We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Nineteen23

Nineteen23
Reserve with
Nineteen23 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$49
Cuisines: Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Those visiting Nineteen23 can expect a regularly changing, seasonally-driven array of dishes (including vegetarian and gluten free options) that showcase produce from across the Blue Mountains and NSW Central Tablelands.Chef Max McKinnon has been Soux Chef for the past three years, and is formerly of Tetsuya's, Darleys ans solitary. Degustation menus also available. Nineteen23's marble topped tables, grand fire place and art deco chandeliers bring diners into the period ambience. Once there, they can enjoy the view to the Blue Mountains World Heritage Park and the Sydney CBD through huge picture windows and framed glass doors. Open for dinner Thursday through Sunday and for lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Private rooms available for group bookings.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had dinner at Nineteen23. There was a degustation menu available but we went with the three course menu. There were plenty of choices for each course and the food was beautiful. One of the best meals we've had for awhile plus it was byo as well as licenced. A most enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WaynoJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    43
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

From the moment we walked in the door we were treated to stellar service from all staff at Nineteen23. We dined for lunch and decided on the a la carte menu.The food was exceptional and the wine selection suggested was a perfect match with our food. For our special occasion the Manager had kindly set a table for two on the deck with breathtaking views and sunshine to match. Don't hesitate to dine at this gem of a restaurant - we'll most certainly be back. A wonderful and memorable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I dined here for his 30th Birthday and I wasn't disappointed.
The service was perfect, attentive and friendly, the food was modern, fresh and very flavoursome.

The atmosphere was cosy, comfortable and intimate. I would recommend it for special occasions.
The manager was most helpful, organising for a candle to be placed in my husbands dessert, we were lucky as a group next to us started singing Happy Birthday as it came out, which was nice.

Ideal little restaurant in Wentworth, you would be crazy not to try it when visiting the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knomestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfectio!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We got the alternating set menu for the group of us going out to dine one night during our Blue Mountains long weekend trip - does not disappoint!

Excellent fine dining, working together simple flavours with amazing textures for a great night of food experiences.

Well worth the visit and experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceciburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above themselves!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our family had been looking forward to this degustation for ages.
A lot of money was paid.
The food was delicious!
We expected a nice slow night, 40 minutes between mouthfuls might be ok if the maître d wouldn't mind actually doing something other than the standard degustation and wine.
Requests for an extra wine or bread were rebuffed... Can we believe there was no extra bread!!??
The younger wait staff tried to be accommodating ... But the maître d had already spoiled the service. He just wasn't interested in doing anything other than delivering the courses and wine. A smile was definitely out of the question.
All in all, an expensive disappointment! Good food, terrible service! Lacks finesse.
Wouldn't survive in Sydney, or with any competition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nineteen23 also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Medlow Bath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Nineteen23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing