We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging, thought provoking, educational, the best.”

Harry Nanya Day Tours
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Wentworth
Attraction details
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We picked this tour not only because it was aboriginal operated, but also because of the history of the area. We enjoy this type of tour, as it challenges your thought process, and your own world views. Graham certainly presents a different take on many things, but isn't that the idea? It is a different view from our own, but I am open to listening and THINKING about what is presented. On this front, Graham does an outstanding job. He not only presents the aboriginal view, but also mainline history of the area. You leave free to accept what you wish. The landscape and views are outstanding. We left with a much greater appreciation of the area, and respect for native views on creation, climate, and the world we all inhabit. Certainly, and understandably, Graham is justified in being proud of his heritage, and this comes across. Mungo is just a great different slice of Australia, and this tour is the way to experience it. A beautiful area, justified in its World Heritage Site status.
My wife insists, this was the best experience in our 18 day trip to Australia and New Zealand.

1  Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Manager at Harry Nanya Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your day out with Graham and he has been able to share with you his passion for his land and the knowledge he has gained from the past into the present of today's world. It makes us proud to hear it was the best of your trip and your kind words keep us strong.
It has been a pleasure to meet you and we thank you for coming so far and choosing us to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Harry Nanya Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Mungo lake is a heritage site offering stunning views, and an insight into aboriginal life years ago. Graham the tour owner gave a comprehensive tour including full explanations of vegetation, mungo man and woman, fossils, and many aboriginal drawings in the sand. Very interesting and well done indeed.

1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Manager at Harry Nanya Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We thank you very much for your review. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day with us. The views are definitely stunning here and we are proud that you gave us the opportunity to show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I chose this trip over others to support an Aboriginal business. I also thought I would gain more genuine insights into the story of Mungo Lake from one of the original custodians of the land. Unfortunately Graham Clarke's approach is to deliver lengthy monologues to his captive audience. The first half-hour one was about a memorial to a fellow Aboriginal guide - so at least it imparted his special knowledge on Aboriginal customs. The second 30-minute lecture at the viewpoint lost me completely - a hotch-potch of pseudo-scientific new age nonsense with rants against various people thrown in. For the third lecture we stood under a tree while Graham drew pictures in the sand and rambled on with a garbled nonsensical lecture on time cycles and climate change. After standing listening for 25 minutes I politely asked if we could move on and see more of the beautiful sights around us. He reacted angrily and said he would be round to see me that night. I asked incredulously if he was threatening to come round and beat me up and he said he was and he'd be bringing his brothers round with him. This was in front of 7 witnesses. I said I would report the matter to the police and for the rest of the trip avoided him as far as possible. I received no apology. I left written reports of this incident with the ranger on duty, Mildura police and the tourist office where I booked the trip.

10  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham C, Manager at Harry Nanya Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hello Rob, Thank you for your time to review our tour. Our company has been a 20 year long standing company which caters for customers locally, nationally & internationally. As we do have people that travel a long way to visit us we try our best to provide in a short amount of time as much indigenous insight and knowledgeable information on how the indigenous people once lived and how climate change has structured the land. Graham as a traditional owner receives a lot of positive feedback on the knowledge he shares with people and yet we also understand that this extra information sharing is not for everyone as it appears to be the situation here.
As we have a long standing relationship with the tourism industry domestic and international we are sorry to hear that we have not met with customer expectations so we do welcome direct communications so that we may strive to improve ourselves.
Our company takes our honest feedback seriously we do have a company resolution process for customers and welcome you to contact our office management direct on manager@harrynanyatours.com.au should you wish to advise us directly of the situation or if you feel a third party could assist you we would be happy to work directly with another channel you may choose.
Yours truly
Management of Harry Nanya Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We certainly got more than expected on this tour. As we wanted to know more about the aboriginal people our guide was certainly open to our questions this gave us a better understanding of the people. His tour was complex and full of everything that had happened in the park. We came away with a good understanding of Mungo and a refreshed approach of aboriginal people. The scenery was spectacular well worth the visit.

1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was one of the best aboriginal tours I have ever taken. Graham was friendly & open he has an outstanding view of the history of how his people had once lived. His future visions for how the land is today is very understandable. Thanks Graham for opening our minds beyond the ordinary we have not stopped talking about it. Tables were set for us like an outback restaurant and a buffet picnic served to us with a variety of meats, salads and bush tucker, you can eat in a restaurant anytime but this was so much more than we expected and no-one does for themselves anymore.
We were a group of 6 that will all be joining you on one of your two day tours in the near future.
Thanks for everything Graham

1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry Nanya Day Tours also viewed

Balranald, New South Wales
Wentworth, New South Wales
 
Wentworth, New South Wales
 

Been to Harry Nanya Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing