We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended family loved exploring the caves!”
Review of Jenolan Caves

Jenolan Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.55*
and up
Blue Mountains and Jenolan Caves Motorcoach Day Tour
More Info
US$134.77*
and up
Jenolan Caves Blue Mountains and Caves Tour from Sydney
More Info
US$118.82*
and up
Small-Group Blue Mountains and Jenolan Caves Day Trip from Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Open every day, Jenolan Caves are the largest, most spectacular and most famous caves in Australia. Explore the world's oldest caves - one of the most outstanding cave systems in the world. You are never too young or old to experience the amazing - award-winning tours, adventure caving, scenic bush walks and Australian Aboriginal culture. Glimpse Australian birds and animals in the wild, including kangaroos and platypus. Relax in our magnificent Chisolm's Restaurant, cafe or bar. We even offer accommodation - hotel, motel, cottage or backpacker lodge. Set in Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness, Jenolan Caves are a national treasure, of awe-inspiring beauty and scale.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Extended family loved exploring the caves!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our extended family spent the day exploring some of the wonderful caves that make up the Jenolan Caves complex. WOW I hadn't been since high school and now we were taking our own kids there to explore. Our elderly gentleman guide was really well chosen, dry and funny! The caves never fail to shock with there beauty and history. We will certainly be back to explore more in the future.

A quick tip, the bistro was a bit ordinary and expensive, but the food was hot on a cold August day. In the warmer weather we will bring a picnic and enjoy the area further.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    359
    73
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Accommodation/Meals”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Old, tired, cold, noisy. Very Poor Value overall. The room (most expensive with ensuite) had carpet missing, a blind that would not go up, damp coming through the shower wall into the bedroom with peeling cracked paint and plaster, windows that would not close in the bathroom making it very cold, no GPO (power outlet) in the bathroom for razors or hair dryers (although there was a hair dryer provided but nowhere to plug it in!), very, very noisy centrally heated visible hot water pipes - and you get all this for $189/night. The bed linen and kingsize bed were great!

The shared floor bathroom (down the corridor for those rooms) had a leaking, running tap all night and was not welcome and, though reception were informed, had not been repaired by the next night. Our room's water pipes were very noisy, and the common lounge and reception areas were very cold and draughty from the ill-fitting doors which had large air gaps.

Two double scotches set us back $33 before dinner and after one stale reheated bread entree, two mains and one dessert later had set us back a further $97. Breakfast the next day was shocking - stale toast, old portion spreads, cold coffee and no service cost $18 each! We chose to leave early the second morning to have a much larger and better quality breakfast for two in Oberon for a little less ($24) than the price of just one full one ($25) at Caves House. Recommended!

The pluses? The caves are amazing with very knowledgable and cheerful guides with small groups but the overseas larger groups were herded through like cattle. Our group was 18, theirs was 60, and there was no way that anyone could have heard their guide with a group that big. The worst time of year to visit? Easter, with 3,000 trying to squeeze though the caves on Easter Sunday alone!

It is still a government run and owned facility and it shows - we were here 20 years ago and thought it may have improved after then - sadly, we were very mistaken. Day trips only recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maripa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We did the diamond cave tour. The tour guide was informative with a dry sense of humor. It made the tour very enjoyable. The blue lagoon is also worth viewing as it looks amazing and you may also see platypus as we did. I would definitely go again and do another tour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkesbury Valley, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great weekend.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved the food & the accommodation. Service was good by all staff & helpful to our needs. Cave tour guide was informative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular formations”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

There are many caves to visit and explore so I'd suggest you make this a long day trip at the very least.
The formations are stunning and shows just what a remarkable planet we live on.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anubis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jenolan Caves also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Jenolan Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing