We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service and burnt food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel Springwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hotel Springwood
Ranked #2 of 2 Springwood B&B and Inns
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad service and burnt food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I went to this hotel for a Mothers day lunch with my family and the service was terrible. We ordered the 3 course set meal for the day and didn't get our dessert until 4 hours after we had ordered. We had to remind the staff repeatedly that we hadn't received certain courses of our meals and they even tried to give us the wrong meals. When we finally received our dessert it tasted burnt. I will not be booking here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J3ssB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have now stayed twice at the Royal Hotel. First time for one week and the second visit for 11 days. It is in a good location. It has everything you need on site, food, drinks etc. Walk down the stairs and you are right in the Springwood shopping center. Everything you need is there. Opposite the hotel is the train station so transport ultra close. Springwood is central to all the beautiful scenery, sights and activities that the Blue Mountains has to offer. I will definitely stay at the Royal Hotel again and recommend to others.
Note that on Friday and Saturday nights the bar below can get quite rowdy. May as well join em I say :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

After the rush of Christmas the idea was to have a relaxing lunch on the balcony with the great view of the mountains. I had the misfortune to order our meal just as two minibuses of day trippers arrived for their lunch. Our order of two antipasto plates and a bowl of wedges finally arrived after a wait of 50 minutes and two queries as to the delay. The wedges had been made with the wrong type of potatoes - they were soggy and bendable. The antipasto was threadbare with limp rocket, three slices of dried out meat, black olives and black olive tapenade, plus broken pieces of bread sticks. The worst we have ever had anywhere. Pathetic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank W0mbat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springwood hotels

Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great little hotel in the middle of Springwood. The food is very good, simple menu but the quality is high. Good selection of beers and wines. The staff are very friendly and the accomodation is simple but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankr13752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel has been extensively renovated & it shows.. The hotel was lovely & clean as was the room. The room was basic, but well appointed with nice linen on the bed. the bathroom was plenty big enough, water was hot & hair dryer provided was a nice surprise.
The Bistro menu was limited & maybe a bit overpriced. The staff did their job but not much else. They were pleasant enough, but could have been a little more welcoming towards out of towners.
Overall.... Nice place to stay, in a good spot & we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

As a Springwood resident I was curious to hear there has been some changes made at the royal. My husband & I dined at the bistro on a rainy Thursday night and it really was an effort to leave home. We were very glad we did! The menu is small but has a great variety. I tried the salmon which was cooked perfectly an was served with a refreshing salad. My husband had the rump steak also cooked well and a generous serving. Happy with the changes and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jane9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Had beef & mushy pea pie and steak sandwich for lunch...
Pie was in a small ramekin with mash and rocket with chopped tomatoes and a drizzle of balsamic....typical pub style food...
Pie was $22 ...way overpriced for a small container not even the size of a standard pie...shame on you charging 22 bucks for a meal worth no more than $10 retail...
When will pub chefs learn to stop gouging when they think that they are creating some creative dish like a pie in a ramekin....chips on my partners steak sandwich were soggy....come on the owner of the Royal get with it.....soon you will have to change your attitude when the Orient gets converted to PJ GALLAGHERS ....and gives you some competition.....your bistro had 6 people for lunch ..while all the cafes in the street were overflowing....you'll get you just desserts....change now or you will be working in the kitchen...mopping the floor ...cause you no nothing about food service

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Duchymilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springwood
8.0 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pioneer Way Motel
Pioneer Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Faulconbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.0 mi away
Storey Grange
Storey Grange
#1 of 2 in Springwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
17.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel Springwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel Springwood

Property: The Royal Hotel Springwood
Address: 220 Macquarie Rd, Springwood, New South Wales 2777, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Springwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Springwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel Springwood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel Springwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing