We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our first stay at the Peacful Kubba Roonga , will not be our last. I felt so relaexed on walking in I wanted to say hi honey I am home.Warm and welcoming.Very comfortable beds and spa. A big thanks to Graham for the log fire.Chris & Graham were charming hosts and made our stay very relaxing . We would be happy to recommend Kubba Roonga to all.

Chris & Don

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sis3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Our pleasure, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have stayed before under previous ownership. Really impressed by the welcome from the new owners. They have made some wonderful improvements, and were very helpful. It was lovely that Chris encouraged us to have a takeaway meal in the guesthouse when we didn't want to go away from the lovely log fire.

Room Tip: Small guesthouse- if you have limited mobility choose room 3- it has a walk-in shower and a lower be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ozsweep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you. Our platform as the new owners was to make our guesthouse the ultimate "Home away from home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first stay at a Guesthouse and were made very welcome from the very first moment we walked in. The house was warm and cosy and Chris showed us around to explain not only the layout of the Guesthouse but also the history of the house. The spa room was extremely clean as was the bathroom . It was an extremely cold day and the spa was great to warm up. The room was very romantic . It is a 10 minute easy walk to town where you will find some of the nicest restaurants and a huge antique shop.Make sure you go to " Escarpment , great service , great meals and better deserts.If you want a romantic weekend away with great food , this is the place to go. Great breakfast at Kubba Roonga too.

Room Tip: The spa room was great to warm up but all the rooms are great.Nice quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you. We take great pride & love to ensure our Guesthouse maintains its high standards, which we believe are key to its overall success and comfort of all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Such a great time away. Both Chris and Graeme were the perfect hosts, full of knowledge and very helpful. Our room was beautiful and the gardens outstanding. Felt like I went back in time. It was nice, after a day out, to come back to a warm and inviting environment, not to mention how yummy breakfast was. Just perfect!!!!! Thanks.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa room. If you want a quiet room and a relaxing spa bath after a long day, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words, great guests are key to a great experience too. We will aim to raise your score to 5 during your next visit if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Service and cleanliness is fantastic. Breakfast was well sized and impeccably cooked. Hosts chris and Graham are brilliant in what they do. Felt very relaxed in this beautiful and quaint guest house. Highly recommend a weekend getaway for any aged couple. Much prefer this type of accomodation to the larger hotel chains.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vivian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

It's always great to see when our guests GET that staying at a Guesthouse is more like a home than a Motel/Hotel. The service is more personal and you are staying in someone's home. So when guests come and stay with us and show the same respect to the guesthouse and its owners it is very much appreciated. Thank you for your lovely words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse we liked it so much we invited our friends and booked out the Guesthouse. A fantastic base to to explore the shops and cafes in the mountains, we shopped and dinned all weekend returning to the guesthouse to relax in-front of the fire with a glass of port.
Chris and Graham are great hosts and certainly make you feel at home, my only recommendation would be to offer more options with breakfast such as poached or fried eggs.

We would definitely recommend Kubba Roonga for couples or groups, we another great short break we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contractor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We love having groups stay with us, and your group certainly has the spirit, love and respect we like to appreciate to our lovely heritage home and to our service. See you all again next year. ps. Try our Baked Egg Mushroom Frittata instead of the boiled eggs. Other guests LOVE IT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went for a weekend away to escape the city, and Kubba Roonga turned out to be a perfect escape. The hosts were welcoming and thoughtful the whole time, and happy to help with advice and suggestions on things to do, places to eat, etc. The whole place is beautifully decorated in period style, and it was lovely just to sit in front of the open fireplace of an evening and enjoy a glass of port. In fact there's two sitting rooms - the one with the open fireplace, and another with an enclosed gas fireplace (which actually gives off more heat), and a couple of little nooks, so even if there are a few couples around, you can each have a little spot to yourself. There's books and magazines to read, board games, a range of CD's, and on the weekend the hosts lay out the weekend newspapers. So even if you decide not to go out out, there's something to amuse. There's also a beautiful garden, although it was a bit too cold to sit out in the garden area when we were there. I imagine it would be lovely to spend time out there in summer though.

The room was lovely - the bed was comfy, and being winter we had a nice warm doona, plus electric blankets, plus the room heater, so were never cold. The bathroom was modern and we had a spa room, although didn't have a chance to actually use the spa (next time). There's all the usual little touches like bathrobes, slippers, nice guest toiletries, iron & ironing board, and tea & coffee making facilities in the room (but why bother when there's an espresso machine in the dining room). Chocolates on arrival was a nice welcoming touch.

Breakfast was tasty and filling. There's a continental breakfast bar where you can help yourself to toast, fruit salad, yoghurt, etc, plus the option of either a light or a full cooked breakfast. Both were great. 24 hours a day you can help yourself to filtered water, tea, coffee & hot chocolate, with some other drinks and snacks available for purchase. In the dining room there are maps of walks you can do, and lists of nearby restaurants.

Overall it was a wonderful experience and definitely recommend it. A great spot for couples looking for a short break in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr_xyzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KubbaRoonga, Manager at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

WOW, You certainly have an eye for detail and great to see all our services are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackheath hotels
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
29 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenella Blue Mountains
Glenella Blue Mountains
#2 of 7 in Blackheath
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#4 of 7 in Blackheath
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 7 in Blackheath
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Address: 9 Brentwood Ave, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range: £106 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful Heritage Home at Blackheath, full of old world service, character and charm, in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. The perfect couples retreat, with Spa room options for the perfect unwind at the end of your day. Walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and a delicious breakfast daily to ensure you have a great start to your day and a relaxing stay! This is an amazing a Home-Away-From-Home EXPERIENCE, and not a Hotel/Motel, so please provide your anticipated arrival time immediately after booking. Staff arrangements will be made to greet you in person for this time, and your check-in time can be revised closer to the day. * Check-ins ... 2pm to 7pm (by appointment only). * Checkout ... by 10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing