We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean,well appointed,friendly.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oberon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Trout Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
A TripAdvisor Member
“clean,well appointed,friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

stayed 5 nights as a base for bathurst motor racing. Rooms serviced everyday. Friendly staff. Restaurant has good selction of great food. Free WiFi a bonus. Would reccomend to friends, will stay again next time. Met a group who had been staying every year for last 10 years, they wont stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    34
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We are regular visitors to Oberon and have stayed at the Big Trout previously.

Being only 3 hours drive from Sydney, Oberon can get busy with many activities such as Open Gardens, Festivals, Show etc so it's definitely a good idea to book in advance. We thought the tariff a little high this time (we stay at 5-star Asian hotels for the same or less money) and a little above par for similar motels all over Australia. But it's a case of supply and demand so you pay for that in a popular places like Oberon.

Location is on the edge of town and handy to all the local amenities. Although the main road into town runs by the front and the occasional truck can be heard it's not a problem.

The rooms are large, well appointed with standard fittings and spotlessly clean. Bathroom a good size and water pressure and other items perfectly adequate for an overnight or longer stay.

We didn't try the attached Chinese restaurant but were informed by locals that it's pretty good. There's not a lot of choice for dining in Oberon so next time we'll try it.

All in all, the Big Trout is a comfortable and roomy base to explore Oberon. The owners are friendly and helpful and provide perfectly acceptable accomodation.

We must mention the Oberon Visitors Centre... make sure you call in and get the latest and best information on the Oberon area. The ladies who man the centre are experts and are only too happy to help make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter but really it's not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOneThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Just spent 3 days at this motel, the room was very clean, I felt very comfortable and relaxed. I was a female solo traveller and felt safe in my room.
There is a Chinese restaurant onsite which is very good and the owner and waitstaff are very friendly.
The motel owners are friendly and are happy to help you enjoy your stay. I thought the room rate was very good, would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Our family stayed in a spacious and clean family room. There were two separate sleeping areas, one with a Queen bed, and a single bed and the other with two single beds. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were a bit low. There was a table and chairs in the room with the two single beds and there was plenty of space for luggage. The window at the back of the motel unit looked over a paddock with sheep in. The motel was very good value .We stayed here the night of Carols at Jenolan Caves, a very enjoyable and worthwhile event with proceeds going to charity. You can also do tours of the caves which is a fascinating experience.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here over the weekend before heading off to Mayfair Gardens on the sunday. We got the last room available, which happened to be a spa room. It was HUGE, two bedrooms with two queen size beds and a single. It was fresh and clean and the people running the place were very nice and helpfull, they could not do enough for us. When I had booked the room I also booked a table in the restaurant on the night, upon arrival I enquired into the booking but was told it did not exist, when I saw the tour bus in the carpark I thought we may have missed out, but they set a table up for us, so all was good.
With the restaurant it is chinese, menu very basic as you would expect in a country town, but still very good. All up a nice trip.
The next morning instead of eating breakfast at the hotel we opted for a cafe in the main street called Cafe Savana, the breakfast and service here was superb, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room down the back of the hotel away fom and noise on the main road and looks over a tranq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabbitf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sin City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a room with 1 queen & 1 single - v big room with big window overlooking paddock ; v nice with the snow covered fields! Has oil heater in room; it was v warm & toasty!
A 10-15 walk into town which makes a lovely walk. Has an on site Chinese restaurant which was good, cafe opposite motel which is kid friendly!
Every motel in Oberon is v expensive; for a 3 star motel, there is not much to choose from, at least this place is clean & room big & warm.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have stayed at this motel a number of times. Bed is comfortable, room is large with table and chairs, and one easy (if a little tired) armchair. Room is heated and there is an electric blanket on the bed. If you should be too warm, then the window can be opened. Bathroom a good size - one (and only one) complaint is the thin small towels which desperately need to be replaced. Staff are always friendly and welcoming and the Chinese Restaurant attached has consistently good food. Will continue to stay at the Big Trout on our trips to Oberon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberon
0.9 mi away
Highlands Motor Inn
Highlands Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Oberon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Titania Oberon
Motel Titania Oberon
#1 of 3 in Oberon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
11.7 mi away
Jenolan Caves House
Jenolan Caves House
#1 of 1 in Jenolan Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
5.7 mi away
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
Duckmaloi Park Lodge
#6 of 6 in Oberon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
Comfort Inn Redleaf Resort
#3 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Trout Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Trout Motor Inn

Property: Big Trout Motor Inn
Address: 1 Oberon St, Oberon, New South Wales 2787, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Oberon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Oberon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Trout Motor Inn is situated in the main street of Oberon and has a 3 1/2 star rating with all 33 rooms on the ground floor. All rooms have central heating, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, telephone and electric blankets. The motel also boasts a Licensed Restaurant with popular Chinese and Australian cuisine and room service is available on request. The rooms are light and spacious with the standard rooms consisting of a queen and single bed. Family rooms all have a queen and three singles. There are also 2 bedroom spa rooms which have two queens and one single in them.The motel caters to coach groups, with Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages, and also day tour packages with guide. Oberon is 2.5 hours from Sydney and is 1150 meters above sea level. Just 29km from Oberon, you can explore the scenic wonders of Jenolan Caves. These adjoin the World Heritage listed Kanangra Boyd National Park, with its spectacular wilderness areas and the majestic Kanangra Walls.Oberon is known for its trout fishing, mushrooming and fossicking, and most recently the magnificent Mayfield Gardens. One of the largest privately owned cool climate gardens, with 160 acres of awe inspiring beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Trout Motor Inn Oberon, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing