We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Mountains Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We checked in on the 4th of july 2014. The staff were friendly and gave good advice. The thai silk restaurant blackheath they suggested was better than the food we ate in thailand at a 5 star resort. The rooms were great. After 3 days exploring blackheath, i asked my 4 year old what she liked about the mountains and she said "the hotel". She loved having an electric blanket, everyone sleeping together and watching foxtel for the first time. Thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    23
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
23
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed for a second time in September this year and had another great stay. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful, suggesting more places to visit that I hadn't seen last time and ensuring I knew where to go!

My week spent at the motel could not be faulted. My room was well equipped,clean and regularly serviced. The breakfast was excellent and as part of the package is extremely good value.

I have recommended you to all of my friends and family. My parents loved the area and will also be visiting again as they thourghly enjoyed their stay.

Thanks again for your kind hospitality and I would suggest anyone wanting to explore the stunning Blue Mountains area use this as a base.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyBrandreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My 3 year old daughter and I stayed there after decided 8:30 was late enough to be travelling home to Orange. The motel owner/manager was great, discounted our room and even offered to feed my daughter, I couldn't ask for better service, was a very nice experience. Next time I would plan to stay there!

Room Tip: Ignore bad ratings from traveller who left messy fish smelling room, what a wanker, these people are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here on a brief visit to Blackheath. I found the manageress very helpful so am at a loss as to why others suggest differently.

Location - Conveniently located to Blackheath but unfortunately close to a main highway.

Noise - There was a lot of truck noise overnight which did not make it easy to have a completely restful sleep.

Value - Quite exceptional bearing in mind a cooked breakfast is provided.

Room - I have enclosed photographs and I believe they speak loudly. Everything in good order and very much appreciated. The bed linen was clean.

En-Suite - Just as one expects in this style of motel.

Internet - Easy access and no problems encountered.

Breakfast - Excellent. It 'set us up' well for a days touring.

General - If it were not for the truck noise I would have awarded this Motel 5*. I can certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid rooms 16-21 as they lie closer to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home counties
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here overnight in preference to Katoomba because it was very good value and we were not disappointed. It is a slightly older motel but the rooms were clean and very comfortable and thankfully had heating because it was a very cold night and there was ice on the car in the morning. Its location is only a few minutes drive from some of the best viewing points in the area, particularly Govett's Leap and Pulpit Rock. The owners were very helpful with directions and also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at High Mountains Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thanks for that! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed recently after booking online and our room was nothing like the photo images I have seen.
The double bed sagged so badly in the middle that my wife and I slept poorly. Aside from this, the air brakes on trucks through the night kept waking us. Lightbulbs were missing and the carpet was badly stained and very old. The lounge was also stained and the wall heaters noisy.
The bathroom was very old (50's tiles, basin, toilet).
Maybe there are better rooms but ours was a shocker! Beware!

Room Tip: Huge difference in rooms - maybe some have ever been renovated for 40 years!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VegemiteSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at High Mountains Motor Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We pride ourselves as having good beds and clean rooms so it would be appreciated if you phoned me on 02 4787 8216 and told us which room you were in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackheath hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is close to a number of hikes in the Blue Mountains around Blackheath. Perfect if you need a place to drop your gear for the day. On the plus side, it has free Wi-Fi! Staff was friendly and helpful. Room is basic, shower was a bit small and dark but serviceable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.1 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
25 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
154 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Mountains Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Mountains Motor Inn

Property: High Mountains Motor Inn
Address: 193 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — High Mountains Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Mountains Motor Inn is in the heart of the Blue Mountains. Clean, comfortable beds at the an affordable price. Rooms have been renovated and have good beds. Inclusions are heater, mini fridge, toaster, tea and coffe making facilities, ensuite, mirrors, lamps, tables and chairs, internet hotspots in each room, plus phone, alarm clock radio, iron and board. We are close to all the major Blue Mountains attractions yet out of the crowds in the peaceful village of Blackheath. High Mountains is only 500 meters from the cafes and award winning restaurants. Antique, gift and craft shops. Experience the true Blue Mountains on some of the great walks like the "Grand Canyon" walk or hike to The Blue Gum Forest. There are great views of the Megalong Valley and the Grose Valley on either side of the town. Use us as a base for your adventures, horse riding, a trip to Jenolan Caves or a peaceful mountain rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Mountains Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Mountains Motor Inn Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing