We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Motel Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Northants, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here at the end of our Australia trip and it provided a good base for exploring the Blue Mountains where we could relax as well.
We booked a family room. There were two rooms, the first bedroom having three single rooms,the second having the double bed and a kitchen area, with bathroom off.
The kitchen area was good and had a microwave, 2 plate cooker, sink and fridge freezer. You could easily cook a simple meal there.It was clean.
There was no table,but there was a flat surface with two chairs which I suppose you could use.
The main TV was good, but the second was fairly basic and fixed on the wall.
The door between the two rooms didn't fit and the wall between the rooms stopped a couple of feet short of the ceiling.
The heating system worked well,but was very noisy.
We had breakfast each day and it was served differently each day. The first day it was cooked to order and we were served tea and coffee in pots. The second day we were told to make our own tea and coffee and make our own toast, and on the third day we were told to make our own tea and coffee but there was no option to make toast.
The food was cooked to order each day and was very good, but it would have been nice if the service of day one had continued.
The staff were very friendly and the man in reception went out of his way to get my daughter instructions to her friend's housewhich is out in the sticks,even ringing someone up to check he had got it right.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    8
    13
    9
See reviews for
4
11
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed here for one night with my partner and some friends for a family members wedding close by.
I was not expecting 5 or 4 star quality.However i was expecting a clean room. I did not get that.
The room was very dated.
The capet was old and sticky (looked as if it had seen everything)
The bedding was un clean My bed had hair all through the sheets.
Yellow stain on my sheets.
Cockroach infested room.
Dead bugs under the bed.
Bathroom was filthy with bugs every where.
Air con was not working.
Room smelt like a wet dog.
I know it is just a motel but one should expect a level of cleanliness.
I hope i have been abile to help you with your accomadation needs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackcatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I picked this hotel as I needed somewhere in the area following a day long business event and couldn't find any other options. You’re not going to get a five star Hilton in the middle of Richmond. That said, I was not disappointed by my choice. The staff were friendly and efficient on arrival. The motel itself is above the average typical Australian motel fare.

The room was large with plenty of space, with a desk, small dining table and chairs, and had a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was huge with a large spa style bath and shower which worked a treat. The nice presentation of the towels, shower gel, shampoo etc showed that this was a motel where the staff cared about the appearance. I was very impressed by the general cleanliness of the room and bathroom itself.

Whilst some of the furnishings are a little dated (but not particularly by Australian motel standards), they are in good condition. The room had a good modern air conditioning unit which was appreciated as it was particularly warm in the evening. In addition to this fox sports and sky news were available along with broadband internet (but didn’t try the latter). The room also had a good quiet fridge along with an ice box to chill beers.

I noticed the hotel had a restaurant but as I had an evening business function I didn’t get to try this.

The hotel is near enough to the town to be convenient but enough of a distance away to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. If I was in the area again and needed somewhere to stay I’d definitely give this place a go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peder182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I took a deluxe room and it is very large and well appointed

tea/coffee facilies, fridge, toaster, fast internet, 1 x double, 1 x single bed

Everything worked and was very clean

The super hot shower was tops!

I arrived very late however the manager was very accommodating and helpful

If back in this area would stay again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I stayed at the Best Western Colonial Motel in Richmond for one night this week while travelling between business meetings. The hotel was chosen because of the location, approximately half way between my meetings.

Reservation via telephone and check in were both friendly and efficient. Throughout the stay the staff were very pleasant.

My room was located in the single level block. It was a 1980s style decor and was unrenovated. Containing a double bed and a single bed, it was very basic and not particularly comfortable. The bathroom was small and contained a shower only. An old CRT television was fitted, but television reception was not great. The bed was not very comfortable - the most negative aspect of the room was finding a large cockroach near the kettle in the morning.

A western restaurant is located on the premises, where I enjoyed a good dinner and good service. I also had breakfast in the restaurant the following morning, which was reasonable priced.

Due to the very dated decor/presentation of the guest room and the cockroach in the room, I would try a different hotel next time I travel in the area.

A positive feature is that this hotel does not charge any credit card surcharges. I find it deplorable that hotels can enjoy more benefits of credit card use than most other industries (booking guarantees, pre-authorisations, charging for no-shows, charging for late charges, avoiding large cash transactions) but the industry has been one of the most bullish industries in Australia to introduce credit card surcharges. Well done to the Colonial Motel for not introducing any surcharges.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Staying here is like stepping back to 1980. The rooms are generally clean but sparse, and look like the standard you'd expect in a backpacker hostel, not a Best Western.

The furniture is cheap, and almost industrial in feel. The bathroom is truly awful.

Broadband internet is available for $10 a day, but no wifi. The modem is located next to the bedhead, so that you can't actually use your computer on the desk as the blue cable is too short to reach.

Given that the price here is not overly cheap, this place is a big disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zephyr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Situated in a quiet street near what passes for the centre of Richmond, the Colonial Motel is a largish motel with three two storey blocks of rooms. The room was the typical unimaginative square with twin beds and an en-suite. It was quiet, clean and well maintained and was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
6.1 mi away
Alexander the Great Motel
2.8 mi away
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
#1 of 1 in Clarendon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Windsor Terrace Motel
Windsor Terrace Motel
#2 of 3 in Windsor
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
UWS Village - Hawkesbury
UWS Village - Hawkesbury
#1 of 1 in Richmond
4 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel Richmond

Property: Colonial Motel Richmond
Address: 161 March St, Richmond, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Motel Richmond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Motel Richmond. A thirty-nine room motel close to: local shops, parks & restaurants. The perfect place to stop over for a night or two on your way through the historic hawkesbury. Colonial Motel 161 March Street Richmond, NSW, 2753 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Motel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing