We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birdlife a big plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Birdlife a big plus”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the tree top cabin. The accommodation is only basic but has what you need. I would give this accommodation about a 3 star rating. The fire heater was great but when on made the bedroom upstairs hot so we left the window upstairs opens when made a difference. My husband is 6ft 2 and he was able to reach the window in the bedroom. I’m 5 ft 3 no way could I touch that window. I found the rooms a bit gloomy because the walls and ceiling aren’t painted they are left the chipboard colour which made the rooms very dark and uninviting. They advertised a restaurant but the staff said it’s only open for functions, I found that very disappointing. The grounds where nice but if you wanted to Bar.B.Q your meat you had to go to the communal Bar B Q which is find if it isn’t raining. Each cabin had a veranda and I think if the owners but a small B-B-Q on each it would make it that make nicer and intimate for couples. We loved the bird life I put small pieces of apple on our balcony and we had birds visiting us all day. I don’t think I would stay again to basic accommodation for me and the bed and lounge where very uncomfortable for my liking but most of all I found inside too dark and gloomy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank free-as-a-bird-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
thank you for your thoughts .we keep to the echo environment for the last 30 years ,we do not or want to paint the rooms natural wood is suited to the the natural habitat.we have a undercover b,b,q area ,or fully self contained kitchen equipped to cook most foods,we are not interested in any star system ,we are unique and offer a lot more than 4 concrete walls we are on 16 acres of prime national park and surrounded on three sides of untouched national park we put in the rooms NOT TO FEED THE PARROTS ON THEIR BALCONY.BECAUSE IF EVERY ONE DID THAT THE PARROTS WOULD TO COME TO THE MORNING FEEDING TIME FOR AVERY ONE TO ENJOY and it would bring other wild life to you cabin that most people would not like.as to tariffs we are very completable and offer a lot more,our restaurant is open for some lunches and groups.due most people go site seeing during the day ,but our breakfast basket and b.b.q pack are second to none.we do put b.b.q on each balcony for fire safety reasons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    35
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dee Why
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Simply put a great place to get away from it all ... No city lights or noise ... More relaxing and down to earth than most 5 stars I've been in. Can see obvious advantages for families with kids and team building conferences as it can be both private and promotes community at same time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgeyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonona, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I booked to take my fiance up to Jemby for his birthday for the weekend. We had a cabin and everything was very clean and we had the breakfast basket with juices, milk, muesli, yoghurt, homemade chocolates and fruit for the 2 days we were there. A short stroll down the path there is an open BBQ area and fire pit for group gatherings.... if you choose. We didn't and opted to spend the evenings in our cabin and use the kitchen facilities therein. The kitchen was well stocked for cooking. The verandah and inside were well stocked with wood for the "fire/heater". The bedding was very comfortable. Blackheath itself is only a 5 minute drive away and you can get supplies there at the local IGA and pub. Katoomba is about 10-15 minutes back down the highway.We were very happy and are looking at coming back with my in-laws for a family weekend.

Room Tip: When booking a cabin ask for Cabin # 2 which is set back a little off the track away from the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Very bacic bunk beds good bouble bed feel the springs and hard, Shower head need fixing,TV old and can't get colour in all stations remote wont work, a lot of money for what we got.You need to go out and buy in food nothing there for you. You have to walk a very dim lit path to cabin need to use a torch not good for a man that can hardly walk to get there. I guess I choose bad although I did ask re his disabalities but it really wasn't even though the young girl let us park on the fire trail so he could have a shorter walk.

Room Tip: This was a disbality room may-be the others better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thieson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
thank you for your thoughts we do have easy excess for wheel chairs and disabled people in all our lodges and 2 of our cabins and the restaurant and function room our bunks are firm for a good nights sleep we have most food to purchase from reception and is noted in your folder ,we have great b.b.q packs and breakfast basket baskets available 7 days a week. tea and coffee in your rooms and at the reception during opening hours the shops and cafes restaurants are 5 min drive away ,their is plenty of lighting and we give a touch to each guest, but we do not have bright florescent lighting or spot lights we have echo friendly lights to protect the wild life and echo environment .we are echo environment with natural habitat where you can get away from it all and have peace and tranquility.the televisions are old we are having a survey whether to take them out so people can talk to each other and enjoy the natural habitat and bond more to the earth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrack Heights
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We initially booked a room in the backpackers lodge but upgraded to a self contained cabin.
Price was a little on the high side but it was soon forgotten.
Amenities were excellent, very quiet in the bush, lots of trees between cabins.
Slow combustion fires in each cabin, wood and lighters provided with instructions on the wall for those who have not lit a fire before. The weather was cold and raining all weekend and it was so relaxing, even walking in the rain to the lookout was very good, so was the view of the clouds.take wet weather gear any time of the year and warm clothes.
Service was excellent, though the restaurant was closed recently they can provide BBQ packs, We like to take our own food and cook ourselves, stove and fridge all work.
Wi Fi is free but only in the public area which is very comfortable with a fire pit and tea and coffee.
Plenty of birds and wildlife but the rain kept them in their nests.
The town of Blackheath is very friendly, everyone was so helpful and happy to see us.
Bed was very good and the cabin was so comfortable.

Room Tip: any cabin is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thank you Edwin, Renee and all the amazing staff at Jemby- Rinjah Eco Lodge, for hosting our 2013 Bellydancing Teachers Retreat.

With over 20 professional Bellydance teachers and guest speakers over the 3 day event, Jemby -Rinjah provided a functional, professional conference venue for our seminars with the added bonus of beautiful bushland views, and a comforting fireplace,

Also providing exceptional meals daily in the beautiful atmospheric restaurant and catering to special dietary requirements we were truly spoilt,Thank you.

The Lodges were clean,comfortable and functional accomodating our two groups.

I would highly recommend Jemby- Rinjah Eco Lodge for the perfect place to hold functions and confereces, as well as a unique dinning and getaway experience.

Hiriana Partington

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We headed to Jemby-Rinjah for our 7th anniversary and it was perfect. Our log cabin had everything we needed! The wood burning heater was a highlight for us! It was amazing to wake up and be surrounded by nature. Our meal in the restaurant was enjoyable too and perfectly finished off with the homemade chocolates. I certainly recommend a visit if you are looking for a relaxing weekend away.

Our other highlight of the weekend for us were a trip to Jenolan Caves! Certainly worth a visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 9 and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
1.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
857 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
17 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge

Property: Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge
Address: 336 Evans Lookout Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the spectacular Blue Mountains from the comfort and tranquility of the award winning Jemby Rinjah Eco Lodge. A unique Australian ecotourism escape in the heart of the Blue Mountains.Get back to nature & replace the phones ringing with birds singing....Situated in the heart of the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park and mere metres to some of the most glorious lookouts and bush walking trails in the world. Here at Jemby on 16 acres of unspoilt Australian bush we have two styles of Accommodation.Secluded Eco Bush Cabins all fully self contained with kitchenette and slow combustion fire. Group shared Lodges with 18 beds, 2 bathrooms, with Bbq on own private verandah. Jemby is the perfect home base for exploring the hidden gems of the Blue Mountains a home away from home.We pride ourselves on our Eco friendliness, comfy accommodation. No bells and whistles here, just the sound of mother nature calling. .Why not have your next work Conference or team building event here with us at Jemby,. With a fully equipped Conference Centre in a picturesque part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Hotel Blackheath
Jemby-Rinjah Eco Lodge Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing