We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Often sought, rarely found”
Review of Zig Zag Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zig Zag Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lithgow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Often sought, rarely found”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are good and there are a few unexpected features such as room service, a heated pool, an in-room bar, and an on-site restaurant. With very friendly staff, and good rates, why would you stay anywhere else when in Lithgow?

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jhmagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we exceeded your expectations. We certainly hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    182
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
121
140
28
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean, comfortable room and pleasant professional attention at checkin and check-out.
Tradies starting the day early with the resulting noise and vehicle activity was an issue; but in any mining service town across Australia these days, that is the norm. The cooked breakfast was of a high standard too. The motel restaurant has an extensive evening meal menu and our group of three all enjoyed our choices. Overall a very recommended business

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we do try to limit early morning noise, we appreciate your understanding that it is at times unavoidable. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having been delayed on a business trip I searched for a motel in Lithgow. I contacted 2 other motels one of which the receptionist was quite rude and the other, well, no-one was on site. I then contacted the Zig Zag and was advised that they had rooms available. The young lady on the phone was very pleasant and advised that she wouldn't take any details from me until I arrived. On arrival I was greeted with a smile by Cristal (I hope that spelling is correct) who was extremely pleasant. I took one of their deluxe rooms which was reasonably priced considering what the other places were offering. On entering my very spacious room, I noticed that the room was very well presented being spotlessly clean (no stains in the carpets or marks on the walls). The furnishings are very tasteful and modern. The bed was of queen size and very comfortable. I ordered room service for dinner which arrived promptly. The meal was of generous proportions and absolutely delicious (better than some high priced restaurants that I have dined in). I will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend this motel to the traveller who is looking to stay in Lithgow.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room which are situated at the back of the complex well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Typical motel units with good size room and bathroom. Fittings good but decor maybe a bit tired. Swimming pool is small but useful. Restaurant really excellent. Had best bottle of wine in Australia here. Breakfast starts very early and finishes at 8.30 a.m. These tourists just about made it on time !

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool is better choice. Some look unto rather industrial areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment of our property to refresh our decor. We always aim to deliver to our guests.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A very clean and spacious room. We had a double room. The bathroom was very small and for those people that are larger this may be for an issue. However, for us this was great 'cause we don't live in the bathroom and the extra space in the room was welcome.

The downside is the pillows were rubbish. Both myself and my husband tonight are nursing very sore necks with heat packs because the pillows are in need of replacing. Not impressed as we have both been in pain all day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babydollq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property.
We are currently undergoing refurbishment of all our rooms, and we are investing in some new pillows. We always appreciative receiving feedback from our guests, as our aim is always to deliver the best.
We lhope to see you on your next stay in Lithgow and see what you think of our refurbishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights in this motel and were very disappointed with the value for money and poor attitude toward customer service. The 3 different receptionists we dealt with were all very short and dismissive of their guests (must be a unique training course they go through). The rooms were very expensive - $130 for a double and $140 for a single (which was apparently a deluxe room although this was not asked for when booking yet weren't interested in charging a normal rate). Despite this cost, the rooms are very small & pokey, do not get serviced on the weekend, have old and ineffective air conditioners and very small bathrooms with not even enough room to sit straight on the toilet seat! One positive was the lovely waitresses in the restaurant - expensive food but quite good and great service!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank GF_n_DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property.

Whilst we appreciate all constructive criticism we are dismayed by this review and the lack of communication provided to the staff during your stay or on departure. Please feel free to contact myself directly at the property if you have concerns over your account and I will more than happily discuss this with you and rectify where necessary.

Our standard rooms are our older style rooms and while I agree the bathrooms are not as spacious as those in our deluxe rooms, we certainly pride ourselves in our cleanliness and service at the property.

We are certainly very glad you enjoyed your dining experiences throughout your stay. If you are returning to Lithgow at any stage I would be happy to show you what our property really has to offer.

Kind regards,
Cassandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Read some previous reviews of 4 star accommodation. I do not agree with this rating.
The rooms were a little on the small size, the bathroom was tiny. Not much bigger than you would find on a cruise ship. No table and only one chair. No toaster either.
But the large TV and the old style air conditioner worked well, and it is in a quiet location.
I was not sure about the bed as the sheets did not have any fresh folding creases in them at all, they did not look fresh but appeared to be clean.
I felt this motel was a little overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: I would choose another motel if I return to Lithgow again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OutbackPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our property.

Our standard rooms are our older style rooms and the smaller rooms on the property. We do also have larger deluxe accommodation available. However, regardless of the type of room booked, we certainly pride ourselves on our cleanliness and service.
Kind regards,
Cassandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lithgow
18.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
933 reviews
15.6 mi away
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
#1 of 1 in Wolgan Valley
936 reviews
13.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
7.7 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
340 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zig Zag Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zig Zag Motel

Property: Zig Zag Motel
Address: 70 Chifley Rd, Lithgow, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Lithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zig Zag Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zig Zag Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zig Zag Motel Lithgow, Australia - Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing