We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect so much in Gunnedah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mackellar Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mackellar Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gunnedah
Certificate of Excellence
Woolgoolga, Australia
1 review
“Didn't expect so much in Gunnedah”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Mackellar Motel in Gunnedah and were surprised by the hospitality of the new management. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. We enjoyed full hot breakfast, freshly made to order. The Motel is perfectly situated on main street, just across the Services Club, where we had dinner. We strongly recommend the Mackellar Motel for Business or Family stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    43
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
33
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have now stayed at the Mackellar 3 times and thought I should retract my advice to book at mainstay first.
I did stay at mainstay and it actually looks great on first impression but the stay went down hill quickly.
Yes Mackellar is still beige and boring but after staying at 4 other motels in Gunnedah this will be my first choice as being the best of a bad selection in Gunnedah.
It's spacious, TV is actually in the right place, there is room service, walk to everything, beds not great but at least the rooms aren't sprayed with cleaning fluid that makes you cough all night.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Far exceeded my expectations in every area. Super clean, spacious suite, ample car parking Dominoes Pizza right next door and Services Club across the road. Situated on main street. Very hospitable service. Will definitely stay
again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and stayed the night there having seen that it was quite a new hotel in Gunnedah. Well we were not disappointed. A cheerful reception, large and spotlessly clean rooms and a shower to absolutely die for! Although it had no restaurant within two minutes walk there was a choice of Indian (said to be very good), Chinese and the usual clubs. The car parking was under sails which protected the car from the baking sun.

Most recommended and will certainly stay there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Better than some places I've been to but quite bland, hard to explain, in theory it should be better than it actually was. Maybe it was a bad layout??
Bed was lumply and resulted in a not so great 2 nights sleep.
Staff looked like they preferred to be anywhere else but there.
And I decided to call into the other motel A few doors (starts with M also) up to have a look at their rooms and the rooms are far from bland and the staff couldn't be more inviting! I'll try that next time.

Room Tip: Book at mainstay first! If booked out then book here, it's good just not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Overnight stay.

New modern premises. Easiest check in and out I have ever had.

Room was very clean, well laid out and big.

Bathroom was excellent spa bath with a TV in the bathroom. Shower that actually had pressure, plenty of heat and no water saver.

Room was a queen bed that was comfortable. TV was off centre (to the bed) which made using the remote and viewing at times a bit of a pain. Room had desk and chair, plus sofa and arm chair. Fridge sink and microwave.

Parking was out the front of the room and there is some undercover area.

No Noise was heard from within the room from either the main road out the front or the heavy vehicle bypass behind the motel.

The was no grass area or pool so probably more suited to the business traveller.

Room Tip: More business or couple. All concrete and bitumen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazzaMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed at the Mackellar Motel for a business trip. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and warm. The motel provides under cover car parking in the rear. Room was particularly quiet and did not hear a single noise from outside.

The motel is placed within a 2 minute walk to a number of eateries and venues.

The shower has great pressure, and the large spa bath was a great bonus to come home to after a long day.

The only downside were the pillows being too stiff for my liking.

Will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gunnedah hotels
0.1 mi away
Gunnedah Lodge Motel
Gunnedah Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Gunnedah
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harvest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Maynestay Motel
Maynestay Motel
#6 of 9 in Gunnedah
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gunnedah Motor Inn
Gunnedah Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Gunnedah
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Plains Motor Inn
The Plains Motor Inn
#7 of 9 in Gunnedah
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alyn Motel
Alyn Motel
#5 of 9 in Gunnedah
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackellar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackellar Motel

Property: Mackellar Motel
Address: 342 Conadilly St, Gunnedah, New South Wales 2380, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gunnedah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Gunnedah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackellar Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackellar Motel is located in the heart of the Gunnedah CBD, directly across the road from the Gunnedah Services and Bowling Club and close to a number of restaurants. The Mackellar Motel has 30 well-appointed four star suites with soft, comfortable pillow tops on all beds. All suites are larger than average and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings. They include a kitchenette with microwave, toaster, fridge and minibar. Entry to all rooms is by secure key card. Free unrestricted wifi throughout the motel is included in the room rate. Free continental breakfast is available in the Namoi Room near Reception. Hot breakfast is also available in the Namoi Room or delivered to your room. Dinner is available each night in Louie's Restaurant or by room service The Conadilly Bar is open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackellar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing