We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair dinkum, old school country pub (It's actually called The Royal Hotel)”
Review of Royal Hotel Oberon

Royal Hotel Oberon
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Oberon
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1881 the Royal Hotel offers 18 comfortable country style accommodation rooms, a guest lounge, eat in or take away bistro, beer garden with BBQ facilities, Tab, Keno, pool tables, juke box,an extensive bottle shop and welcoming number of open log fires. Offering a warm ambience with friendly staff and great value meals, a trip to Oberon would not be complete without calling in to see us. Royal Hotel Oberon. Address: 113 Oberon Street, Oberon New South Wales 2787, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fair dinkum, old school country pub (It's actually called The Royal Hotel)”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off when you call to make a booking or by your first impressions as you walk in. For a country pub the meals were good value and quite nice. Staff were friendly and even served us dessert after the kitchen had closed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    10
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It wasn't the best food I've ever had - but adequate. The dining area was pleasant but not stylish. We liked the "bush" décor, though. The fire was lovely and made the room warm and very comfortable. Very "pub" fare. The people made us feel very welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average pub food”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

On a very cold night, the fire in the dining room was welcome. The staff were friendly and honest about the vegetables, so we had the steak and salad. It was cooked as I asked but a tad on the tough side. My friend's schnitzel was probably better; servings were generous. You could do much worse but in Oberon, I don't know that you could do much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kleckerweise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a great affordable meal!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The Royal was recommended by the place we stayed. It was $10 steak night and my husband (after years and years of saying - I prefer my steak well done - FINALLY got the PERFECT steak.) Kids meals were great - and both of mine scoffed down the meals. It was friendly, affordable and yummy. Not a pretentious place but very comfortable after a long day on the road.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvanKatesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Only if you're desperate”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Coming through from Canberra, it was after 8pm when we rocked through Oberon. We stopped at the Royal Hotel, but I kinda wished we went on to the club. The Royal Hotel serves up average pub food. But two things stop me from giving it 3 bullets. One, the young lady who took our order without any eye contact or interest in service. Two, the cook's handling of our money before returing to the kitchen to continue with her food preparation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel Oberon also viewed

Oberon, Blue Mountains
Oberon, Blue Mountains
 
Oberon, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Royal Hotel Oberon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing