We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 8 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived on Friday 10th Jan about 6.30pm and were greeted by our friendly hosts, who made us feel very welcome. The host asked us to treat the guest house like a home away from home.
Chris gave us a run down of the history of the house and a brief on what services they offer.
They showed us to our really lovely room, which was spacious, immaculately clean and very romantic, with Chocolates waiting for us.
The cosy lounge areas were great for us to relax in in the evening. When it was time to retire the first night, the beds were very comfortable and we had a very good sleep.
On Saturday morning we went to the dining room where we were served a country style breakfast, which was a great way to start the day.
My partner took advantage of their massage service to take away the stresses of our usual city life.
On Saturday night the owners recommended a great thai restaurant in the Balckheath township, the food there was absolutely delicious.
On Sunday we had a lazy start to the day, enjoyed our breakfast in the very pretty gardens where there was ample space for my partner and I to spend some quality time together.
They have a Sunday café too, so we indulged in some scones and coffee before heading back to reality.
We really enjoyed our time here and if anyone is looking for a peaceful, comfortable, romantic getaway we'd recommend you try Kubba Roonga.

Room Tip: When we booked we told the host that it was for a romantic getaway, they suggested room 6, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
It's always a pleasure to make your experience one to remember for the rest of your life. We will always aim to provide on-site services and personal service that reflect/exceed that of 6 star standards from the best accommodation providers of the world. Your support is greatly appreciated by your stay with us, and we would love to keep this lovely Heritage Listed home serving your needs for the ultimate unwind for many years to come. Thank you for your lovely words and we look forward to making your next stay even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    26
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We have just stayed at this guesthouse and I must say we were sad to leave.
The home and the hosts were very welcoming and made us feel at home. It's a great old house with lots of character and an absolutely stunning garden.
We were fortunate to be through mid week which allowed us to upgrade our room and the upgraded room had an enormous bathroom with abundant natural light from a skylight. The bed was fabulous, which is important because the guesthouse is close to some excellent walking tracks.
The hosts have paid attention to the details and done a very nice job. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary port by the fireplace after a long bush walk.
I would go on, but I can only type so much on my mobile...

Room Tip: If you can take advantage of the midweek special, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband & I were so impressed with this BnB. Upon our evening arrival we were greeted in from the cold by the lovely owner n host Chris. We enjoyed port by the fireplace, sitting in elegant n comfortable lounge chairs. With the relaxing music playing in the home it was truly a most lovely way to start our mini break from the rush of our city lives. Chris sat with us and talked us through some of the basic history of this nearly 100 year old (but very recently refreshed/updated beautifully) home. We stayed in a beautiful and comfortable room with a spa bath, it was so warm just with the heating but the bed also had electric blankets for good measure! We took the advice of the owners and woke early to do the walk to govetts leap lookout (maps provided) which was just amazing. We returned to a warm welcome once again and the included country breakfast which was more than filling and delicious! Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer.. But the experience was truly great. A lovely elegant get away with a home away from home feeling and if you want a romantic cosy BnB in the blue mountains we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaandVito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This 2 night stay at Kubba Roonga was our second time there and both times was as a School Reunion Group away which for our group of 14 happens at least once a year.The new owners Chris and Graham could not have made us anymore comfortable.We took over all 5 double rooms and also the house next door.Chris accommodated the rest of our group staying next door for breakfast each morning (at a small cost) but nothing was a problem.The rooms are bright,clean and very comfortable,the decor is neat and very relaxing,The fireplace keeps the whole house at a cozy temperature and makes it easy to just sit and do nothing all day and all night if you chose to.

We have already rebooked for another group event at Kubba Roonga in the near future and look forward to the professional services that this wonderful establishment offers by way of hosts Chris and Graham.

Room Tip: Talk to Chris about the reason for your trip and he will help pick the best room for you (all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Upon arrival I was greeted by the friendly staff (firstly Chris) and given a very welcoming introduction and tour of the property. I was encouraged to make myself at home, which I did, making use of the fireplace in the reading area, hot chocolate and coffee machine, tea, and a relaxing spa bath. Regardless of the nearly-freezing wintery rain outside, the home inside was adequately warm, and my room was certainly comfortable with heater in the bedroom and bath, along with heated blankets on the bed. And as can happen, a good conversation soon began with another guest as we sat by the fire.

I came to relax in a quiet atmosphere, and this was exactly where I found myself. The staff (Chris and Graham) were more than hospitable and went beyond the norm of hosts to make me feel like part of the home. At this B&B I didn't just feel like a guest, I felt like part of the family. They obviously care greatly about the well-being of their guests' stay, and offer service that would be missing in a corporate accommodation.

And of course I cannot fail to mention that the breakfast spread (both continental and full) was wonderful and the secret recipe for the tomatoes was quite instrumental in making the full-meal a delightful way to start the day. Unfortunately, I had only planned to stay for one night, as this was a respite in the middle of two days of exploring the towns of the Blue Mountains, but I will definitely plan on at least a two-night stay the next time I visit.

My note to anyone staying at the start of the week (and this has nothing to do with the B&B): the restaurants and cafes in Blackheath stop serving food at 16:00, but the little market and grocery are open a little later. Check TripAdvisor for dining in the town, and then check hours of operation. Most dinner places are only open later in the week. Being an adventurer, having a raw veggie dinner from the fresh market was suitable.

Room Tip: A room with a spa is definitely worth the investment, especially after a day of walking. I had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the moment we stepped into kubba roonga, we were made to feel completely at home. The staff's attention to detail is to be commended; every request we made was met with kindness and understanding, and in fact exceeded in consideration of our requirements. The house is beautiful- tastefully and lovingly maintained, and we could not have asked or wished for more from our stay. Deserving of more than its four stars

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We (european tourists)went to Blue Mountains without any reservation for the night, not knowing that these days June 22nd - 23rd are busy days in Katoomba and surroundings. We were lucky to find Kubba Roonga and Chris, the Kubba Roonga Master of Ceremony ! It was really a good stay; too short as it only was for one night. This is a very nice accommodation in a 1915 heritage house with nice furnitures and five nice guest rooms.

Next time we will come back !

Matthias + Marian

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
2.7 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 8 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Blackheath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Property: Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Address: 9 Brentwood Ave., Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful heritage guesthouse at Blackheath in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. You can walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts to ensure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing