We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well into the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well into the bush”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived on a cold rainy Sunday evening, (we had been warned that it could get cold up in the Blues, but we're from Scotland so, what the heck...) We had been allocated Valley Cottage, which is the furthest down the track and feels as though it's well into the bush. The house has a wood burning stove and a gas heater, both of which can turn the place well cosy in a short space of time. The house is on 2 levels - mezanine, with the kitchen/dining area on the upper level along with the 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The lower part is the lounge area and one bedroom off it. The lower bedroom is the coldest room as of course heat rises, which won't matter in good weather, but we needed to bung on the extra blankets for the first night.The bedrooms are 2 doubles and one double with an elevated single, which our 3 grankids slept in. After the first night the weather improved greatly. It was really lovely sitting in the lounge one night letting the darkness fall, with no lights on, watching the colours of sky and forest mute and darken.
The "views" are nice, (if I didn't come from Scotland I might have said spectacular, but it's all relative), but you have to follow a narrow track down through the trees and scrub to find them. Kanimbla View is described as a Clifftop Retreat and there are cliffs but nearby was more like a rocky outcrop which was high enough for you not to want to fall off. You could see a fine cliff from the outcrop. From the cottages you just see the surrounding forest.

We all really enjoyed both the area and our stay in Valley Cottage. The kids loved the petanque or boules pitch and the tennis court too. I'd definitely use it again if in the area.

We visited Scenic World (pricey but worth it), and the Jenolan Cave Complex, which although a bit of drive, was again worth it, and a good way to spend our first full day as the rain was still around.

Room Tip: The upper bedrooms rooms are warmer, or if the weather's hot, the lower bedroom would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Thank you so much to Nigel and Tony for making our time in the Blue Mountains so special! We were lucky enough to stay in the STUDIO which was perfect for our small family group - very warm and comfortable and extremely well organised. It was gorgeous sitting out on the terrace in the late afternoons as the sun went down. The hosts could not do enough for us, checking that we had everything and and on hand for all requests. The kids loved learning about the eco friendly features so it was very educational as well and quite an eye opener.
For anyone interested in a true eco lodge with luxury and comfort thrown in then this is the place. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seriousnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Recently we stayed at Kanimbla View, booking out the venue with a group of 14. As a group of outdoor retail managers the venue suited us perfectly. It was big enough for individuals to have their own space, the lodge was perfect for cooking, relaxing and eating and the studio was a great conference venue and accommodation.

Kanimbla is a beautiful spot where our group could relax and enjoy the surroundings as well as having more formal conference time. The adobe lodge was a great space to relax in and the kitchen was very well set up to cook for a group of 14. The studio was fantastic accommodation for 2 and was a very private space when being utilised as accommodation. It also doubled as a relaxed conference venue for the full group of 14 during the day. The cottages were perfect for 6 people and were very comfortable and warm.

We loved Kanimbla view and would be only too happy to stay there again. Thanks Nigel for being such an accommodating host.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lucy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is amazing, the cabins, views, settings it is a special place that should be enjoyed and treasured by all. We attended a yoga weekend with wonderful views, surroundings, clean, comfortable, amazing food, and the company we had was enjoyed by all too. Tony and Nigel went all out for our stay with hospitality, food, drinks, welcoming us and yes I think they should publish a Kanimbla Cookbook, the food was really good. We all went to dinner and when we returned the cabin was "warm & cosie" cause someone had visited and put the fire on. Way to go Tony & Nigel. Blankets were plenty. Studio was well equipped for yoga and a warm fire always glowing in the cooler months before practice. I will definitely return for another stay and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking that something different and better. Marisa Di

Room Tip: Go in a group of family and friends and share the cost and enjoy in company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarisaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Kanimbla View is such a special place, it truly is paradise. It was the perfect setting for a Yoga Retreat. The Studio was warm and cosy, the cabins were very clean and contained everything you need to remain comfortably day & night. The food was amazing, the group I travelled with thinks that Tony should create a Kanimbla cookbook – it was that good! I definitely recommend this little indulgence to anyone of all ages.
Thank you Nigel & Tony for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Kanimbla is unique and so peaceful. the hosts
Nigel and Tony are only too happy to please and Tony is an amazing chef!! We attended a yoga retreat there and found it to be perfect for the purpose. The accomodation is spread over two tri level cottages on an eco tourist property. We were there for a yoga weekend and practice was taken in the studio that is adjacent to the adobe where meals were served (so yum) and incredibly generous in size!! Take your thermals in winter. The lower bedroom can be a little on the cool side , however the higher bedrooms are warmer in the night - and be prepared for short walk up the hill to the adobe and studio. We had a great weekend and have already booked in again for spring. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogipam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We were so disappointed in our stay at Kanimbla that we are sure never to return. Firstly the "studio" is like a big scout hall with blinds that don't fully cover the windows leaving you with no privacy. It was like staying in a fish bowl. We were freezing as there wasn't sufficient bedding and no fire starters, matches were left for us to even start a fire. The fire wasn't even cleaned either. We couldn't find the owners as there was a sign up saying they were not there so we coulnd;t even ask for these things. It is over priced for what it is and don't recommend it to anyone who is expecting any sort of luxury, it's very much more for roughing it!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treekisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
2.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
1.2 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
25 reviews
5.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat

Property: Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat
Address: 113 Shipley Rd | Shipley Plateau, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains, Kanimbla View Clifftop Retreat is a breathtaking 12 acre ecotourism retreat with spectacular views of the Kanimbla Valley. Just two hours by car or train from Sydney, Kanimbla View offers the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups, and is the perfect base from which to visit the many attractions and activities in the Blue Mountains. Stay in one of our architect-designed 3-bedroom eco-cottages, or take over the entire retreat for a special holiday away with family or friends, and enjoy exclusive use of our bush walks, tennis court, and boules pitch. Our Studio is an ideal space for Yoga and Meditation classes, located close to our recently renovated Lodge, which has a fully-equipped commercial kitchen and dining and relaxation facilities for up to 22 persons. We offer midweek catered conference packages which are ideal for team building exercises in the relaxed atmosphere of a bush setting, and are pleased to provide catering for all events. Eco CredentialsWe are committed to best practice ecological sustainability. You will leave Kanimbla View content and refreshed after an environmentally sound escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanimbla View - The Clifftop Retreat Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing