We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean motel! Great value and not too far from main street.”
Review of Zig Zag Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zig Zag Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lithgow
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice clean motel! Great value and not too far from main street.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice clean place and good value overall. The wifi doesn't allow YouTube and can be a bit unreliable really. The shower pressure is very low but overall did the job quite well. I also locked my keys in the room and was unable to get a partial refund otherwise the room was quite good!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rqn1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. As discussed when you contacted us, we do have on-site management who are available at any time to assist our guests and we always encourage guests to contact us if there is an issue such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    180
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
118
138
27
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I stayed with our young son at this motel over the weekend while attending the Glow Worm Tunnel Trail Running weekend in Newnes. It was ideal accommodation for the purpose. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful, our deluxe family room was clean and spacious, and the toiletries were good quality. We ate dinner in the Switchback restaurant with our son, the staff were very accommodating (provided a high chair, put us on a big table and moved the extra cultery/crockery away to make space for him, brought us colouring-in pages and pencils without having been asked) and the food was delicious. We would definitely recommend this motel for a family and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank madameturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We now have a box of toys in the restaurant for children as well when families dine, as well as colouring pictures and pencils.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed a few times at the ZigZag. They have two quality levels of room. Both are adequate, with the standard room being smaller and feeling a little more used.

For the first time we stayed there over the Easter holiday. When checking it we were advised that the restaurant was closed for the holiday weekend. This was a surprise but there was more. When we asked the person on reception to suggest places where we might eat she could only suggest a couple... and it turned out this did not include what appeared to be the nicest restaurant in town on the main street. In fact, there were a number of places open over the three days but not all every night.

How can a central motel which closes its restaurant for the public holidays not think to prepare a handout of all the eateries in town with advice on opening times, etc?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flight2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment of all of our rooms, as we aim to always deliver a quality service to our guests.
I am disappointed to hear that our list of places to eat was not comprehensive, as we did aim to make contact with the local restaurants and cafes and check their operating hours over the Easter break. We certainly appreciate your feedback and ensure that for any future public holidays we are more thorough, as we always aim to help our guests as much as possible.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This was a very lovely motel which has been very well maintained. Our room was very comfortable and large. The double bed had a very appreciated electric blanket. They had a great selection of DVD's to choose from at checkin which our son took advantage of.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rnrvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always aim to deliver, and the little extras, such as DVDs, are well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. The rooms are good and there are a few unexpected features such as room service, a heated pool, an in-room bar, and an on-site restaurant. With very friendly staff, and good rates, why would you stay anywhere else when in Lithgow?

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jhmagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we exceeded your expectations. We certainly hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Clean, comfortable room and pleasant professional attention at checkin and check-out.
Tradies starting the day early with the resulting noise and vehicle activity was an issue; but in any mining service town across Australia these days, that is the norm. The cooked breakfast was of a high standard too. The motel restaurant has an extensive evening meal menu and our group of three all enjoyed our choices. Overall a very recommended business

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. While we do try to limit early morning noise, we appreciate your understanding that it is at times unavoidable. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having been delayed on a business trip I searched for a motel in Lithgow. I contacted 2 other motels one of which the receptionist was quite rude and the other, well, no-one was on site. I then contacted the Zig Zag and was advised that they had rooms available. The young lady on the phone was very pleasant and advised that she wouldn't take any details from me until I arrived. On arrival I was greeted with a smile by Cristal (I hope that spelling is correct) who was extremely pleasant. I took one of their deluxe rooms which was reasonably priced considering what the other places were offering. On entering my very spacious room, I noticed that the room was very well presented being spotlessly clean (no stains in the carpets or marks on the walls). The furnishings are very tasteful and modern. The bed was of queen size and very comfortable. I ordered room service for dinner which arrived promptly. The meal was of generous proportions and absolutely delicious (better than some high priced restaurants that I have dined in). I will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend this motel to the traveller who is looking to stay in Lithgow.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room which are situated at the back of the complex well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZigZag-Manager, Manager at Zig Zag Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lithgow
18.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
916 reviews
15.6 mi away
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
#1 of 1 in Wolgan Valley
913 reviews
13.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
18.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
7.7 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zig Zag Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zig Zag Motel

Property: Zig Zag Motel
Address: 70 Chifley Rd, Lithgow, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Lithgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lithgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zig Zag Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zig Zag Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zig Zag Motel Lithgow, Australia - Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing