We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”
Review of Stannum House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stannum House
Ranked #2 of 7 Tenterfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunrise Beach
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from staying at Stannum House 7 - 9 August 2014. What a unique experience this was.....we were treated like royalty by the owner Paul who could not do enough for us. Paul has a fantastic personality and very informative without being intrusive. We stayed in the Julius Caesar room and the Napoleon Room as there was three of us and the old world charm not to mention the antiques were brilliant. Built in 1888 it has withstood ageing and is the perfect place to stay when visiting Tenterfield. We are world travelers and this certainly rates highly in our book.Totally enjoyable stay Paul and thank you once again for your kind hospitality.The hotel has a superb Thai Restaurant attached to the premises.

Room Tip: The Julius Caesar room is the largest room with it's own ensuite......one king and one queen siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORCO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    33
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed a night at Stannum House. Rob was our host. He was most courteous. The history of this house is amazing and the owners have done a good job putting the history on display. Rob was full of information relating to the house and to Tenterfield.. Rob provided a most excellent cooked breakfast, Well worth the stay - would stay again when passing through Tenterfield.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by Paul, and shown to our room. Beds were comfy. Electric blankets were fitted on all beds (family of 4), plus heaters in room. The only negative is its a lot of money for 1 night and we were told the night before our breakfast would include sausages eggs etc however all we got was a small piece of quiche, fatty string of bacon and slice of tomato. A little disappointed because of reading reviews the breaky was something we were all looking forward too. Highly recommend Tenterfield Woodfire Pizza, still delish after 2 years!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stannum House is an impressive old house with a lot of history. The owner Paul was very friendly and helpful - he let me do a load of washing and let me leave my bags while I went bush walking the next day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great stay - we would recommend this place highly. Hosts are very warm and welcoming, each room very interesting. We made this a stopover on our way to central NSW to visit family and pick up a new puppy. The hosts welcomed our 2 year old dog on the way down and also our 8 week old puppy on the way back up to Queensland. Breakfast was filling and so much variety! Other guests were very friendly too.

Room Tip: Stayed in Josephine room - advertised as the cheapest room, but couldn't fault it. Only a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJay8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This historic house in Tenterfield is worth a stay in itself. But the hosts are an added bonus! We stayed in the middle of winter and the hospitality and the atmosphere had a warmth that surpassed the cold. The food was excellent, freshly cooked from local produce. It's pet friendly and we had a 9 week-old pup who was welcomed just as warmly!

Room Tip: Every room is a trip back in time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annamalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenterfield hotels
0.5 mi away
The Commercial Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Peter Allen Motor Inn
Peter Allen Motor Inn
#2 of 8 in Tenterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motor Inn
Settlers Motor Inn
#5 of 8 in Tenterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tenterfield Motor Inn
Tenterfield Motor Inn
#4 of 7 in Tenterfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tally Ho Motor Inn
Tally Ho Motor Inn
#8 of 8 in Tenterfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stannum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stannum House

Property: Stannum House
Address: 114 Rouse St, Tenterfield, New South Wales 2372, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Tenterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stannum House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stannum House is a fully restored Victorian Italianate villa (circa 1888) offering four grand bed-rooms for B&B accommodation. There is a guests' kitchen and a separate guests' TV room, and a cafe which is open five days a week.... Wednesday to Sunday. Three display rooms packed with antiques are on display to the public on the same days as the cafe. Tours are at 10.00 & 2.00.After a hearty breakfast, all B&B guests are given a full tour of the house. In-house meals are available by arrangement. The house is also available for functions and for tour groups. Enjoy the opulence of another era at magnificent Stannum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stannum House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing