We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“21st century Shearers' Quarters”
Review of Owl Head Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Owl Head Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

19th century shearers would have thought they were in heaven if they had stayed in this accommodation. First class amenities, clean and warm in the middle of winter with a picture perfect view. First rate!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Owl Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely words, our hard work is seen to be appreciated. The Owl Head Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have just arrived at the brand news shearers lodge, in unit 2. How amazing and what a wonderful job the owners have done. This is absolutely first class accommodation in a great rural setting, just 20 minutes from Mudgee. Nothing in Mudgee comes close to the quality and value for money as this. FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Owl Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased with our New Shearer's Quarters, being numbers 1,2, and 3. Our response to our new additions have been over whelming. It is guests like yourselves that make our job very worthwhile. Kindest regards from all our Owl Head Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Our French visitors absolutely LOVED the location, the house, the amenities- perfectly clean and comfortable. Loved the pool and the pig sculpture. the hosts even put on a great lightening display with rain on the roof. Just wonderful thank you

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ali-Chris1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Owl Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you from all the owl head team, we have been busy making changes and upgrades for the past few months and it is you kind words that make it all worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Glass Cottages are in a wonderful location oozing peace and tranquillity and we have stayed twice. You feel totally relaxed and weather permitting as it was for us on the second occasion the pool was a definite added bonus. However, there are some short comings which we think let it down badly. Firstly if the weather is inclement the bed is the only place apart from sleeping to eat. The rooms lack a small table and a couple of easy chairs. The price includes a simple continental breakfast but you need to also bring toasting bread and spreads as these are not included in their breakfast provisions. All you get is cereal, a tub of fruit each and juice (very simple indeed). Lastly the drinking water is very unpleasant to drink and if you are a tea drinker the water leaves a dirty scum in the cup so bring drinking water as well. If these problems could be overcome the Glass Cottages at Owl Head Lodge would rate very highly in anyone's opinion.

Room Tip: The Glasshouse West is perhaps a little more private if the other two cottages are in use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Undalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Owl Head Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest, we are pleased you chose to stay with us at Owl Head Lodges. We have noted your suggestions. I think perhaps next time you should book the Glass Cottage, which has fully self contained one bedroom, as I have noticed that you only booked our motel style Glass Studio.
The water was for us a salvation during that dreadful Drought that had just left us, however we are currently contracted a company to look into our water for future droughts.
Thank you again for staying with us, and now our new fully slf contained Shearers Quarters are open and getting quite a heavy following also. Kindest regards, The Owl Head Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had a relaxed hens party evening here. Sipping cocktails by the pool, soaking up the sunset, enjoying all that was on offer and enjoying the seclusion.
The owners have offered evething with this venue and I highly recommend it for someone who would like to have the peace and quiet.
The beds are so comfy and the air conditioning and gorgeous pool was a relief for the hot summer weather.
It is still close enough to town for supplies (5min drive) and Gulgong has a 'Night Rider' on the weekend that offer a mini bus if you have had a few drinks and need to go somewhere for no more than $5.
Call one of the pubs for the night rider number.

Room Tip: If you are travelling through and the glass cottage is available spend the extra money and get the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryNSW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in Glass Cottage for 4 nights over Christmas.

It was just what we needed for complete relaxation.

The cottage is very spacious and fully fitted out for self catering.

The only downside was the cleanliness. I have no doubt that the cottage had been cleaned after the last visitors left. However, it appeared to have been empty for a little while before we arrived, so it had got dusty in the time between cleaning and our arrival, especially given the windy weather at that time.

Could I suggest to the owners that extra cleaning is done the day before arrival if there has been a gap between visitors?

My wife had previously stayed in Slab Cottage and had found it to be very clean, so the dust and spiders webs were somewhat disappointing. Noting we could sort with the vacuum cleaner, but should we have to when paying a premium price?

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, splash out for Slab Cottage or the Glass Cottage. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We chose the accommodation offered in town so we could walk around and take advantage of eating and having a drink. The Bakers cottage was just fabulous. Clean, well appointed, heaps of room, well layed out given that it is an old bakery. We enjoyed visiting Gulgong and appreciated the standard that this accommodation offered us.

Room Tip: We slept in the back room as it was quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank DALEK211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gulgong hotels
2.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gulgong
174 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ten Dollar Town Motel
Ten Dollar Town Motel
#2 of 2 in Gulgong
94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gulgong Motel
Gulgong Motel
#1 of 4 in Gulgong
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gulgong Accommodation The Telegraph Station
Show Prices

Been to Owl Head Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Head Lodge

Address: 241 Bergalin Rd, Gulgong, New South Wales 2852, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gulgong
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Gulgong
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Owl Head Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owl Head Lodge offers luxurious and private self-contained accommodation, only 5 minutes from Gulgong and 20 minutes from Mudgee. Surrounded by vineyards and peaceful farmland, Owl Head Lodge is the answer to the perfect weekend retreat or relaxing break with friends. Rated 4.5 Stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Owl Head Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing