We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Motel Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dump”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

You know the expression "You shouldn't judge a book by its cover"? Well that certainly applies here. The place looks quite inviting from the street, and on its website. But once you venture into it, it's a dive.

Once I made it past the arrogant twerp on reception, I found my room (no directions offered) in a dark part of the carpark. The furnishings are old. The decor is grotty. The carpet doesn't quite fit. The paint is peeling off the walls. One of the chairs is about to fall apart.

The room has a kettle and a toaster and a microwave and a very big TV.

In short, it's a dump.

I think it's a great example of what happens when there's no competition in a town. This hotel was rated as #1 of 2 hotels in Richmond. I sincerely hope the other one gets rated soon!

Room Tip: Try Lithgow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    8
    13
    9
See reviews for
4
11
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

needs improvement I've been using this hotel for years & it's gone down hill.
room stank it was terrible. price gone up but service & quality hasn't.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesenior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We checked in about 6.30pm after a very long day of traveling from Port McQuarie. It was dark and the motel looked quite presentable from the road, advertising a restaurant. We were advised after booking that the restaurant was closed. We were given a room down the back of the property and it was quiet with no road noise. The room's decor was dated and reasonably expensive for what you got or didn't get. There was a toaster in the room but no plates or cutlery. On request they did supply us with plates, spoons and a knife.There was also a jug but to fill it up you had to use the shower as it would not fit under the basin tap. Superficially the room looked clean but there was soap scum in the shower, mildew on the bathroom window and the bathroom extractor fan had a major build up of grime on its surface. There were cobwebs aplenty. The air conditioner was so noisy it could not be used for long. When I returned the key there was no thank you or have a good day. We couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Checked in here at night after a long day of business, Man at reception was helpful and friendly and upgraded me to a queen room for no extra cost. Due to rain and exhaustion ordered room service, menu very basic and more cafe like than restaurant. Meal was delivered to room within 20 mins and was very nice. Room was clean, bedding and towels were in good condition and clean.I was at the back of complex and room was quiet. This hotel met my needs and was reasonably priced at $128 for night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here at the end of our Australia trip and it provided a good base for exploring the Blue Mountains where we could relax as well.
We booked a family room. There were two rooms, the first bedroom having three single rooms,the second having the double bed and a kitchen area, with bathroom off.
The kitchen area was good and had a microwave, 2 plate cooker, sink and fridge freezer. You could easily cook a simple meal there.It was clean.
There was no table,but there was a flat surface with two chairs which I suppose you could use.
The main TV was good, but the second was fairly basic and fixed on the wall.
The door between the two rooms didn't fit and the wall between the rooms stopped a couple of feet short of the ceiling.
The heating system worked well,but was very noisy.
We had breakfast each day and it was served differently each day. The first day it was cooked to order and we were served tea and coffee in pots. The second day we were told to make our own tea and coffee and make our own toast, and on the third day we were told to make our own tea and coffee but there was no option to make toast.
The food was cooked to order each day and was very good, but it would have been nice if the service of day one had continued.
The staff were very friendly and the man in reception went out of his way to get my daughter instructions to her friend's housewhich is out in the sticks,even ringing someone up to check he had got it right.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed here for one night with my partner and some friends for a family members wedding close by.
I was not expecting 5 or 4 star quality.However i was expecting a clean room. I did not get that.
The room was very dated.
The capet was old and sticky (looked as if it had seen everything)
The bedding was un clean My bed had hair all through the sheets.
Yellow stain on my sheets.
Cockroach infested room.
Dead bugs under the bed.
Bathroom was filthy with bugs every where.
Air con was not working.
Room smelt like a wet dog.
I know it is just a motel but one should expect a level of cleanliness.
I hope i have been abile to help you with your accomadation needs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackcatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I picked this hotel as I needed somewhere in the area following a day long business event and couldn't find any other options. You’re not going to get a five star Hilton in the middle of Richmond. That said, I was not disappointed by my choice. The staff were friendly and efficient on arrival. The motel itself is above the average typical Australian motel fare.

The room was large with plenty of space, with a desk, small dining table and chairs, and had a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was huge with a large spa style bath and shower which worked a treat. The nice presentation of the towels, shower gel, shampoo etc showed that this was a motel where the staff cared about the appearance. I was very impressed by the general cleanliness of the room and bathroom itself.

Whilst some of the furnishings are a little dated (but not particularly by Australian motel standards), they are in good condition. The room had a good modern air conditioning unit which was appreciated as it was particularly warm in the evening. In addition to this fox sports and sky news were available along with broadband internet (but didn’t try the latter). The room also had a good quiet fridge along with an ice box to chill beers.

I noticed the hotel had a restaurant but as I had an evening business function I didn’t get to try this.

The hotel is near enough to the town to be convenient but enough of a distance away to enjoy a quiet night's sleep. If I was in the area again and needed somewhere to stay I’d definitely give this place a go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peder182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
11.8 mi away
Mercure Penrith
Mercure Penrith
#1 of 3 in Penrith
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
#1 of 1 in Clarendon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.1 mi away
Alexander the Great Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel Richmond

Property: Colonial Motel Richmond
Address: 161 March St, Richmond, New South Wales 2753, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Motel Richmond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Motel Richmond. A thirty-nine room motel close to: local shops, parks & restaurants. The perfect place to stop over for a night or two on your way through the historic hawkesbury. Colonial Motel 161 March Street Richmond, NSW, 2753 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Colonial Motel Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing