We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good food”

The Grand View Hotel Bistro
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What better than an old pub, a cold winter's night and hot old fashioned value. The Bistro at this rather run down hotel is brilliant. The bistro is clean and in very good condition. An open fire which does warm but not overheat the dining area. Quite old fashioned but that is the style of the place. Servings are huge, service is fantastic, friendly and fast. Food was delicious. I had good old steak, salad and chips, cooked perfectly. Hubby had Irish stew and coddle. Fantastic. I would totally recommend everyone to try this place out. Either as a drop in meal for lunch or dinner of as a choice of dining if staying in Wentworth Falls. The only bad thing was the very run down toilets. Disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    52
    25
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Grand View Hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice homey little pub with hearty meals and reasonably priced accommodation with continental breakfast. Plenty of on site parking except every second Sunday when the markets are on.

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravla7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic service!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed upstairs in the spa suite, which was clean and comfortable. We booked for a table in the restaurant, lucky we did because it was busy. The owner, Ben served us and made sure that we were topped up with drinks; our meal turned up quickly. The Veal schnitzel was huge and beautifully cooked, my wife's steak was of an equal standard. Good prices, friendly atmosphere, might be a yearly trek for us!!

Helpful?
Thank AnthAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
403 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Muesday - 2 for 1!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The pub was a little walk across the highway and a welcome surprise. On Mondays and Tuesdays at the Bistro it is Muesday - and you get two meals for the price of one! the menu is not extensive but good for a pub - avoid the steak though chewy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Dinner with the family, a Saturday night. Was quite busy, so recommend booking on busy nights (Fri, Sat, Mon and Tue). Friendly, pleasant staff were accomodating to our requests. Lovely wood fire added to the classic ambience. Food notch above what was expected. Bruchetta lovely and crispy, very tasty balsamic. Lamb shanks a big meal at a good price. The special barramundi with herb salsa very tasty and cooked to perfection, still nice and moist. Side of buttered vegetables was fairly standard, but nicely cooked and dressed. Kids fish and chips had a nice salad. There was no problem in sharing a pannacotta with four spoons. Drinks ordered separately from the bar, but added to the dinner bill, means a good selection at reasonable price. Will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussiePeterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grand View Hotel Bistro also viewed

Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Grand View Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing