We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country hospitality”
Review of Millthorpe Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Millthorpe Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Millthorpe
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We received the most friendly welcome and great suggestions for wine tasting and pre dinner drinks on arrival at this motel. Our room was even ready for us at 1pm. The room was spacious, very comfortable and even had a well equipped kitchenette. The king sized bed gave us a fantastic sleep. The rain shower was wonderful but the bathroom lacked heating of any kind, which was not so pleasant in July. A great place to stay in country NSW.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridebSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Millthorpe Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking this motel on our way to the Elvis Festival in Parkes. A hidden gem for a weekend getaway. Fantastic, friendly staff who did not hesitate to recommend other local businesses to visit on our stay. Great size room that was clean and spacious with a comfy bed. The hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Have reccommended to our friends and will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Millthorpe Motel which is a beautiful little gem of a place to stay. The motel is located in the heart of Millthorpe. You have the ability to walk anywhere for its location. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are excellent, very clean, well designed. There is a small kitchenette that allows you cook small meals. A laundry on site is always great. Extremely well priced. Check it out we will be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hidee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked one night here on our winery trip to Orange due to its location near Tonic Restaurant. We were disappointed that we didn’t book longer!
The room was the perfect size for the both of us and well laid out - accessible bathroom; clearly separate areas for dining, lounge and bed. It looked like a hotel room, instead of a typical motel style room. It was immaculately clean, air-conditioner unit was more than adequate for the chilly morning and with rooms away from the road, it was incredibly quiet. There was a mini-bar of local treats and an evening drinks lounge which was available to us, but we didn’t take up those offers (due to timing).
Being 20 minutes from Orange, we have decided that this will be our base for a next winery trip.

I was a bit skeptical about booking because it was over the phone, but signing in and out was a breeze and definitely not worth the worry.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, ask for a room at the back of the complex, as the ones at the front are rig...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Cancelled our room 530pm on Saturday, lied about "staff changes", and incompetent or too dim witted to contact a member in our group booking to call us before they dumped us. With no where else to go on one of the busiest saturday nights of the year, we stayed out of town on a highway with the semi trailers hurtling down the road all night. We confirmed twice by phone before our stay, once may I say, with the woman who actually cancelled our room. The others in our group all had several confused emails over the months since booking, October 2013. It appears this motel will not be in business very long, as they seem to be unsure that they are even running a business. They really need to read up on what "a reservation" means........."An arrangement whereby something, especially a seat or room, is reserved for a particular person" Oxford Dictionary 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AAM204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
screenae, Owner at Millthorpe Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear AAM204
First and foremost, your comments relate to what happened to your boss, not yourself, so you may not be aware of all that occurred. We did apologise unreservedly and sincerely to the guest who was inconvenienced. We made a mistake, a booking error, and completely understood why your boss was angry and upset.

At no time did we make excuses or temporise or try to disclaim responsibility for the error. What we did was to look for a way to alleviate the inconvenience. Others in your group did offer to move around so your boss could be accommodated. Your boss declined those offers - we believe he chose not to inconvenience the others. We then found two alternative accommodation providers and your boss went to one of those. Once the booking error occurred and the room was taken, that could not be reversed, but we did everything we could in the circumstances.

Nobody wants to make a mistake and we hate to give less than excellent service. But we are sure your boss understands that while we get it right 99% of the time, mistakes can happen. We are experienced operators who took over this motel 14 months ago. We are not incompetent or dim-witted or liars. People who are any of these don’t run successful businesses. Our record speaks for itself. If you look through our other reviews, you will see that are providing our service with pride and professionalism.

We have reviewed our procedures as a result of this incident. Unfortunately it turned out to be simple human error. However, although we regret the inconvenience our booking error caused your boss, we cannot accept that how you worded your comment on Tripadvisor is either appropriate or accurate. The staff member involved was quite distressed and felt personally attacked.

Tripadvisor is such a great tool when used appropriately; not so great when abused. We are disappointed that you did not first contact us. After all, we are the ones who can address any complaint. Perhaps if you had more direct knowledge of events, you may have been able to provide more temperate and constructive feedback.

Please pass on to your boss, again, our regrets about the inconvenience he endured.

Yours sincerely
Bruce and Tanya McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stay here on business quite a few times a year. Never disappoints, Bruce and Tanya are tremendous hosts, the rooms are spacious with great facilities and comfortable beds, always clean and tidy. I have stayed in every room with the exception of the Loft
Very quite setting with plenty of parking. If you are anywhere in the area looking for a place to stay then this is it.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, quite with all facilities
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for one night in the Loft Apartment with our two children and it was lovely. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the owners were very friendly and helpful, the village was quiet and quaint and the café over the road did the best coffee and cakes! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
screenae, Owner at Millthorpe Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Suzanne,
Thank-you so much for taking time to write your review and thank-you for your kind words, our staff work very hard to keep our guests returning.
Millthorpe is a special place - great food and wine area. You must have eaten at the Old Mill Cafe`....the best cakes!!!
Thank-you and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Regards,
Bruce and Tanya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millthorpe
9.1 mi away
Turner's Vineyard
Turner's Vineyard
#7 of 11 in Orange
161 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ambassador Orange
12.5 mi away
de Russie Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Orange
Ibis Styles Orange
#6 of 11 in Orange
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Warriwillah - Millthorpe's Country Motel
12.5 mi away
Mercure Orange (Templers Mill)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millthorpe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millthorpe Motel

Address: 26 Victoria Street, Millthorpe, New South Wales 2798, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Millthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Millthorpe
Price Range: £69 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millthorpe Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well equipped boutique 4 star motel located close to Orange and the airport. Catering to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Millthorpe Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing