all guests. The Hotel hosts a variety of events ranging from corporate events and birthdays to name a few. We look forward to welcoming you at the Gardners Inn Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gardners Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardners Inn Hotel Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing