We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hideaway Retreat
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Time Out”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here on a three day retreat. The atmosphere is warm and friendly this is a family run hotel/chalet. The rooms were clean and yes a bit dated especially the bathroom, bed comfortable but could go a few new pillows; however the view is lovely. Meals were simple and filling the same for the breakfasts. Just about all food is grown on the property. I found peace in the garden just listening to the black cockatoos flying over and sounds of the bush: there are bush walks or swim in the pool, short walking distance to the village. The morning mist is lovely over the valley. There are plenty of rooms for conferences etc. I have given it a average rating as there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
26
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We only stayed one night, wish we could have stayed longer!! The area is very peaceful and the views were outstanding. The room was simple, bed slightly small but it had everything we needed. We loved the little gestures offered like the 'help yourself' port to be enjoyed by the fireplace. The breakfast was great with lot's of choice and the homemade bread was delicious. It was a real hideaway and made our special weekend memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here this weekend (23/02). We booked this place as an alternative to a cheap motel in Leura or Katoomba because it had such great reviews. The only good thing about this place was the view everything else was tired and outdated.

The room was an ok size however the tv and bed were both tiny. The second bed in the room looked like it belonged on the side of the road for council pickup. The room had no foxtel and the tv was too small to watch from the bed.

The milk provided was off and curdled nearly making my partner sick. Further, the massage oil and lotion in the bathroom had been used and were only half full.

While breakfast was included in the price we were informed when we arrived it was only a cold breakfast which consisted of some stale cerals.

The property is in a remote location which was nice however there was nothing to do on the property other than play pool. There was no food available and there weren't many places that delivered which meant you really had to spend a lot of time away from the hotel.

For the price we paid we were expecting a lot more and we really would have been better off staying at one of teh cheaper motels with a central location.

very disappointing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, General Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
For those taking the time to read our response to this one, thank you and please bare with us. This grew to more than intended as it was more upsetting than we realized as we addressed it.

First and absolutely foremost, please do not belittle the reviews and comments made by our many happy, and regular guests. We can understand if someone has a disappointing stay and is unhappy, but that gives them no right to attack others opinions in any way.

We also feel it does not give anyone the right to attack, or exaggerate, or “filter” information to make their point and do as much damage as possible, to what end we can not understand. And the ability to openly denigrate our home, to damage our business, for what purpose? To obtain ones moneys worth?

No mention at all of any issues during this stay. Nothing said at all on check in. Stayed all night, breakfast in the morning. Even stopped to chat on checkout, when payment was required for the stay, on departure, happily paid, and again nothing said. No complaint, no issues, not a mention of anything wrong. No need to, because a post like this is to be made later on a few websites? That will fix the situation? Make it worth the money?

We believe our rates are really great value, include almost everything free (movie channels, Wifi, Continental Breakfast etc) and with most properties in the area not allowing one night stays we instead opted to allow it but then give 20% or more off the 2 night stay rate. Booking one night on the Saturday night, is going to cost a little more.

We care deeply about our guests. Many of our thousands of happy and regular guests, are all booking us as we are a small family owned and run guest-house property. This is our home and we take great pride in it. Constantly upgrading it, shaping it, working on it. If there is any issue at all, we would bend over backwards, do anything in our power to help them enjoy their stay and if that was not possible, smile happily while carrying their bags to the car for them to remove that negative energy from our home and get on with helping all our other happy guests to enjoy their stay. To say nothing, and just denigrate like this later gets you just that. Nothing. And then no-one is happy. A guest feeling left out and us heartbroken with the attack on our home.

If a guest is just after some cheap roadside motel, with a dodgy restaurant and a pub or gas station across the road, we are just not the place for you.

So to actually clarify again on the points made here, we are going to bring some truth to this situation.

The room this guest stayed in was one of our biggest, with a fantastic view right down the valley. It has been recently freshly renovated, plastered and painted. Has brand new carpet as well.

The televisions in all our rooms we, prior to many other properties in the mountains installed 22 inch LED televisions in line with our environmental beliefs. At that time we were ahead of the curve, and we believed that the size of the televisions were perfect for our rooms which even with the larger rooms are still only small guest-house rooms. We also don't provide foxtel, as noted. Its also not advertised, anywhere. Because we don't have it. What we do provide though (omitted by this guest here) are 3 movie channels, provided directly by the movie companies. We took this path instead as we found that foxtel was expensive and not a great product. Just a bunch of old movies that no-one wants to watch. We thought this a more premium experience for our guests and we provide it free. The same exact program is charging $15 per movie in some other properties but we include it free.

As for the beds, every room has a wood frame double bed. We have discussed many times changing to larger however we have just prioritized our time and money into improving other things, also the beds frames were made with much of the other artworks and furniture and has some small touches and insignia so we are reluctant to remove them for that reason either. We may still do so over time moving forward as is our plan however until then we very, very clearly advertise that the rooms have double beds. And the booking site used here by this guest required them to actively select a double bed as their option. They chose as such and to complain about it later is unbelievable.

If there was a problem with the milk for that I can only apologies, occasionally things go wrong and we would happily changed it over or provided you fresh milk had we known. A quick phone call to our friendly staff, 24 hours a day would have been all it took.

For the massage oil I guarantee you 100% it would not have been “used” but being oil we have found it occasionally leaks and the staff may have missed that. This is one reason we recently started making all our own soaps and hope to move on to a wide range of premium, fantastic, eco, chemical free products to provide for our guests in the very near future. We have info and pictures of the process so far up on our social media pages, along with a bunch more info an pictures of our home.

The breakfast comments here we actually are pretty offended about. The guest had an option, again when booking online, of booking with a hot breakfast or a continental. Here omitting they chose the latter. It is a fantastic option with 4 cereals, (definitely not stale, we have a cereal dispenser that rotates stock to assure so and are so busy that it is emptied and refilled sometimes several times a day), fresh cut and whole fruit (some of which is picked fresh from our own organic gardens), 3 breads, grain white and fruit, all made here daily by hand, all sourdough, with no preservatives, salt, sugar, chemicals or added yeast. There is also a wide range of teas, filtered and instant coffee, juice, milk, yogurt and more. The completely false statement about our breakfast options to garner some form of validity is just a joke. We have regular requests for our bread, and occasionally even run impromptu classes to teach people how to make it, give them some sourdough culture to take home and help them with support after to have this great, healthy option for themselves at home. Again on our social media pages you can see our bread and others people have made at home after learning to make it here.

Again this breakfast option is included free in all our standard room rates.

For those that want to book for it. There is the option to add on a hot breakfast, fresh cooked to order, again with some of that produce coming from our organic gardens (and our eggs coming from very happy Hideaway free range hens.)

Our location and view are fantastic. Thanks for noticing here. As for things to do? We do have the games room, with pool table, games etc and the swimming pool, and bush-walking right on the property. Not to mention all the local attractions, galleries, stores, lookouts, waterfalls, bush-walks, the lake, etc etc etc. Or for the really adventurous our preference is to sit out by the view (or in by the fire) with a glass of wine and try something we have been attempting to encourage with others called “interaction”. We are a guest-house property and actively encourage people to get to know one another, and us. Explore our gardens, even help dig a little if you want. Help us feed the chickens. Or see us attempting earth-bag building. Experience our life. That is a major reason for booking a guest-house in the first place.

As just a small guest-house we do not currently run a general trade restaurant and do not advertise as such either. As our organic gardens grow we continue to look to the future and possibly starting one but in the mean time no we do not have a restaurant.

But its worth noting once again. Our main gate is 900 metres walk (or a little longer if having to drive) to the village of Wentworth Falls. There is a range of fantastic restaurants and cafes there and a taxi would even only cost around $8 for the trip if you wanted to have a drink.

For delivery options in the area there is Italian, Indian, Thai, Chinese, 4 different pizza places, including our favorite a wood fired option. There are also a range of takeaway options. Lastly you can always have your own BBQ here, where we will provide you with any utensils you need and our public dining room has all the plates, cutlery, glassware etc you would need to have a great evening, then just leave the dishes, our staff will tidy for you. Again all of this info we would have been happy to help with, if a guest had ever raised any concerns or questions, which did not happen in this instance. Even on checkout when we asked how their stay was and bid them a fond farewell.

In closing, we are a guest-house / bush retreat. This is our home. We are not a hotel or resort and are not the property for you if that is what your after.

But if you want an actual experience, with people who genuinely care, in a healthy, Eco, natural environment, full of character, art, music and friendly surroundings then we are definitely the place to be.

We welcome guests into our home every single day of our lives, and hope that our many many happy, regular guests see the truth and value in our little peace of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spent a couple of nights at this property which has very nice views and friendly staff. It is self rated as 4 stars but I think this is probably being a bit generous. The place is looking a bit run down with weeds growing through the pavemement and the interior probably in need of a bit of "sprucing up". The rooms are basic with the best views from the top floor.

Room Tip: Top floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJack53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel had outstanding views and in a very natural seating. I’ve traveled around the world and this hotel was one of the best. We arrived late in the evening. When we awoke and looked out the window and WoW!! I was simply astonished at the grandiose and breathtaking view. We could see the valley below us and the Blue Mountain range for as far as the eye could see. The accommodations were clean and well maintained. I loved their breakfast and especially the very tasty food and wide assortment of fresh fruit. The staff was very friendly. They offered excellent advice on local trails and even let me barrow some trail books and maps. The staff really went the extra mile to make sure we felt welcome and accommodated our needs.

Room Tip: I prefered a second floor room. It had a spectacular view. It was truly breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcampbell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The young couple running this B&B were thoroughly accommodating. The room was spacious, airy and clean. Also a good size de suite. The only downside was that there was no air-conditioning, but a ceiling fan. Would not want to be there on very hot nights. The cooked breakfast was delicious and there is a good sized billiard room in the games room. I would highly recommend this venue to my friends and would definitely stay again. Thank you very much! Gina, Melbourne.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, AUS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but it was exactly what we were after. Yes the rooms are a little dated but it adds to the overall feel of the place. We enjoyed the friendly, family atmosphere. The host Ronnie is always at hand to help with any questions. It's only a short 5-10 min walk to the village where there are a few nice places to eat and shop. A nice place if you're after a quiet getaway.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jetseta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
856 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Retreat
Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing