We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a last minute deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideaway Retreat
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Friendly welcome. The room was sparse but quite comfortable. I didn't care too much for the lime green walls. Mostly clean apart from the grout in the shower and the colony of little insects living there. The basin leaked at the bottom, but both basin and toilet were nice and clean. A peaceful night's sleep but the fridge (which is ancient) was quite noisy. The breakfast (included in the cost of the room) was of decent quality. We had the cooked breakfast on one of the days. This was quite nice, although I'm not too sure about the mushroom bread. Our 5 year old son loved the games room, which has a pool table in it, and an assortment of board games, mostly in poor condition with missing pieces. Ok value for money, but I think that next time we'll plan ahead and book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieWonderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the retreat after booking online and finding what we thought would be a good value stay in a 4 star property. The property is self rated on wotif.com and has a number of photos that paint the retreat in a very complimentary light. Unfortunately the 4 stars and pics didn't measure up to the reality and for the price tag of $200 per night we were quite disappointed. Although the people running the show are friendly and nice enough, they appear to lack the expertise in hospitality to understand the need to pay attention to the finer details and consequently the overall feel is that of being a bit rundown, tired and in need of a little TLC. The room was basically clean apart from mould in the shower recess but nonetheless was ok. The building structure is more like that of a house and so noise travels from room to room and the floors creak and groan under foot, which must have been annoying for those on the ground floor.
With more of a hostel feel than that of a guest house or hotel, this property is better to suited to those looking for a chat in front of the fireplace with an interesting or eccentric stranger, than a couple on a romantic semi-luxurious weekend getaway.
3 stars at best but could be so much more with the right approach to the little details that matter to some of us.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the end keeps you away from most of the noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffro907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I spent three days here for a business training workshop, and it's a great place to "get away from it all". It's on the other side of the railway line from the main road, and although it's only a few minutes from Wentworth Falls, once there you wouldn't know there was anyone else for miles around. The view, especially the sunrise, is spectacular (when it's not foggy or raining).

Great facilities for a small business group, with a conference room, a nice bar/dining room, a pool and BBQ area, and a games room. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anw190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Such nice people run this place it is worth going just to meet them. The weather in the mountains is not always great but there is a fair bit to do if you go out looking for it. The included breakfast is very nice indeed so neither of opted for the cooked option.

Room Tip: Overlook the pool and you get a good view of the trees and mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My partner and I booked this as a secret stay on wotif.com for 2 nights.

The location was nice, and when the fog wasn't blocking the view- looking out the window on the first floor is gorgeous.

We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff-the staff were helpful for the entire stay. The pool looked fantastic- unfortunately there was an average of 12 degree days on our stay- in the middle of summer, so we did not use the pool. The room was simple and clean, with toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities provided.

Unfortunately the double mattress was extremely hard and uncomfortable - I am only an average height person and my feet hung over the end of the bed. Another negative was the fact that there is no individual temperature controls for the rooms- and we were very cold- even after adding 2 blankets to the bed.

The continental breakfast that is included in the price was nice and as expected, cereals, toast, fruit, tea and coffee and juice. We did not have the hot breakfast which is cooked to order for an extra $15 each, but it looked great.

There was an open fire in the foyer which was a beautiful touch, and a great looking games room.

Overall it was a nice stay, with extremely nice and friendly staff, however the hard mattress and cold temperature in the room would put me off staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

What a let down....................this property has great potential, however it is lacking the regular up keep that it needs. We staying in the deluxe room upstairs on a very hot night with no AC. Which would have been fine if there were fly screens on the windows ( not to much to ask). we didn't take a dip in the pool because it was filthy. This could be an awesome stay if they just lifted their game. A very disappointing stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelshell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Being a small family owned business, welcoming people into our home is very special to us. In the case someones stay is less than perfect it is always a great disappointment. To help future travellers a few notes on this review.

All of our rooms are essentially the same. We do not advertise any of them as deluxe etc. They are all simple, lightly furnished, lightly decorated guesthouse rooms. Even though we are a small guesthouse, every room is ensuited with shower so no sharing is required, every room has a 22 inch LED television with all digital free to air channels and free latest released movie channels (usually $15 per movie) free WiFi and a range of other usual amenities, toiletries etc that one expects and needs when traveling.

Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning as a personal belief that it goes strongly against our Environmental values. The Blue Mountains are generally mild in weather and very rarely have hot days (only a few a year generally) so we see it as not only an environmental waste but also hypocritical of ourselves to work so hard to be a more eco friendly property and then install wasteful air conditioning. It is an unfortunate situation that we find ourselves in this year when an unbelievable heat wave hits the entire country being the hottest days on record not only for The Blue Mountains but for everyone in Australia. The Hideaway Retreat is very well heated due to the continuous cold weather the Blue Mountains usually endure but it is just not in our beliefs to be installing air conditioning any time soon.

As for our swimming pool we keep it cleaned and maintained all year around. We have a regular outside contractor come and clean, test and regulate the pool, our own staff test and maintain the pool daily and the local council makes regular visits as well. The pool is also on an automatic computer controlled system to keep it clean an fresh 24 hours a day. At this time of year, being on 32 acres of native Australian bush land means that the gum trees are blossoming and there can be a light layer of yellow blossoms and flowers (along with the occasional leaves) falling into the pool but the automated system which runs twice daily (and our staff who also maintain the area) tend to keep this situation to a minimum.

The pool has never been filthy. Ever. It has been used daily by guests (especially during the last few warmer months) and this time of year it is a much appreciated feature of The Hideaway Retreat.

It is a great shame when a guest does not enjoy their stay at The Hideaway Retreat but with most of our friendly staff living on site with their families there is always someone there to help with information or lend a hand if you ever need anything. Please feel free when at The Hideaway to get in touch with anything you might need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here on New Years Eve.

Our room was very nicely decorated, and the bathroom was very clean. The supply of toiletries was very good, especially since I forgot my tooth brush. Drinks, though not available in the mini bar were readily available before 9.30pm and reasonably priced - $6.00 for a Coopers.

The staff were friendly, and their presence was not overwhelming, leaving us to feel free to explore the grounds. The games room which is equipped with a pool table, loads of books, and loads of board games.

The swimming pool was very clean and it was lovely to have a few drinks in the evening next to the pool.

I highly recommend this place for a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Ground floor is quite nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plasticleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
172 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing