We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic but enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night here. It was a cold wild Blue Mountains winter evening when we arrived and were glad to get in the place. We were given a very friendly welcome by the receptionist and given a quick look around before being handed our room key.

The rooms are definitely what you would describe as basic and a little worn looking, but very comfortable and clean with a good sized en suite. There is no TV or tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms. However you can watch TV and make drinks at set communal places in the corridors. This didn’t bother us at all as we were away for a short break and weren’t interested in watching TV anyway. The heater and electric blanket ensured a warm night.

There is a restaurant in the guesthouse but unfortunately there seemed little incentive to eat there. There was no restaurant menu on the street outside the guesthouse, in the entrance hall or in the guest rooms, there was no board showing any specials and most of the restaurant lights were turned off and the room was empty. The kitchen did seem open but we didn’t fancy sitting in a big dining room all on our own on a Saturday evening. Therefore we ventured out to the Imperial up the road for an evening meal. On our return from the Imperial we commented how closed for business the Victoria and Albert looked for 8pm on a Saturday evening, all the lights at the front were turned off and the restaurant was still empty.

The breakfast the next morning was excellent. The cooked breakfast was cooked very well indeed and the service was also excellent. The sun room is a great place to sit and relax by the fire and read a book or have breakfast like we did.

We would certainly stay at this guesthouse again in the future. Those thinking of staying here should expect basic accommodation, there are no extras here and the place looks like it has seen better days. But it is welcoming, and the staff try hard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seayork2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    47
    13
    11
    20
See reviews for
31
63
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We were in the blue mountains and needed a place for the night. We checked in to this hotel at 10pm at night. A very charming and old style building. The lady at the reception was so friendly and helpful.

We told her we were leaving at 8am in the morning. She told us breakfast was included and served from 8am, she also told us if we needed it earlier then 8am, its ok, too. We went down for breakfast at 750, the dining room was all set up and ready for us to have breakfast. We ordered scrambled and went for the bread, juice, coffee..etc on the buffet table. A short while later, a friendly chef showed up with 2 plates of scrambled eggs, plus sauteed mushrooms, beacons, tomatoes....

The portion size was so generous and tasted delicious. I couldn't finish it because I had a bowl of cereal already. We really did not expect such a wonderful big breakfast included in the very low room rate.

This hotel is old, but I love the old charming style of it, big balcony facing the mountains, and super friendly service. I enjoyed my short stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAL7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed a couple of nights at this Guesthouse in Mount Victoria and this is what we found:
- Room very large with a wash basin (rusting at the bottom + hot water tap leaks as difficult to close)
- Room is probably just passable in terms of cleanliness - a lot of dust about, and in need of renovation.
- They forgot to give us soap and shampoo on the first night - we thought they weren't included but then they miraculously appeared on the second night! And they do come in to make your bed the next day, which we admit we weren't expecting.
- Shared bathroom facilities very old and in need of renovation. A large bug fell from the ceiling into the bathtub while I was washing (ewww!)
- No internet or even TV in the room.
- Chaotic breafast - over Easter there were many hungry guests at breakfast and it was very hard to find any staff in sight to place an order for a hot meal. Noted one family left before one of their children got their meal despite waiting a long time and reminding them again about it in vain. Another elderly couple waited about 40min as well before finally getting their meal. There are only 2 options with regards to the hot meal - scrambled or fried eggs. No sausages with meal, only bacon. The portion we got over Easter was quite scanty - compared to the one we got the next day which had almost double portions ladden on.
- We had seen people dining in the restaurant on Saturday night and then on Sunday waited til 7pm but the restaurant remained dark and there was no sign or anything to indicate it wasn't open! Another elderly couple were also waiting for it to open. We eventually went up the road to the Imperial Hotel where there were a lot more people and we got a good hearty meal. Found they also had free internet terminals too! Met another tourist who said she booked a room at the Imperial at last minute and it turned out to be even cheaper than our room! Considering the atmosphere there, I would gladly book at the Imperial over this Guesthouse. When we got back to the Guesthouse, the other elderly couple who had also been waiting for the restaurant to open, had fallen asleep together in front of the TV (sweet!) - at least we hope they were asleep...
- Easter Monday was just dead quiet, with virtually all the other guests having disapperaed into some dark hole it seemed... Again we were left in the dark at breakfast time, with people peering into the kitchen and seeing no signs of action. It was only after waiting something like 30 minutes did we go in search of staff to order breakfast. We were told she was the only cook that day and so went to make breakfast but only 1 at a time which meant a very long wait if you placed your order last!
- The guesthouse itself is very large with a lot of living areas to sit and relax in, but which also meals putting up with some of the older visitors sitting outside your room with the TV on quite loud!! Likewise there was another couple sitting on the verandah near to our window and we could hear everything they were saying and it was past midnight so we had to ask them to talk elsewhere!

I think the owners/staff seem to be genuinely cheerful and friendly people but they just have no idea about running a Guesthouse, esp when they leave its guests in the dark about food. They need to be more attentive to their guests' needs and obviously more staff need to be hired if there is only 1 person cooking 1 hot breakfast per 20 minutes or so... Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms next to living areas with TVs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Victoria hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just spent the weekend at the Victoria and Albert guesthouse and couldn't wait to write this review. If you are looking for a stay where you feel you are instantly part of the very special community of Mount Vic then this clean, simple yet comfortable guest house is the place. The staff went out of their way to make us welcome, suggesting sites and shops of interest around the area.
Our dinner, cooked by Roman, represented the best of good quality comfort food. Hand cut chips, a bavarian pancake that melted in the mouth. Breakfast, included in the reasonable cost of accomodation, was excellent.
Belinda, outgoing and helpful, told us about the friendly ghosts that inhabit this cosy old charmer of a building. We love this place and will return again, it's simplicity and warmth make it a must.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishka32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Haunted-Australia: We recently stayed at the Victoria and Albert Guest House and would like to say that it was a very enjoyable and lovely experience. The location is just fantastic, the guesthouse and its charm in amazing and the staff were absolutely fantastic. Everytime we needed advice or help they were always ready to assist in any way possible. The food was great and to be honest extremely filling! I would highly recommend the Victoria & Albert Guest House to any traveler seeking an alternative to the high end market accomodation within the Blue Mountains region. The site is central to al amentiies and tourist locations. We will certainly be returning. Thanks to everyone at the Victoria & Albert for the fantastic stay and help with our business and providing invaluable information to us.

Room Tip: there are different types of room for the budget conscious. If you are looking for a nice quiet plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haunted-australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Only one night booked here, thank goodness. Indifferent welcome, very dated accommodation. Don't think owners cared less.
Partner was I'll during the night, just pointed to nearby hospital the following morning after 10 minutes of trying to raise somebody for help. Owner clearly couldn't give a damn.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Initially disappointed after arriving, the friendliness of the staff and the ambience of the guesthouse won us over to stay our second night. If you want the modern, clinical feel of the new motel/hotels, it is not for you.. If you want warmth, history and peacefulness - try it. It is old and worn - The ensuite room we had was basic but clean. No in-room facilities like TV's, internet connections... there are sitting areas with some facilities and Tv's but TV service is not good. If you want to go back in time..peace & quiet, to feel relaxed and laid back and talk and chat to your partner,enjoy their company and not hide behind 'electrical company' then this is for you... wander around it... imagine the gentry that used to visit it... the ladies in thier wonderful dresses.. it is living history if you let it in... it is old, worn, but magnificent and a real throwback to yesteryear that wraps its arms around you.... We will be staying there again.. and we are not oldies! We enjoyed it's ambience and peacefullness, and the absolute friendliness of its staff. Thank you for a relaxing, enjoyable and restul stay. (we are pleased we did not read this blog before booking, as we would not have booked) We both enjoyed our stay - we felt a part of the area and not just as visitors to it - to be able to live in a piece of history that welcomed you was worth it and we benefited from it by not having the normal frenzied day-to-day electronic controls of our life ruling us even for that short while. It was great! Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Victoria
3.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
3.9 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
26 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Mount Victoria Manor
Mount Victoria Manor
#1 of 2 in Mount Victoria
75 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria & Albert Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria & Albert Guesthouse

Property: Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
Address: 19 Station St, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria & Albert Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria & Albert Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing