We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very good food, question the value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashcrofts Bistro

Ashcrofts Bistro
Reserve with
Ashcrofts Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Blackheath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At ashcrofts bistro we pride ourselves in using only the freshest seasonal and local produce. We strive to use the most sustainable products where possible, with menu changing seasonally to reflect the availability of ingredients. Working closely together with our local suppliers we ensure that only the best quality produce will make its way from paddock to plate.
Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overall very good food, question the value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

A small but interesting menu leaning towards minimalist but labour-intensive dishes. The kitchen aims high but can slip up. The pork belly, perfectly textured, was barely warm. The beer-battered onion ring atop the Wagyu eye fillet, unnecessary anyway, tasted of nothing but cooking oil letting down an otherwise very good dish. The green pea mousse and confit duck pithiver were pronounced excellent. At a minimum of $78 per person - order only two starters and you still pay the full two-course levy - this is very expensive food even with side dishes included in the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Castiglionese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    43
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a wonderful evening recently at Ashcrofts. We went with the kids - the staff couldn't have been nicer to them. Between us, we had a range of entree, main and dessert dishes and all were beautifully put together with lovely flavours, with two or three dishes being absolute standouts that we were still talking about days later. My 9yo daughter scoffed the mushroom hand made gnocchi in the blink of an eye and everyone loved the cauliflower soup the chef sent as an amuse bouche. Great care taken all round with the service and food and we look forward to going back next time we are in the Blue Mountains.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great food, interesting and top quality, small menu but good choices, good presentation, and great service. We (husband and I) booked in on a wintry friday night, (best to book in advance but there were a couple of spare tables on this night) but were very pleased we made the effort to leave our lovely, cosy hotel in Katoomba and make the trip up to Blackheath. The reception was welcoming, the Chef's wife greeted us and provided a wine list, choices by the glass as well. A good selecton and we were very happy with an Orange region wine that we had not tried before. I had checked the menu on the internet just that day to be sure it would be suitable, and like many of the restaurants in the area, it offer a fixed price two or three course menu. I like this option, but after 2 courses we did not have dessert, but they too looked very good and interesting. Both of us agreed that there is a real difference to have a fine dining experience, and that it was a good 'value for money' choice, where the balsamic has been reduced over many days and the flavours infused and chosen bythe Chef - very special!!
Would recommend and reasonable value for this sort of dining in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WizardCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening (apart from the price)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Minimum charge $78 pp for 2 courses. We opted for snapper and venison mains & desserts, + 1 bottle of nice regional wine. Food had good flavours; thankfully vegie sides were included for benefit of both appetite & wallet (beware hot potato plate). Service was friendly, courteous & efficient (except lack of warning re burns risk). Decor was neutral whites with B&W photos. Overall a pleasant evening - but just too expensive for what it was.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoslynJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I had been wanting to try Ashcrofts for ages but finances didn't permit. We ended up going for her birthday, and had such a wonderful night. The service was friendly and unobtrusive and made us feel like we were valued, returning guests rather than Ashcroft newbies. The starter of a cauliflower soup-type dish with truffle oil (didn't get the full title) was an unexpected and delicious pleasure (and on the house too). I went for the vegetarian options (including the most divine gnocchi), and I think, for once, I got the better meal (after a lifetime suffering the ubiquitous vege lasagna at non-vego restaurants.) My partner liked her fish, but lusted after my gnocchi.) The quantities were just right leaving us satiated but not stuffed - we had all three courses. (The lavosh bread with the green pea mousse looked artistic but was really little more than a garnish - my only criticism.)
We look forward to coming again. It was indeed everything it was cracked up to be.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashcrofts Bistro also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Ashcrofts Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing