We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jenolan Caves House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Wyong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We only stayed the 1 night in the main building on level 3. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nicely updated. We did not have a mini fridge or a tv which wasn't a big deal. I did see a few mini black bugs that appeared on our bed but once I flicked them off I didn't see anymore. We waited a long time to check-in as there was a "back in 5mins sign" and we discovered the person was also working in the shop and there was another lady in front of us. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenolanCaves, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Wendy M

We certainly appreciate your comments.
Yes from time to time we mutli task and work both the front desk and the gift shop , I hope that your weren't kept waiting for too long.
It sounds like you enjoyed your short be relaxing time here at Jenolan Caves.

We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    528
    328
    114
    87
See reviews for
435
600
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bega, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Jenolan Cottages, 8kms away from the caves. The cottages are tucked away in a beautiful clearing in the bush usually surrounded by kangaroos, a lovely place to escape. As noted in the booking information there is no mobile phone reception, there is also no TV reception, not that you would want to be sat watching TV with such wonderful surroundings to enjoy. There is a play park for the kids and BBQ's also in the clearing. The cottage was slightly dated but was well equipped and very clean, plenty of towels etc were supplied. The code to access the cottage was easily obtained by calling reception a couple of days before arrival, instructions to find the cottages were not particularly clear but the gps coordinates were correct and there is a large sign on Jenolan Caves road at the entrance to the track so they would be difficult to miss. A great place to explore the caves from if you don't want to be surrounded by people at the Caves House/Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenolanCaves, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Chloe147

Back to Nature - is how you have described the cottages.
It such a peaceful setting at the cottages - as you say. You can wake up to the kangaroos in the clearing , the kids are kept amused with not only the play area but the wildlife there as well.

It sounds like the stay was a success.
We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Jenolan Caves in the near future.

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

As part of a group of 6 , we stayed at the historic Caves House. However, we stayed in the Mountain Lodge section and it very good. Each of the rooms had a king sized bed and a well set up kitchenette. Although the rooms were oldish, they were clean and comfortable. Each had it's own ensuite.
It is separate to the 1890s Caves House but was ideal for our one night stay. The main building had an old world charm but shared bathrooms.
We visited the bar and had dinner which were excellent and very reasonably priced- considering they had a captive audience. Drinks were likewise reasonably priced. The main restaurant was elegant and also reasonably priced.
A most enjoyable stay in a very pretty area about 3 hours west of Sydney. To drive there was reasonable but the last 40 ks were windy and narrow.
Checkout before 1145am to avoid taking a much longer trip back to Sydney as the short way is closed from 1145 to 1300.

Room Tip: Choose if you want rooms with ensuites or go for the old world charm with shared toilets and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenolanCaves, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear holidays2407

It always nice to hear that all of your travelling party enjoyed their stay with us here at Jenolan Caves House.
We do have a wide range of rooms availble both in the Caves House itself - a mixture of ensuited and non ensuited rooms. To the Mountain Lodge which as you mentioend if fully self contained. To our Gate House - which best described as back packers accommodation and finally our Cottages.
You are right we do restrict access out via the Grand Arch to allow for the tour buses coming into the hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Jenolan Caves House in the near future.

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent one night at Jenolan Caves in a Mountain Lodge Family Room. The room was spacious with lovely large windows and had all the facilities we needed (we were on the second floor looking down on the main Caves House) . We took all of our groceries for dinner and breakfast and the kitchenette was quite adequate. The bathroom and some of the soft furnishings could do with an upgrade but it was all clean and functional and didn't bother us. All the staff from "check in" to Tour Guides were all so friendly and helpful and clearly loved this special place. As it wasn't a busy time the Barman in the upstairs bar kindly made my daughter a free non alcoholic cocktail and decorated it with all the trimmings - she just loved it! The caves themselves were amazing - I can thoroughly recommend "The Extended Orient Tour" and even the Free Nettle Cave tour was fabulous, some great walks in the area also. It is a wonderful place for children and adults and a must see. We will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaLa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenolanCaves, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear JaLa2012

Thank you for your feedback, it is always great to her the the team here at Jenoan Caves were friendly and helpful. Its sounds like your daughter was treated like a princess. I agree the Orient Cave Tour is amazing - well to be honest that "Amazing" is the one word I would use for all the cave tours.

I hope to welcome you back soon to Jenloan Caves House.

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I spent 4 days at this great hotel. The heritage and and history of this hotel and the surrounding area is amazing. I stayed here while I was going to the Bathurst 1000. I enjoyed my stay so much i intend to go back and take my wife, too see some of the caves and enjoy the quietness of the walks and scenery. I would highly recommend this for young and old single or families as a great way to learn about how the physical geography of Australia is so different from the rest of the world and incredibly special.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenolanCaves, Rooms Division Manager at Jenolan Caves House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Duncan R

We always appreciate such wonderful comments.

I too agree that there is so much to do and see here at Jenolan Caves - obviously the caves, the wildlife and the history of not only the builidng but also the area in which we are surrounded. We do have something for any age to do or see here.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Caves house is an experience within the delightful caves precinct. It is charming and so well located for the walks and cave tours. I have been here many times and just love it. Caves House is old and looking 'tired' but that is part of the charm. The heating is run using the boiler which is turned off during the day, on a cold wet day when you may spend some time in your room it's very cold so if you're coming by car maybe bring a fan heater which is also useful for heating the bathroom! We stayed in the House itself in a deluxe room which has tea and coffee making facilities but no frig and no phone or TV (a real Old World experience). If you want these you can stay in the motel style rooms detached from the House but very nice. There is a warm log fire burning in the communal lounge room and the dining room which is very cosy. The evening meal in the dining room was delicious and there are bar meals available as well,

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms at the front of the House have a bay window which catches lovely warm winter sunshi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taraterrific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were a family of four that booked in here and we booked 2 rooms. When we walked into our rooms we realised we actually could have booked one room as one of them was quite big and had one double bed and 2 singles, but no harm done.

The hotel is beautiful from the time you literally drive through the cave to enter and arrive at the picturesque exterior. The rooms may leave a bit to be desired and the bathrooms were shared, but not crowded or far from the rooms so really not an issue.

Breakfast buffet was good and filling, but doesn't change, so after a few days you will grow tired of it. We also had dinner which was delicious, but got a bit pricey. It's best if you just enjoy and lose yourself in the experience. If you are going to do a few of the cave tours and some of them run for hours or even all day like we did this option is best. If you are only going to do one or two short tours then you can stay elsewhere and drive in for the day.

Being on property at night was cool and was a nice experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePointPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenolan Caves
18.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
18.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
12.5 mi away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Oberon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.6 mi away
Jenolan Cabins
Jenolan Cabins
#1 of 2 in Jenolan Caves
55 reviews
11.8 mi away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#2 of 3 in Oberon
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenolan Caves House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenolan Caves House

Property: Jenolan Caves House
Address: 4655 Jenolan Caves Road, Jenolan Caves, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Jenolan Caves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jenolan Caves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jenolan Caves House 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Jenolan Caves House has been operating since 1896. Accommodation ranges from backpacker dormitories, self catering cottages, modern motel rooms to our Heritage listed guest house. Dine in one of Australia's last Grand Dining Rooms - Chisolms Restaurant or for something less formal try Jeremiah's Bar or our cafe/bistro. Tours of Australia's most spectacular caves operate daily. Tours range from a leisurely stroll to getting down and dirty with adventure caving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jenolan Caves House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenolan Caves House Hotel Jenolan Caves
Jenolan Caves Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing