We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scones and cakes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conservation Hut

Conservation Hut
Price range: US$6 - US$21
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great scones and cakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice views but they were very busy and appeared understaffed for school holidays crowds - tables not cleared, slow service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    112
    64
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacularly awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

At one point during Sunday lunch, I became convinced that I must have committed some great injustice to our server at some point in time before having had the audacity to come into her restaurant and sit in her section. In hindsight, the rudeness and contempt I was met with at the door would turn out to be the high point of the visit. The low point, was having to walk out an hour and a half later having watched my wife and daughter eat their sandwiches while my repeated attempts to please bring out my order went completely ignored. For the record, I had to ask three times and the closest I ever got to an apology or an updated wait-time was a "the kitchen cooked the wrong sandwich." I guess the best thing I could say about the Conservation Hut was that they didn't try to charge me for the sandwich I never received.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Service but Good Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good Afternoon, how are you? A greeting which is non-existent at this cafe! We visited this cafe for the 4th time last week. The staff were rude and were obviously having a bad day. We waited at the counter for 5 mins to be seated while 3 staff members walked past us and ignored us. It took them 15mins before they took our order (they were not even busy). When were received the coffee it was cold and asked for it to be remade. The only positive is the location, its an amazing view. Sorry, but will not be going back. The rudeness was terrible! We also heard the tables next to us commenting on the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WABBY80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dreadful service staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Clearly the staff were having a bad day, but their rudeness had us walking out. Luckily, we found the local patisserie.

Helpful?
3 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A real treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have thoroughly enjoyed two visits to the Conservation Hut this vacation and hope we can squeeze in at least another. The meals are delicious and the staff are efficient. The view fabulous. A meal, whether it is breakfast, lunch, morning or afternoon tea, is a real treat. I recommend you make a reservation as it is popular. In winter, request a table by the open fire or a table outside on the deck if the weather is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conservation Hut also viewed

Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Conservation Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing