We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tenterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stopped overnight in Tenterfield and selected the Henry Lawson. The rooms are roomy, warm and beds are comfortable. All amenities provided including an on-site restaurant (and you can get excellent coffee to-go in the morning).

Room Tip: The driveway is a little narrow so if you are driving a big vehicle (larger than an average family s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a long drive we drove into this motel. The entrance is too narrow for land cruisers. The car parks difficult. Ok I thought let's get to the room. Small & pokey. Very old and dated. No electric blankets when it's 2 degrees at night ! The towels are old and thin. The TV did not work . No room for any luggage . We have stayed at two Best Western on this trip NEVER AGAIN ! All the other motels are far superior in every way . I think that Best Western trade on their name and have lazy owners who do not reinvest for the comfort of customers

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were passing through Tenterfield NSW on our return trip from the Gold Coast, & wanted to explore/experience some of Tenterfield's history, which is very interesting. Our stay at the Best Western Henry Parkes Tenterfield was very comfortable, the meals excellent, and the management & staff very courteous & accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Returnng home from a week in Queensland, we decided to break the journey at Tenterfield, and booked here. Just as well we did - it was full when we arrived, the day before the Queen's Birthday holiday, so staff in the kitchen and the dining room were in short supply. The manager ran the dining room; his wife ran the kitchen; their relatives looked after their children, and we waited for rather over an hour for our meals to be presented. Full marks to the manager: he kept us informed about how the meal queue was progressing, apologetic, explaining the reason, and doing so pleasantly to us and other would-be diners. Some might explode with fury at the delay; when it's explained clearly and politely, fury is counter-productive. We sympathised. When the meals arrived, they were delicious - a prawn and salmon risotto and an Atlantic salmon steak were cooked just right, and there was plenty on the plate.
Accommodation was of the expected standard, clean and comfortable, and the manager and his wife were courteous and positive at all stages. Thank you both.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the main road, that passes by immediately outside the property, to reduce t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

You will not go wrong here for an overnight stay. Rooms are clean and spacious and they have a restaurant operating 7 nights per week with your average Motel style food. Fair price good quality i imagine quite consistent. If you are passing through you will be safe, well fed and have a clean room.

Room Tip: Get a back room it should be quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The room we were given was small and needed a face-lift.
Couldn't open the fridge fully because a cupboard was in the way.
The dining room had no signage and we were ignored by the staff.
Ended up staying 3 days at another motel that was better equipped and $40 per day cheaper.
Best thing was the pillows.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was 6.30 pm, the last night of our road trip to Victoria and back to Qld. 'No vacancy' said every motel sign in Tenterfield but the Henry Parkes's. Price drives many people's choices it seems.

Being female friends we were found a twin bedroom (queen and single) with undercover parking. I found the room to be clean, the beds very comfy, the garden outside welcoming, as was the manager and ex-policeman Ben. Restaurant prices were comparable with Gold Coast dining. We enjoyed our meal and as we left early next morning I wished that we had one more day to explore the fine old town of Tenterfield and it's surroundings.

Next time. And that next visit will definitely be spent at the Henry Parkes. Price is not everything. People, places, environs and ambience count for more in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manderley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenterfield hotels
0.3 mi away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jumbuck Motor Inn
Jumbuck Motor Inn
#1 of 8 in Tenterfield
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peter Allen Motor Inn
Peter Allen Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Tenterfield
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tenterfield Tavern
Tenterfield Tavern
#7 of 8 in Tenterfield
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motor Inn
Settlers Motor Inn
#4 of 8 in Tenterfield
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tally Ho Motor Inn
Tally Ho Motor Inn
#8 of 8 in Tenterfield
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield

Address: 144 Rouse St, Tenterfield, New South Wales 2372, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tenterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tenterfield
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western The Henry Parkes. Stay at this charming Tenterfield motel which sits astride the Great Dividing Range and is close to national parks, vineyards, lakes, waterfalls, picturesque scenery including famous Bald Rock and one of the most picturesque golf courses in the state. Discover the beautiful heritage of this Australian town and enjoy local activities. Best Western The Henry Parkes offers air conditioned spacious rooms equipped with all the comforts of home including reverse cycle air conditioning, TV, mini bar, high speed Internet access, in-room movies and minibar. Deluxe rooms include spa bath, kitchenette and laundry facilities. All rooms are Non-smoking. Handicap accessible room is also available. Hotel facilities include large lounge bar, on-site restaurant "Henry's on Rouse", warm weather alfresco dining under the stars and a conference room for meetings and events. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tenterfield, make a reservation at this Tenterfield motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Tenterfield
Tenterfield Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing