We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 7 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming little B&B”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This was the first time I have ever stayed in a bed & breakfast & let me just say I absolutely loved the Kubba Roonga. The old time charm of the guesthouse was superb. I loved the atmosphere inside the main guest house with the period decor. We stayed in the Spa Room for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was spacious yet perfect for couples looking for a cozy atmosphere. The breakfast each morning was very yummy. Stayed for two nights here, it was so quiet it felt like we were staying at our own private retreat rather then a guesthouse.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilah514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    27
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We booked three nights at this cozy and quiet place but chose to extend it to 4!. You can walk out of your door and be in the Blue Mountain National Park in minutes.. the Braeside Path is just a block or two away! it is quiet, clean, spacious and the breakfasts are spectacular. Bridget can help you figure out your birds, mammals, places to go, things to do, etc. Could not have asked for a better place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicMaticK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay with some friends at Kubba Roonga. What a welcoming and restful place. The room we had was just delightful, cosy and warm, lovely crisp bedding, fluffy pillows - and very private. The loungeroom with open fire was enjoyed immensley - along with some good red wine, and the complimentary port was appreciated. Breakfast, enjoyed in the lovely dining room, was more than adequate. Thank you to our host Brigid - we will definately will be back again and thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable home away from home..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We've stayed at the Kubba Roonga on two occasions. Its a really welcoming place - with two lounges for guests, complete with fires when its cold, and home-made scones/afternoon tea. The breakfasts are hearty and delicious - plenty of home cooked food. Great hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We enjoyed two nights' stay at this very welcoming guesthouse. We were impressed with the beautiful décor and warm furnishings. I learnt to play Monopoly in front of a cozy fireplace, sipping on complimentary port. The cooked breakfasts were delicious and different each day, and for dinner, I can safely say that Brigid cooked me the best rack of lamb I have ever tasted! This was our first bed and breakfast experience - we loved it so much that we went on another one later during our honeymoon. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ai_shin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Own'er Brigid O'Brien has created a comfortable, homey place for travelers to stay in the Blue Mountains area. She is friendly and accommodating. We spent two nights there and ate both dinner (an extra charge) and breakfast there as well. Brigid is a wonderful cook and our meals were delicious and filling.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoreadglendora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

The website for Kubba Roonga portrays the place as a home away from home, with luxurious extras such as bathrobes, mohair throws, chocolates on arrival, and port by the fire.

Although all these extras were nice touches, they should really focus on the standard of their rooms, as NO WAY was our room of four star quality.

I was expecting the nice blue/lilac room featured on their website, and when we shown to our little room (Room 5) near the back door, I wanted to leave! It was incredibly poky, draughty and cheap looking with daggy floral curtains, floral carpet and floral lampshades.

Given the location - out of the main tourist area of the Blue Mountains, I do not believe this room represented value for money.

Sure the extra touches are nice, and the cooked breakfast the next morning was lovely, but all these "extras" mean nothing, if rooms aren't up to standard!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room standard
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schokolade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krgh, owner at Kubba Roonga Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 September 2008
We are surprised by this review. Most guests love Room 5!

Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a heritage guesthouse built in 1915 and has a lovely welcoming feel and lots of character throughout.

All Guest rooms are different and while Room 5 is yet to be refurbished and floral may not appeal to everyone, the room is rated by 4 star AAA.

It is difficult to meet everyones expectations however most rooms are a comfortable size and the guest areas are certainly spacious.

Kubba Roonga's location is away from the main shops - a 10 minute walk . The benefit of this is no highway noise and train noise meriting its name Kubba Roonga - 'Peaceful Place' .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.2 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.6 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norwood Mountain Lodge
Norwood Mountain Lodge
#3 of 7 in Blackheath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubba Roonga Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubba Roonga Guesthouse

Property: Kubba Roonga Guesthouse
Address: 9 Brentwood Ave, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kubba Roonga Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse is a beautiful heritage guesthouse at Blackheath in the heart of the World Heritage Blue Mountains National Park. You can walk into the National Park from your door to enjoy the many spectacular walks in the area as well as being 10 minutes away from other major attractions such as the three Sisters and the villages of Katoomba and Leura. At Kubba Roonga you will find a warm welcome and delicious breakfasts to ensure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kubba Roonga Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kubba Roonga Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing