We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mountains getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse we liked it so much we invited our friends and booked out the Guesthouse. A fantastic base to to explore the shops and cafes in the mountains, we shopped and dinned all weekend returning to the guesthouse to relax in-front of the fire with a glass of port.
Chris and Graham are great hosts and certainly make you feel at home, my only recommendation would be to offer more options with breakfast such as poached or fried eggs.

We would definitely recommend Kubba Roonga for couples or groups, we another great short break we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contractor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We love having groups stay with us, and your group certainly has the spirit, love and respect we like to appreciate to our lovely heritage home and to our service. See you all again next year. ps. Try our Baked Egg Mushroom Frittata instead of the boiled eggs. Other guests LOVE IT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went for a weekend away to escape the city, and Kubba Roonga turned out to be a perfect escape. The hosts were welcoming and thoughtful the whole time, and happy to help with advice and suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc. The whole place is beautifully decorated in period style, and it was lovely just to sit in front of the open fireplace of an evening and enjoy a glass of port. In fact there's two sitting rooms - the one with the open fireplace, and another with an enclosed gas fireplace (which actually gives off more heat), and a couple of little nooks, so even if there are a few couples around, you can each have a little spot to yourself. There's books and magazines to read, board games, a range of CD's, and on the weekend the hosts lay out the weekend newspapers. So even if you decide not to go out out, there's something to amuse. There's also a beautiful garden, although it was a bit too cold to sit out in the garden area when we were there. I imagine it would be lovely to spend time out there in summer though.

The room was lovely - the bed was comfy, and being winter we had a nice warm doona, plus electric blankets, plus the room heater, so were never cold. The bathroom was modern and we had a spa room, although didn't have a chance to actually use the spa (next time). There's all the usual little touches like bathrobes, slippers, nice guest toiletries, iron & ironing board, and tea & coffee making facilities in the room (but why bother when there's an espresso machine in the dining room). Chocolates on arrival was a nice welcoming touch.

Breakfast was tasty and filling. There's a continental breakfast bar where you can help yourself to toast, fruit salad, yoghurt, etc, plus the option of either a light or a full cooked breakfast. Both were great. 24 hours a day you can help yourself to filtered water, tea, coffee & hot chocolate, with some other drinks and snacks available for purchase. In the dining room there are maps of walks you can do, and lists of nearby restaurants.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and definitely recommend it. A great spot for couples looking for a short break in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr_xyzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

WOW, You certainly have an eye for detail and great to see all our services are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We fell in love with the Guesthouse when we stumbled across it online and were lucky enough to snatch up the last room over the long weekend. All I can say is WOW! It exceeded our expectations, the spa room was so relaxing after a day's hike & travels. Chris was so hospitable and we felt welcomed the very first second we stepped through the door! I can't recommend this place highly enough and I will be telling everyone about Kubba Roonga! Love love love :D

Great for couples or groups since they have a beautiful open fire place with board games, books or magazines to read. I really liked the location and think Blackheath is a perfect spot to stay! Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: We loved the spa room, great way to soak the body after a hard day of travels and hikes :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Our Guesthouse has been designed for maximum satisfaction and the ultimate unwind. We are glad our passion has extended to making sure your stay with us was PERFECT. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a fabulous experience with a wonderful ambiance as soon as you enter the place. Our room was great and beautifully decorated with a glorious large spa bath. The hosts Chris and Graham go that extra length to immediately put you at ease. We must admit sitting by the open fire and drinking complimentary port was just wonderful. We will return and strongly recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Well... room 6... our "Luxury Spa Suite BnB" is always our top pleaser, and offcourse the guesthouse is full of charm with its original 1900's character features. All we did was tastefully decorate it and provide you with the best service possible, of a standard no less than the best places in Europe. So it was our pleasure to make your stay with us even more special. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Kubba Roonga Guesthouse was as we expected. A lovely old house with lots of ambience. The hosts could not do enough to help, and there were certainly all the comforts of home. The quirky side were the signs, everywhere, but it was all the in cause of trying to be hospitable, which they certainly were. Maybe ditch the Christmas decorations above the doors, after all it was April.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. In the mountains most places start in April to prepare for Xmas in July, which operates in the Blue Mountains during June+July+August, yes 3 months, so quite quirky to have 2 lots of xmas in our home throughout the year. So xmas decorations tend to be around a lot, hehe. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

From the moment we arrived at Kubba Roonga we were made to feel like a part of the family. The relaxed and friendly manner of our hosts coupled with the excellent facilities of their beautiful home made our three night stay as memorable as any we have spent in Australia. The bedrooms were light, airy and tastefully decorated whilst the public rooms, accessible to guests at all times, were cheery and welcoming. Breakfast, prepared to order, was first rate and could be taken either in the Dining Room or in the garden. Blackheath proved an excellent base for exploring some of the major attractions of the Blue Mountains and has a sufficient number of restaurants to cater for all tastes and budgets.

After one energetic and rather damp hike it was wonderful to return to the house, pour a cup of coffee and sit beside a friendly fire! If that wasn't enough Kubba Roonga has its own dedicated radio station which softly plays music appropriate to the time of day - absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We have you to thank also for taking advantage of the services we gladly offer to make your experience at Kubba truly an amazing experience. After having travelled a lot ourselves and being adventurous we know EXACTLY what our guests need for an ultimate unwind. Breakfast outside in our lovely gardens is perfect for those warmer times of the year, especially since the birdlife is sooo curious and enjoy the view too. Hope we see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and had an amazing time there was a wonderful cooked breakfast, we also could have had a continental breakfast, the rooms were a good size and very romantic the owners had a great knowledge of the area knew the best sights and places to go I've loved it so much that I've told all my family and friends to stay there as we had such a great time it was like our second honeymoon.
Thanks for a wonderful place
Trevor and Wendy from South Australia

Room Tip: The rooms were a great size quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We have continued to enhance our services and Kubba is looking even more amazing. Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackheath hotels
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#4 of 7 in Blackheath
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Blackheath
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenella Blue Mountains
Glenella Blue Mountains
#2 of 7 in Blackheath
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Address: 9 Brentwood Ave, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: £106 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful Heritage Home at Blackheath, full of old world service, character and charm, in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. The perfect couples retreat, with Spa room options for the perfect unwind at the end of your day. Walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and a delicious breakfast daily to ensure you have a great start to your day and a relaxing stay! This is an amazing a Home-Away-From-Home EXPERIENCE, and not a Hotel/Motel, so please provide your anticipated arrival time immediately after booking. Staff arrangements will be made to greet you in person for this time, and your check-in time can be revised closer to the day. * Check-ins ... 2pm to 7pm (by appointment only). * Checkout ... by 10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing