We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation”
Review of Mackellar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackellar Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gunnedah
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Mackellar is one of those hidden gems that comes up once in a while during travels. The Mackellar is a well run , extremely clean and spacious motel with one of the cleanest guest laundries we have come across.
Located at one end of the town the RSL is directly across the road and offers excellent meals with a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: You have several dining options within a 100 metres of this motel and the main shopping area is a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the mackellar on a work visit and it would probaly be the best of the three hotels I have stayed in in Gunnedah. The room was great very well appointed and clean as you would expect from a new hotel. The car park is a little tight but not too bad.
The room I stayed in had a tv in the spa bathroom which was a nice touch , but it would be better if turning on the main tv in the bedroom didn't also turn on the bathroom one.
Apart from the Luke warm shaded in the morning the stay was very good . I would be happy to return on the next trip.
P.S. Why do Australian hotels have to charge so much for Internet.... $15 for 8 hours access is a but over the top in my opinion when I have stayed in very cheap accommodation internationally where wi-fi was free

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Clean, private and quiet. Reception was poor and felt like a school mistress was checking us in. Has potential but lacks character and warmth.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneytraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I have stayed in many, many motels and the Mackellar takes first place by a country mile.

Reception was friendly, helpful and efficient, making us feel very welcome and issueing modern swipe cards to our rooms.

On entering I thought I had been given the disabled facilities as both the room and bathroom were huge. My mistake.......all the rooms are huge, and include a microwave and sink plus the fridge and a great, flat screen TV. The motel is only 3 years old and looks as good as new. The rooms are elegantly furnished and professionally finished to combine the fittings in modern subdued colours.

I had a cooked breakfast that was delivered on time, hot with real coffee in a plunger.

Super value...................dont go past.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 and 3, closer to the entrance than others. It was over a weekend but quiet and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackoaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Clean & quite, I stay in a lot of Motel rooms & most are NOT clean! That one was clean, new and the service friendly. I was in a huge room, well-appointed and as someone on another site complained being a ‘concrete jungle’, well there is no Pool or Palms, it’s not a Holiday resort. [Well, who goes to Gunnedah for a Holiday?!] I get into a Motel room to sleep. I can recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallygator88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I stayed in Gunnedah on my way to visit friends in rural Queensland, and by the time I arrived in town it was 9.30pm, and I didn't have a reservation. The staff at the Mackeller were happy to open up the reception to check me in and get me settled, despite the fact that they'd actually closed at 9pm.

Recently renovated, the rooms at the Mackeller are surprisingly large for the price, and were immaculate when I was there. The bathrooms in particular were huge - I think I've stayed in hotel rooms that were smaller! Good facilities, comfortable beds and friendly staff, and all for a very reasonable price.

I was so happy with the place, I stayed again on my way back home, and was upgraded to an even larger and more comfortable room - at no extra cost - because they weren't full.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisso29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeandavid4025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnedah hotels
0.1 mi away
Gunnedah Lodge Motel
Gunnedah Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Gunnedah
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harvest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Maynestay Motel
Maynestay Motel
#5 of 9 in Gunnedah
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Plains Motor Inn
The Plains Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in Gunnedah
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gunnedah Motor Inn
Gunnedah Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Gunnedah
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Alyn Motel
#6 of 9 in Gunnedah
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackellar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackellar Motel

Address: 342 Conadilly St, Gunnedah, New South Wales 2380, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gunnedah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gunnedah
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackellar Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackellar Motel is located in the heart of the Gunnedah CBD, directly across the road from the Gunnedah Services and Bowling Club and close to a number of restaurants. The Mackellar Motel has 30 well-appointed four star suites with soft, comfortable pillow tops on all beds. All suites are larger than average and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings. They include a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, fridge and minibar. Entry to all rooms is by secure key card. Free unrestricted wifi throughout the motel is included in the room rate. Free continental breakfast is available in the Namoi Room near Reception. Hot breakfast is also available in the Namoi Room or delivered to your room. Dinner is available each night in Louie's Restaurant or by room service The Conadilly Bar is open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackellar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing