We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare and so over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Victoria Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

What a nightmare Terrible customer service Run down old mansion that smelt musty and had a spooky feel. Empty rooms everywhere Peak winter season only two guests for massive double story guesthouse Cold and old delapated furniture Needs more than a face lift. I've been harsh as a warning

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Murph92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

What a find! We felt like we had stepped into the 1920's. We needed a weekend out of town and an easy place to unwind. Our room was spacious and warm, had a large, comfy bed, fresh crisp linen and a delightful ensuite with large bath! Breakfast was very generous, unrushed with bottomless tea & coffee, with unobtrusive but delightful service. All staff were helpful with advice about how to spend our couple of days in the mountains, I always love getting local knowledge! We ate dinner while we were out, but spent a lovely evening of billiards, wine and conversation with fellow guests in the large, but cosy lounges. I've recommended this place to a few of my friends who wanted to stay somewhere with more soul than a resort-type hotel, without compromising the quality of the rooms or facilities. Just delightful!! We will definitely be back, perhaps for one of their special nights, they had just had a Titanic evening!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this run down,poorly managed guest house.
The management were rude and impersonal.
But the food (if thats the correct description) was a nightmare and by far the worst I,ve
ever eaten in my life.
I could not finish one course.
I highly recommend that you steer well clear of this highly disappointing facade of a guest house.
Oh and by the way I was quoted $180 a night but when we arrived that had increased to $225.
Need I say more.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Echoman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Rented the Orchard View, as we had friends from the UK with us. This is a roomy place and the facilities downstairs would be great for kids. The beds and linen etc were of a good standard, but expect an older building in need of an upgrade. I am afraid what got my goat was for the price we got a towel each for 4 of us and 2 hand towels. The main reason we upgraded to this room was for the 'Large wrap around verandah' Sadly it is in need of repair and the furniture was a disgrace, green plastic faded patio furniture and old metal frame table.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Victoria
4.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
29 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
Victoria & Albert Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Mount Victoria
141 reviews
16.5 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
354 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Victoria Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Victoria Manor

Address: 11 Montgomery St, Mount Victoria, New South Wales 2786, Australia (Formerly Blue Mountains Manor House)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Victoria
Price Range: £70 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Victoria Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Victoria Manor, once the weekend residence of J.R. Fairfax was built in 1876 on the most commanding point at Mount Victoria. Mount Victoria Manor is a magnificent, rambling edifice constructed on solid stone foundations, embellished architecturally with cedar fittings, leather ceilings and highly decorative anaglypta wallpaper. Currently undergoing a renovation with the theme 'Heritage with a Twist' it has retained its impressive qualities, combined with an ambiance you can feel as you walk in the front door. The onsite restaurant 'Coopers' serves hearty country food using as much local produce as possible. Our herbs are delivered daily by a local gardener who works with our team to create fresh wholesome food. Our bar has a Spanish feel and serves tapas style food just perfect to eat whilst sitting in front of one of our open fires. Mount Victoria Manor is situated in a small 19th century village. The house has 13 en-suite rooms and 3 apartments all individually decorated with queen or king ensembles, feather doonas and electric blankets. All rooms have en-suites and the apartments have a shared bathroom within each unit. Our gardens are also undergoing a renovation and we have plans for a kitchen garden and we are rejuvenating our orchard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Victoria Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing