We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, magical stay - did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My partner and I stayed at Kubba Roonga for 4 nights and felt quite torn when we had to leave. We loved everything about it - the very engaging host, Briget, the lovely room just off the front balcony with the most incredibly comfortable bed, the very cosy open fire and lovely living/sitting areas, the tasty breakfasts, the beautiful garden and the wonderful sense of peace and serenity. We also loved the easy access to Blackheath village with its chefs hat restaurants, Gleebooks (a personal favouriate), bakeries and cafes, interesting individually-owned shops and a smattering of galleries. Being keen bushwalkers we also loved getting to know the Grose Valley - in particular the Pulpit Rock escarpment walk and the Grand Canyon Walk. We are currently planning our next trip, perhaps with some friends in tow this time.....DandD

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaandDaves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

My partner and I stayed here in winter, which is the most spectacular time of the year in the Blue Mountains. Unfortunately we didn't see any snow, but it was still very misty in Blackheath of a morning, with crisp sunny days.

We stayed in the smaller guesthouse which was a little further back from the street than the main house is. It is the kind of place that I could see myself living in-lots of timber, a spacious living area with a wonderful kitchen and combustion fireplace (which my partner mucked around with the entire time we were there-it definitely fed his inner pyromaniac!). But the best part of it was the gorgeous claw foot bath, I spent a lot of time in there with a good book and glass of wine-especially great after a tough days caving at Jenolan!

There was a balcony out the back which faced the bushland and we could hear a waterfall close by, it was just so peaceful, except at night when you could hear possums fighting-the noise they make is unbelievable!! We didn't spend a lot of time on the balcony at night though, as the fire inside was just too nice to be away from. The bed was also extremely comfy and had an electric blanket as well as a heater, but we didnt need them.

The lovely owners supplied a yummy breakfast platter for us which included eggs, coffee, tea, milk and bread. A nice little touch that is always appreciated. They also supplied an extensive compendium full of information about local restaurants, galleries and things to do. We went to a few of the cafes and antique shops in Blackheath, and had dinner at the pub there-yummy gastropub style food. Also, while in Blackheath, make sure you have breakfast at the cafe across the road from the super busy cafe/ antique shop-the coffee and sandwiches there are brilliant and they have an extensive selection of cheese and deli meats, as well as sweet treats.

A word of advice when booking-don't be cheap and say there are only two of you if you are planning on bringing some friends-as the bedroom doors were all locked except for the main!

If you have champagne taste on a beer budget, this place is definitely for you. We had a fantastic romantic weekend, full of adventure, sightseeing and fantastic food. My idea of a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katandscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

A cozy place in the Blue Mountains away from the busyness of Katoomba. The owner was very nice - gave us an orientation and served an amazing breakfast with some of the best homemade bread and jam I have eaten. Breakfast was all from fresh ingredients, started with a continental and then a full English breakfast. The house has a cozy front room with a fireplace and comfortable chairs. Our room had a large bathroom and comfortable bed. The guest house is tucked away from the main road so it's quiet and I slept like a baby. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tall_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in room 5 for a night in June. It was everything we could have wanted, the bathroom was incredible (the spa totally worth the extra ten dollars), and the bed was one of the best I've ever slept in.

Breakfast was amazing... wish I had not have gone out for a huge meal the night before!

Lovely for a quiet couples get-away...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubymerryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Kubba Roonga is situated at Blackheath close to the Blue Mountains tourist attractions and lookouts etc. We arrived approx 2.30pm and greeted in the car Park by Brigitte the manager of the Kubba Roonga. She gave us an orientation of the house and showed us to our room.
The guest house was very clean and tidy and the fires were welcoming and this made for a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
The heated room was more then we expected and had everything that a big city hotel would offer for comfort. This included LCD tv, spa bath, gowns, slippers, toiletries, ironing facilities, hair dryer, plenty of towels and the bathroom heat light was fantastic,. The bed was very comfortable and included an electric blanket. The room and the guesthouse were very clean and tidy.
The breakfast provided was excellent value including a varied selection of both hot & cold. I would definitely recommend this accommodation and intend on returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kruzein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We booked two rooms (room #s 2 and 3) as Kubba Roonga was one of the only B&Bs we could find around Blackheath that would allow a one night stay.

Paid $179 per night per room and found it very comfortable. Sure the bathrooms are a little tired but the rooms are comfy, quaint and - most importantly for a b&b, private.

The host Des loves a chat and delegating "looking after the fire".

Good location for the iconic Govetts Leap / Grand Canyon walk and for dinner at Vulcans.

Although breakfast service a little slow and guests all cramped in one dining room together, it was cooked very well and delicious. It's just a shame they dont let you sit on tables throughout the beautiful house and gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e5jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This was the first time I have ever stayed in a bed & breakfast & let me just say I absolutely loved the Kubba Roonga. The old time charm of the guesthouse was superb. I loved the atmosphere inside the main guest house with the period decor. We stayed in the Spa Room for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was spacious yet perfect for couples looking for a cozy atmosphere. The breakfast each morning was very yummy. Stayed for two nights here, it was so quiet it felt like we were staying at our own private retreat rather then a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delilah514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
32 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Blackheath
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#4 of 7 in Blackheath
95 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Address: 9 Brentwood Ave, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: £107 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful Heritage Home at Blackheath, full of old world service, character and charm, in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. The perfect couples retreat, with Spa room options for the perfect unwind at the end of your day. Walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and a delicious breakfast daily to ensure you have a great start to your day and a relaxing stay! This is an amazing a Home-Away-From-Home EXPERIENCE, and not a Hotel/Motel, so please provide your anticipated arrival time immediately after booking. Staff arrangements will be made to greet you in person for this time, and your check-in time can be revised closer to the day. * Check-ins ... 2pm to 7pm (by appointment only). * Checkout ... by 10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing