We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. The best of the best.”
Review of Vulcan's - CLOSED

Vulcan's
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent. The best of the best.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent menu with service to match. Cannot fault this restaurant. Food made with love and attention to detail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevensMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,519 reviews
721 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,330 helpful votes
“Our ducky reward post hike”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Why it here?
Its the finesse and care that goes in the food,that's why,its reputation is legend.
The aromatic soft and yielding roast duck breast spiced with star anise and pepper,steamed slowly in their oven which served a bakery in a former life,then crisped in a pan . Its served on the bone with a side of spicy smashed potatoes,coriander and a green curl of an onion.
My femme had glazed duckling sausage in rounds,super tender piled over roasted beetroot and a chiffon node of mint. We started with a hearty rotolo of spiced pumpkin,goat's milk ricotta and lentils and finished with a fantastic upside down caramelized pear cake with a batter of hazelnut & almond meal covered in sticky roast pear syrup.
There are times when talk of food has to stop!!........and the satisfaction of perfect dishes savored and respected. Congrats to the fine team at Vulcan's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great, but now gone”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Vulcan's was a great culinary icon not just for the Blue Mountains, but acknowledged as such by the foodie set throughout Sydney. The first time I dined there we were entertaining very demanding Japanese guests. They had no complaints - which equated to a rave review. Unfortunately Vulcan's is no more, having closed within the past six months (June 2013). A new restaurant, Vesta, has opened in the same location, but we have yet to try it. For those seeking the finest in Blue Mountains dining there is Ashcroft's, also in Blackheath, which is generally acknowledged as the region's leading restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I still have dreams about the meals I've had here!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Although it's been a long time since I've been able to have a meal here (I live in Qld), I simply must pass on my recommendation. I have eaten here 5 or 6 times and EVERY time EVERY single part of the meals has been incredible. Earthy food where even the humblest of ingredients becomes a taste sensation. Treat yourself to three courses, you won't be disappointed. BTW, the desserts are to die for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purpleswamphen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fond farewell to a wonderful restaurant .”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We are so sad to farewell one of our all time favourites as Phillip and Barry hang up their aprons. We have so many wonderful memories of great meals over the years particularly through the winter months. The duck, the fish, the beef as well as those fabulous puddings, ice creams and parfaits! One weekend we ate there twice in 3 days, another weekend Blackheath was experiencing a blackout so the kitchen couldn't operate but they managed to fit us in on another night!! All the best to you both for the future, enjoy your retirement, we will miss the "Vulcans Experience".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vulcan's also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing