We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aboriginal Walkabout”

Aboriginal Blue Mountains Walkabout
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awarded Australia's best walking experience this wonderful traditional walkabout will enrich your modern life with ancient wisdom and give you a deep connection to country and our culture. Enter our Aboriginal dream time and live for a day our fun, creative and spiritual way of life. Can be easily accessed by train from Sydney or Katoomba (Blue Mountains) as a day trip.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Aboriginal Walkabout”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Aboriginal walkabout was definitely one of the best experiences of my life. I learned a lot and I felt the Spirit in the country of beauty rich and rare, Australia.

Didgerigore, Evan!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_Sydney2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    5
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walkabout wisdom”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Into the bush walked five people from five cultures (Russia, USA, Argentina, Holland, Australia) to discuss/experience the worldview of the Aboriginal people. Our guide that day, Evan, has created something special here and I will never forget this day. I think we all took away something a bit different from each other, as it should be... we were all strangers and at different points of our life story (song). But thanks to Evan and his gentle calm voice, we all came to a place of sensory and imaginative exploration related to the meaning of life. I'd call that a good day mate!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank EcoEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walkabout...”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A fantastic introduction to aboriginal culture. It was interesting just how gritty the culture is and, at times how cruel it could be. Very different from our own lazy way of life. A great walk too, and memorable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A beautiful day - a bit of knowledge, a bit of understanding, a fair bit of hiking.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This tour is given by Evan - it is always given by Evan. It is the real deal. You will wander deep into the bush, the rain forest. You'll see ancient carvings and hear the stories that they tell. You will learn some of the symbols and rituals. You will have a beautiful hike deep in the green of the woods. You will come to understand, even if only lightly, the philosophy, the lore of the aboriginal people from someone who - excuse the pun - walks the walk.

To practical matters the hike is not "easy" - you couldn't take it with an electric scooter or on crutches. But you don't have to be a marathon runner or an experienced hiker. Just a willingness to give it a go. There are plenty of breaks while you hear about the nature or the stories. The train ride up there is very pleasant. It is over an hour each way so this will be an entire day event. Well worth the investment of a day. Be sure to bring lunch, a bottle of water and your raincoat. (Be sure to read all of the advice on the web-site.) In winter it can get quite chilly, but Evan made a big fire while we had lunch in a cave and it couldn't have been cozier.

A beautiful day, a wonderful experience. I can't recommend this highly enough.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobnob_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lifechanging tour - one of the best I've experienced in the entire world”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was a tour I will never forget. Visiting Australia and interested in culture, this tour was fantastic for that, but it was so much more: it was physically challenging, spiritually enhancing and educational The day I was out, there were 6 of us, including Evan the tourguide. Evan is a popular and experienced bushwalker. His father, an Aborigine taught him all about bush-life and Evan takes you on the journey with him in a way that allows you to put yourself in the shoes of the Aborigines themselves. Be prepared to embrace everything the tour has to offer and above all enjoy it: this is the best advice I can give to anyone on this tour, but above all, try it - you will not be disappointed: it can be a little challenging in terms of the terrain but it is recommended for all ages and the beauty of it is that tours like this allow you to bond with the group - whenever there is a challenge, your peers and ofcourse Evan himself are close at hand - I had never done any bushwalking before and I myself thoroughly enjoyed it and felt safe, despite being out in the wild - being so far away from civilization in the bush allows you to focus on what is important in life. It is a great day of exercise, I felt energised for days after it and the things you learn apply to the rest of your life. I enjoyed the tour so much I interviewed Evan about it, which you can listen to here: http://soundcloud.com/theculturecave/podcast-no-7-the-australia .

This is an all-day event (7-8 hours). There are stops along the way. Tips to travellers: bring plenty water (between 2-3 litres). Wear shorts and comfortable clothing in which you can stretch for some steep steps and for passing some rocks etc, bring a swimming costume for a dip in the beautiful waterfall area, bring a camera (though I would probably recommend a small compact camera as opposed to a large SLR). All in all, be practical and travel light to free up enough space for the walking experience. Visiting the Blue Mountains would not be complete without doing this tour- trust me on that!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCultureCave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aboriginal Blue Mountains Walkabout also viewed

 

Been to Aboriginal Blue Mountains Walkabout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing