We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts with a lovely cottage in beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Oberon, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Andrew G
1 review
“Friendly hosts with a lovely cottage in beautiful farm/bush surroundings”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My daughters & I thoroughly recommend this farmstay. Very friendly hosts - you can spend time with the alpacas, sheep & donkeys and roam around the farm where birdlife, kangaroos and wombat holes abound. The cottage is pleasantly simple with everything needed for a quiet getaway. If you get a chance check out Mayfield Gardens - even the kids had a good time! Tip - bring spare carrots to feed the animals (although Jan & Don (Thank you both) do provide if needed!)

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Dear Andrew

Thank you so much for your generous review. It was lovely to meet you and your girls. We’d love to have you stay again sometime. Jen and Don
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donnajon2...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming country cottage with beautiful views.”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We love this cottage. Not too far from Sydney with great countryside views and total peace and quiet.This cottage has every facility needed to ensure a relaxing holiday. The owners - Don and Jenn - are a delight! and the farm animals are always up for a pat. Our favourite - sitting on the verandah, having a BBQ, watching the sun set on the rolling hills. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thanks for your kind comment, Donna. It's always a pleasure to have you stay. We'll look forward to welcoming you again soon. Jenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Farm Stay Holiday”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 days at Avaleigh Elms with our 5 & 6 yr old sons. The cottage was the perfect size for our family. Well equiped kitchen and BBQ as well as a lovely log fire for the cold afternoons and nights. We loved visiting the very friendly sheep, alpacas and donkeys each day also feeding the hens and collecting eggs. The cottage is perfectly located away from the main house so we didn't feel like we were disturbing our hosts when kids want to be kids. Close by was horse riding, fossicking, fishing and Jenolan Caves. Jen and Don were great hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Thanks for a lovely long weekend.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tame farm animals
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, Kylie. It was great to have you stay. We're so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves. Jenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarneyDee
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely break from the city”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was incredibly understanding and helpful though the booking process.

It's a lovely little farm stay and was well worth the trip from Sydney. Actually, the scenic drive was enough to make it worthwhile. The cottage sleeps 4, so there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. There fire was set and there was afternoon tea slice waiting for us when we arrived.

We stayed 2 nights and the owner checked on us and made sure we had everything each day. She left food for the animals and recommended places to go.

The only thing I didn't expect was curtains, instead of doors, on the bedrooms - but all the fresh air meant we all slept soundly. Don't be fooled by the ceiling. Some rooms have exposed beams and others have a ceiling. And there's no phone or internet access at the cottage, You'll need to jump in the car and head towards Black Springs for that.

I wish I hadn't accidentally left my gum boots and hiking boots at home. I would have loved to do more exploring of the farm. It's such a beautiful location. I'll definitely try and get back here for a weekend with my partner.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, Karen! Thanks for leaving everything so tidy. Jenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica R
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Cozy Country Stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our time at Avaleigh Elms was just what we needed....quite, relaxing and cozy. We were keen to fossick for Sapphires at the nearby Sapphire bend and the cottage was a very welcome return after ours days of gem hunting. The fireplace was a big hit as were the very comfortable beds. Our daughter enjoyed a walk around the farm and feeding the animals with the resident dog Dougall . Thank you to Jenn and Don for making us feel so welcome. A little piece of country paradise!!

Date of stay: September 2015
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Great to have you stay, Monica!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheau L
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful weekend at Avaleigh Elms. Kerry and Brandon who looked after the property while the owners were away on holiday were most friendly and welcoming. The place was very cosy with the firewood burning, and the resident animals were most adorable! The kitchen is well stocked with all essential cooking utensils and we enjoyed cooking and a wonderful quality time eating dinners and breakfasts. What's more, we were brought fresh farm eggs! Thumbs up! Thank you, Kerry and Brandon,and of course Jenn and Donn too!

Date of stay: July 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at our farmstay. We gather Kerry and Brendan did a wonderful job! We'll look forward to meeting you if you choose to stay with us again. Regards, Jenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon L
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Peaceful Haven, great family getaway”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned home from another wonderful stay at Avaleigh Elms. We have been a number of times over the last 5 years or so and am so glad to be able to report that its just as magical as ever. We had great weather and roamed around some beautiful countryside, but also just relaxed at the farm with our daughters (now teenagers, not as easily impressed by family trips as they once were) making friends with the animals, horses, donkeys, Alpacas and the most regal looking sheep you ever likely to meet. Last night we sat out at the front of the cottage and watched a mob of Kangaroos feeding in one of the fields nearby, before it went dark and then the amazing array of stars came out. A great stay made even better by the fact that we could now take our little dog Betty. The cottage itself has its own fenced garden and is extremel comfortable and for such an out of the way place, decent TV reception, not that we watched it hardly at all. The owners Jen and Don were so welcoming and this morning we had a wonderful breakfast on the patio of the main house. An experience that could not have been bettered, no matter how much money you spent. Really beautiful and something we will all remember for a long time to come, or at least until our next visit. Even enjoyed the scenery on the trip back to Manly this afternoon through the Blue Mountains. All in all a great way to spend my birthday today. Thanks so much, I highly recommend this little gem of a place to anyone considering a few days away in the countryside, not too far from Sydney.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views and wonderful value for money
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Dear Simon, thanks so much for your lovely review. We were very please to have your lovely family stay and are looking forward to another visit sometime. Best regards, Jenn PS Spring opening of Mayfield Garden is coming up!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.