We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great overnighter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tally Ho Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tally Ho Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tenterfield
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

A great place on the edge of town for an overnight stay or even as a base to explore this beautiful and historical part of northern NSW. Comfortable and clean rooms, friendly owners and undercover parking, make this a great stay. At $80 a double including a continental breakfast, this is one i'll be keeping on my list when travelling the New England Hwy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
23
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Modern clean rooms. Crisp sheets and the bed was comfortable. Asked for assistance tuning my television and it wasn't a problem. Complimentary light breakfast, perfect start to the day. Traffic noise not a problem. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Zr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife and I stayed over on a trip to Tamworth. We arrived 30 minutes later than their receptions 9.30pm closing time, having rung to tell them we were behind schedule. We arranged for the room to be left unlocked and to leave the key left inside. To our surprise we were still met by one of the hosts well past their closing time. As it was winter, he had turned the heater on in our room ready for our arrival. We thought it was a nice touch.

Most of the rooms are set well away from the road, and as a result we experienced very little traffic noise during the night. The beds in our room are firm, the bathroom clean and tidy. Plenty of toiletries and spare blankets are included. Tea and Coffee facilities with real milk is also included.

They cater for Golf groups and have their own bus. Parking is undercover too.

They also provide a free breakfast between 7am and 8am to all guests, in their dining room, with a choice of white, wholemeal or raisin toast, a good selection of cereals, Tea, Coffee and fruit juice. They have home cooked meals in the evening too for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Being a small country town, water pressure is not great, so when you shower, try and avoid peak time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corryong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here whilst traveling through to Queensland, very friendly and helpful staff, and very accommodating for my dog. definitely will be staying here again.
Room was clean and good size. Hotel is also close to good area to walk your dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here on our way to queensland for a holiday with the intention of staying the night to break up the trip. Although this hotel wasn't our first pick it proved an excellent find. The rooms were clean, neat and tidy. Reception staff were excellent and provided complimentary breakfast which was a nice gesture. Highly recommend for travellers after a simple one night hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I will be staying here again on my next trip..Gary and Cheryl are very easy and friendly to deal with and nothing was to much trouble..the room was spotless and very quiet. The meals are very nice and abundent,,thanks again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenterfield hotels
1.7 mi away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Peter Allen Motor Inn
Peter Allen Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Tenterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tenterfield Lodge Caravan Park
1.4 mi away
Jumbuck Motor Inn
Jumbuck Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Tenterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Settlers Motor Inn
Settlers Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tenterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Motor Inn

Property: Tally Ho Motor Inn
Address: New England Highway, Tenterfield, New South Wales 2372, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tenterfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Tenterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tally Ho Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Well appointed ground floor rooms with free undercover parking. Off street parking available for buses and larger vehicles. Pets Not Allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tally Ho Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing