We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“AN ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Hermitage Cottage

Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Gateway to paradise Relax in the garden terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
17 reviews
Hermitage Cottage Retreat escape the city frenzy & relax
Gateway to paradise
Relax in the garden terrace
Main Bedroom soft top Queen Bed,egyptian lines,dressing gowns
2nd Bedroom, soft top Queen bed,Egypyian linen,dressing gowns
Clawfoot bath with garden view,plush towels,shampoo,soap
Lounge Room,LED flat screen television,CD/DVD/Stereo, WIFI
Dining area  , slow combustion fire,reverse cycle airconditioner. aircoairconditioner.
Kitchen,gas stove,full size refrigerator,pantry
Large Garden
Garden in Spring
View to the lake
Canoe on our lake
Northern Mountain View
Perfect Sunset in Paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kurrajong, Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annette K
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE DELIGHT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Hermitage Cottage with our two little doggies over the June Long Weekend.

What a truely special place, with such welcoming hosts. A stay we havent forgotten and cant wait to enjoy again.

From the moment we arrived at Hermitage John and Peter made such an effort to make us feel welcome and we really appreciated all the special touches such as the sumptious breakfast provisions provided.

We enjoyed sharing a glass of wine together in front of the open fire and having a big "sleep in" after a wonderful day of walking around Kurrajong and all it has to offer.

We will definately be back to enjoy your wonderful hospitality!

Truely a home away from home.

Thanks again!


Annette & Carl
Sydney

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: great hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, hideaway, retreat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in September 2011

I fell in love with this property the moment I drove down the driveway and saw the cottage. John and Peter, the owners were there to greet us and tell us a bit about the property and show us around. They couldn't have been nicer. After their recommendations of exploring the local shops nearby, my partner and I, and my parents gathered supplies, then cooked together and ate in the open kitchen with the fireplace roaring nearby. A great highlight for me was sitting in the really comfortable bathtub and just reading my book while the sun shone in the bathroom in total peace and quiet. It was also fun to take walks around their beautiful gardens and paddocks and watch the cows. Everyone commented on how relaxed they felt after returning home. I can't wait to go back. I'd highly recommend it if you need a break from the city and are looking for peace and quiet in simply beautiful surrounds. Thanks guys.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The great bath overlooking the gardens and paddocks.
Liked least: My stay was too short. I could have easily spent a week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sydney, Australia
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: limited phone reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere and friendly hosts
Liked least: The fact we had to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlyssaTF
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint cottage with the BEST BREAKFAST”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Hermitage Cottage over the Anzac Day long weekend. It is a quaint little cottage out in the bush. It is very peaceful out there.

Pros:
- amazing breakfast provisions - juice, milk, fresh eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal (they even bought me goats milk specially)
- quiet and tranquil location
- air-con and fireplace (have to pay for wood though)
- Well-stocked with utensils, pans, cooking oils, etc
- homely cabin
- well-priced

Cons:
- bathroom not in main house (you have to walk outside to access bathroom)
- bathroom is OK - needs some re-furbishing done to it
- taps in sink in bathroom unusable (small, old-school, very difficult to use)
- minimal phone reception
- no internet - even with a telstra dongle!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Breakfast provisions
Liked least: Bathroom separate from main house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Yes the cottage is definetly quaint & quirky i.e. bathroom.
Mobiles can usually get one bar with Telstra only,but not Optus or Vodaphone, not a lot we can do about the location of mobile towers.
We do have WIFI available just ask for the password next time.
John & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Sydney, Australia
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing