We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views and solitude. Great for family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jenolan Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jenolan Cabins
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Views and solitude. Great for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The cabins are good. it can get cold as the fire burns out and there is no more heating. The cabins are good size and well set out. We had kangaroos at our doorstep at breakfast. BUT remember to bring your own sheets and towels!!!!

Room Tip: All cabins are in good position and well spaced out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySydneyFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at Jenolan Caves where we stayed at Jenolan Cabins on the Oberon side of the caves. The cabins are great value, well-equipped and very comfortable. Even in the middle of winter, the log fire keeps it nice and cosy.

You can buy your tickets for cave tours off the owners. This means you can take the time in the warmth of your cabin to determine which tours you want to do without standing in the cold studying the notice board down at the caves. Just remember to leave time to swap your receipt for tickets at the ticket office in the village.

The road up from the caves to the cabins is very steep and windy, much more so than the road in from Lithgow side. However, the bonus is that there is minimal other traffic and it is a lot shorter taking only 5 minutes to get to the caves.

Make the time to go out to Kanangra Walls while you’re staying here. The turnoff is virtually opposite the cabins’ driveway. Despite being a dirt road, it is well-maintained at the moment. It’s about a half hour drive each way and an easy ten minute walk, but the walls themselves are spectacular, just watch out for kangaroos especially at dusk.

We look forward to returning some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boyce1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

It snowed while we were there which made our stay more special. To sit by the fireplace as you watch the snow fall is a great experience. The cabin was clean with a decent kitchen. We will stay here again on our next visit to Jenolan caves.

Room Tip: any cabin would be fine i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 and also 2 years before that. Great place for kids or group of friends. On top of the road coming out of Jenolan Caves, makes it a great place to explore all the caves or do some canyoning/bush walking in the massive Kanangra-Boyd national park.

Accommodation is in great surroundings with views over the forest. Kangaroos, possums and loads of birdlife. I also like their "flush free" toilets which don't smell! Fireplace is better then TV!

If you're not going to the caves you can avoid that scary :) road going down and use the road to Oberon then Duckmaloi Road.

Room Tip: There's only one shared BBQ which is sort of in the middle so don't choose a cottage on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky_Nuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The cabins were nice & cozy. The location is great. Great place to explore Jenolan caves and we also got some very good tips from the host about the local area and best caves to see. There was abundant wildlife as well to keep the kids interested. Also this place is very near to the caves, so you can come back in afternoon & rest and go back again to caves.

This place is far from any supermarket, so you should have all your essential stuff before you come here

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We decided to explore the Jenolan Caves over the Bank Holiday long weekend and settled on the Jenolan Cabins as our base. Very pleasant surprise - the cabins are neat and tidy, and have all the amenities you need. We cooked in the kitchen and also in the common BBQ area. The wood heater kept the cabin warm and cosy.
The cabins are also located in a great spot - fantastic views from the cabins and the BBQ area. And only 5-10 min drives from the Jenolan Caves. We also headed into Oberon one afternoon for a beer and that was only 15-20 mins away as well.
One minor gripe - no 3G Optus mobile phone access from the cabins, although 2G access worked. Probably a good thing to get a break from the internet and email though!
The trip was so enjoyable that we are planning to return in the near future. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

We have been staying here for over 10 years each October. We have increased from just us (a couple) to two adults and three kids and we still have plenty of space. Love the location - very quiet but close enough to go down to the caves for a morning tour and then come back for lunch (Caves House is expensive). Then we can go back for a bush walk or head over to Kanagra Walls for a walk/mountain bike ride.

Clean and well equipped with kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms and large dining table for craft and lego when it is raining. Marshmellows toasted on the log fire in the evenings with comfortable couches. The fire is already lit when you arrive for those who aren't gifted with firelighters!

Barry and Robyn (and Michael) have all the local knowledge to help pick walks or cave tours and are very helpful with bookings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank srcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenolan Caves
11.9 mi away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Oberon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
19.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
19.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.7 mi away
Jenolan Caves House
Jenolan Caves House
#1 of 1 in Jenolan Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenolan Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenolan Cabins

Property: Jenolan Cabins
Address: Jenolan Cabins 42 Edith Road | Porcupine Hill, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jenolan Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jenolan Cabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 Fully self contained cottages lovely setting lovely views 6 kils from the world famous Jenolan Caves and 20 minutes fron the World Heritage National Park Kanangra Boyd ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing