We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very welcoming..”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This place was great. From the moment we stepped in the welcome and service were great. He even took us to the beginning of our walk on the first morning which was over and above what we had expected. The rooms were exactly what we needed and were very clean. This is great for a quiet break. We ended up getting a cab into Katoomba for the evening activities, but it wasn't too expensive. The owner even offered to pick us up that evening too. There is not masses to do in Blackheath, however the walks offer a lot more than Katoomba. There are also a lot less tourists in Blackheath which was a massive benefit. We didn't eat here but it smelt delicious and was busy in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevemardlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    20
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
58
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Old Toongabbie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Tony and Dolma are great hosts, they welcomed us with open and friendly arms. The room was neat and tidy the ensuite clean and practical. The evening meal was good, the cooked breakfast even better.
The place was fully booked out on Saturday night but you would not have known that other guests were there.
Tony was more than happy to recomend places to go and see as well as suggestions of other resteraunts to eat dinner at. His recomendation of were to go and take sunset photos was alos spot on.
All and all agreat time was had. Will not hesitate to go back for another weekend.
The only minor issue was we found the bed a bit to firm for our liking. We mentioned this to the host and took it on board.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 32toonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

thankyou so much to Tony, Dalma and their wonderful son for making my holiday in Blackheath truly filled with happy memories. their hospitality was amazing to say the least. nothing was too much trouble. the room was just what I wanted and spotlessly clean. the Nepalese food was unreal too. I love to bushwalk and not knowing the area that well, Tony would drop me off at a good spot and pick me up after I had finished it. that was very reassuring. When it was time to go home, Dolma had packed me a lunch to eat as I travelled. thankyou so much to the 3 of you for my wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The food was AMAZING, the rooms clean and comfortable (we were upgraded because there were no other people staying at the same time we were which was lovely surprise) the hosts were lovely, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bec E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I recently lead a trek of 12 girls through the Blue Mountains. Our first night was spent at the Norwood Mountain Lodge and we could not have struck a better experience. This lovely little gem is cosy and as clean as a whistle. Our Hosts Tony and Dolma are friendly and hospitable. The breakfast was HUGE and delicious. We felt well set up for our big day trek on the Six Foot Track in to Katoomba. All the girls loved Norwood Mountain Lodge and I look forward to returning to this wonderful place on many trips to come.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the back of the lodge are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AussieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here 4 nights. Host Dolma and Tony were absolutely fantastic always there to help if needed. Food here is imazing and dont forget to try mo.mo ( tibeten food). Its a beautiful hotel with great service,The lounge area was beautiful.The room we had was just delightful, cosy and warm, lovely crisp bedding, fluffy pillows - and very private.We highly recommend this place , and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lee j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P, Owner at Norwood Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidwood New South Wales Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently spent an enjoyable weekend in the Blue Mountains,at Blackheath,
staying at Norwood Mountain Lodge,which is situated on the Great Western Highway
It has recently been leased by a couple who have many years experience running treks and
expeditions in Nepal,but have now returned to Australia,the lodge is handy to Blackheath ,the
railway station and the National Parks,for bushwalking,birdwatching etc,
the rooms are clean and comfortable,in winter there is an open log fire in the lounge room where
guests can sit and enjoy a cuppa or read a book from the bookshelf.
there is a restarant for guests for breakfast which is also open to the public for meals on
Friday, Saturday,Sunday,which serves delicious Nepali meals,all at reasonable price,so if you are
looking for an overnight or weekend escape from city life Norwood Mountain Lodge might just be
the ideal place

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.2 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
26 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Mountain Lodge

Property: Norwood Mountain Lodge
Address: 209 Great Western Hwy, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Norwood Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new management. A family run guest house offering B&B accommodation in a heritage building dating back to 1888. Conveniently located on the Great Western Highway at Blackheath in the upper Blue Mountains close to many of the World Heritage scenic sites to be found in the region. The attached restaurant serves the only authentic Nepalese food to be found in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norwood Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Mountain Lodge Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing