We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A relaxing getaway"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hideaway Retreat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A relaxing getaway"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would describe my stay at this resort as being of relaxing visit.The hotel staff were all freindly,they made me feel very comfortable.I was welcomed by calming relaxing music when I first entered which gave me a instant feeling of calmness.The hotel itself has great views of the mountains,offers pool access and a 2 hour walk track throughout the mountains..Nearby activities,resturant and shops were easily accessed if needed. The hotel theme is based on positiveness,which you will see positive quotes located throughtout the hotel, which I found to be enlighting.The contenital breakfast was fabulous as the chief uses whole foods instead of processed foods.The rooms were quite comfy,i personally enjoyed the old stlye building setting opposed to the more commercialise type of building.Would defenitley come back in future

Room Tip: Rooms on the the ground floor offer direct accsess to outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank max c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    59
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
26
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Prices in the Blue Mountains are grossly exaggerated. There doesn't seem to be any way around this. although my future plan is: don't go! I was really sorry that the huge amount of money I paid got me such a basic place. Yes, there is some fun quirky artwork, and the sourdough bread for breakfast was excellent. There was a nice gas fire and a welcoming bottle of wine. On the other hand, there was no information in the room about check-out time, breakfast hours, or attractions in the region. The room was totally basic, as was the bathroom, and to my shock and horror there wasn't even an electric blanket on the bed. If there was a phone in the room, we couldn't find it. So - value for money? I don't think so.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I'm just gobsmacked. A review giving us 5 stars for location and cleanliness and 4 for service but smacking us and the mountains in general for being expensive? Rest assured we know how expensive running a business like this is and do everything to provide great value to our guests (which most see clearly). Now after the years we have found running this business we know everything is subjective to the specific person but... come on....

I have been trying to call this guest to discuss the following points but have so far been unable to do so, so in the mean time.

1. I usually try to avoid specifics in pricing discussions in places like this but wanted to point out that although most other properties don't allow it, we allow one night and this guest obtained a rate of $206.80. (A huge amount of money???) At the time we still had one of our newly renovated Premium King Rooms available (priced at $350 for one night – so equivalent of 40% off) so we gave them a free upgrade. I would challenge anyone to find a better price, accommodation or better deal for what was paid anywhere in the mountains or even greater Sydney. Check out the photos of the new rooms online, check out the inclusions and everything else.

2. Aside from all the wonderful features of our home mentioned here and elsewhere the room specifically was far from basic. Brand new Eurotop King bed (when only a double bed was booked originally) 32 inch LED television, Xbox 360 gaming console and DVD player, an Ipad mounted to the wall for personal use, home made soap, latest release movie channels, free wifi, newly carpeted, freshly painted, all woodwork only just completely stripped, resanded and resurfaced, ensuited with shower, and more. A completely brand new room...

3. Free bottle of wine too...

4. Our friendly staff, my wife in this instance, when checking in guests always run through the same information, including breakfast times, which this guest managed to attend and attest to how wonderful our home made sour dough bread is. We don't usually consider checkout times as something we try to force on people as its pretty clear when you book what they are, also written on all booking confirmations, paperwork, emails etc. We always felt it would be a little rude to tell people when they have to get out while they are just walking in.

5. As stated many time previously we intentionally don't keep some form of ratty old compendium in our rooms as we specifically want guests to feel comfortable talking to us and asking questions. There is a phone in every room and on checking yours unfortunately as you say its not there. Although our cleaners assure me it was when the room was cleaned as they place a small card by each phone explaining how to call us. This is another reason I have been trying to get in touch. Also remember our staff are very friendly and anything could have been mentioned on checkin, at breakfast, or on checkout, but nothing was, a popular trend since the invention of online anonymous reviews..

6. Although our rooms do not have a book these premium king rooms do have an ipad on the wall for guest use. The main screen we loaded with icon bookmarks to a wide range of attractions, restaurants, bush walks, etc. you name it its there. To complain about not having a book but not mention the Ipad seems a little deliberate in this instance...
I think its pretty clear exactly how much of a great deal this was, and I cant believe the review to be honest.

In closing I, myself, personally checked out this guest. At 11:30am, an hour and a half after checkout, which we also didn’t charge extra for, just let them be in case they went back to bed for a bit more sleep. I personally and quite specifically asked how their stay was. Lovely, at least in person, and offered to carry their bags to the car, politely declined.

Everything in life is subjective, but some things feel obvious, and the more frequent case of people saying nothing at all in person to go on the attack (of an entire region?) later feels a little like a worrying snapshot of society in general.

We are here to help, if you let us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I was very disappointed with this hotel. It is self rated as 4 star but I think that is being extremely generous. A 2-3 star more likely.

The building, pool, location and view are terrific but that's where the positives stop.

On entering, the foyer is cold and lacking character. There are candles burnt out and not replaced, no care has been taken to provide ambience for holiday makers.
The rooms are very dated. Coffee and tea without any milk provided, fridge is not even working. The bed is hard, uncomfortable and too short for someone who is 6 foot 3. It is the worst bed I have ever slept in . The lighting in the room has a prison feel to it and is nearly blue even hospital ward like.

We stayed in winter and the room felt cold with only a small air vent which is unrealistic for winter heating requirements.
The shower has no pressure at all so bring a bucket. My wife could not even wash her hair and the temperature goes hot and cold.

From the outside it has great potential but from the inside they need to spend some money and maybe visit some hotels to see what 4 star standard is, I'd suggest Perry street hotel in Mudgee. Otherwise reduce the stars to 3 at best.

Do not stay here if you're looking for luxury or 4 stars. Perhaps a school camp group more suited.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank drgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It was with baited breath we waited for this review to pop up over the internet. Please remember to secure one of our king rooms you only need to book one. We can not guarantee availability of one if the cheapest, discounted standard double rooms is booked to save money then a demand of free upgrade to a premium king room on checkin happens when our small busy property is completely booked out.

After staying in our home, chatting with our staff and families, eating breakfast with us in the morning to unceremoniously throw the key on reception desk and storm out left us wondering exactly where we went wrong, waiting for the inevitable exaggerated online attack to enact revenge.

What a double edged sword the internet has become.

Obviously an avid online user we hate to go over things probably already read here before joining us in our home and known by this and other guests, but to clarify once again and point out the things we openly advertise and have mentioned here previously, (and in this case would have been apparent but left out of this review to further emphasis a negative attack once again).

We are not a hotel, but a family owned and run, community styled, living guest house. We are not star rated and never advertise as such (as said many times here before). Some sites that require it allocate us their own individual rating, completely based on the facilities required as such for a guest house which again are different to a hotel, which we are not as this guest clearly knew when booking (along with the room and bedding type booked). But in honesty. We are completely different and openly so. A guest house in name and style but not really able to be categorized as anything directly in entirety. Our home is unique and special, with our many regular and happy guests, numbering in the thousands to attest for how much we care deeply for the people we welcome into our lives.

Our home, the foyer in particular is filled with up cycled art, open fire, design, secret messages, hidden doors, mosaic art tiles floors and more. An eclectic, unique piece of our own paradise. The “candles” mentioned are actually a specific art piece and just mentioning it, or anything else we would have gladly given a tour of all the wonderful hidden things about our home. To say no care has been taken is a massive false comment and to just open ones eyes would see all the wonderful things done around our home, even in particular one this specific night, in this specific area, it could clearly be seen that we were painting the final touches on our “Einstein Wing” finishing a major living, functional, walk through up-cycled artwork. A culmination of months of upgrading and work to improve the ambience of our home.

Being an eco property we have years ago changed almost all of the lighting over to warm LED lighting and our fridges are left off until a guest chooses to turn them on to save energy. All decisions made in line with our eco beliefs which we would have happily discussed, has the guest ever raised any concern, complaint or questions at all during their stay. The entire building is central gas heated and on this weekend it was so bitter cold with roads closed due to snow we had the guesthouse set to 24 degrees celcius and even then if an issue had been raise would have happily provided another oil heater for the room as well. But again, alas, nothing was ever mentioned to any of our friendly staff...

The only issue we knew of was on checkin when the guest let us know clearly they were over 6 feet tall and needed a king room upgrade. Which we may have happily done, had they been booked by the guest, but unfortunately our new premium king rooms were all booked out by other happy guests that paid for these premium rooms by choice prior to arrival. Obviously bedding is a subjective thing and even here it can be seen many people love them. But for someone to try to save money by booking the smallest bedding and room possible when over 6 feet was obviously not going to be the most comfortable sleep, which is why we provide a premium king option, in this case avoided to save money.

I guess its kind of hard to not let it get to you, even though 99% of guests into our home “get it” and specifically stay with us to have something unique and special, when the very small (but very vocal and in some cases vicious) minority can say nothing in person, offer no chance to help them be happy then anonymously attack our home and way of life later, just to do damage, with no care for the damage done or feelings hurt.

Its very hard to let it go. Its hard to move forward and continue doing what we genuinely love to do, opening our lives to the world. Its hard not to let it turn into something personal (as once home tends to be) or overly professional, or nasty.

But that's what we must do, so in moving forward. A little something for the people who do love our home as we do, and who understand how special it is. We have put this together in an effort to move forward from this kind of thing once more in our own light hearted way, in the hope we attract the kind of people who really are looking for a place like our own. Who understand what’s really important and find what’s missing in their lives here as much as we do.

Welcome all into our home
We're glad you've come to stay
It's where we live, laugh and learn
Every single day

Experience, explore and search
Your way around our lives
Up-cycled art, secret doors
Who knows what you might find

But take the time you need to see
As we share our home with you
And enjoy our small community
As you live the way we do

Feed the chooks, pat the dog,
Play with all the kids
Walk among organic gardens
Let the bush sink in

Pamper with our homemade soap
Smell our fresh made bread
Meditate in the virgin bush
Lay your weary head

Now in our rooms we keep no book
That tells you where to go
As we crave your input to our lives
And wanted you to know

To call upon us when you want
For info, help or friends
So we can make sure you enjoy
Our home as we intend

And before you journey back to home
Where the real world does reside
Maybe you'll take back when you go
A little of where we "Hide"

As home is special to all of us
And ours is special too
So explore, enjoy, please join our world
As we share our home with you

Travel safely and see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice Hotel with about 20 rooms. Looks like it may be close to highway and railway on the map but it is very quiet and backs directly onto the bush with great views over the valley. Staff were helpful and nothing was a problem. Very nice continental breakfast served with homemade bread. The room was clean and the bed was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumper151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel hidden from the town in Wentworth Falls. The views were amazing and it was a very peaceful location. The hotel itself had a really nice vibe and we both felt very comfortable staying there. The hospitality of the owners is lovely and very friendly. The room was quite simple, but very clean. Would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmyKate_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks so very much guys!

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
378 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Hideaway is not walking distance to town so plan on driving. It is in a beautiful setting with mountain views and bushy surrounds. The building looks ok from the outside and the foyer included a lovely lounge area with a fire and reading material. The rooms are a good size with a double bed and a single bed. the TV reception is nil but there are some movies to watch. The water saving shower is not a high point. The continental breakfast is decent too. Town is a few minutes drive away and there a number of restaurants and a pub to eat at. The staff were lovely and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks so much for leaving a review of our home. Perhaps next time you would like to give one of our newly renovated Monarch King rooms a go. We have been gradually upgrading all manner of things across our little piece of the world and these new rooms are fantastic (although our standard rooms as you noted are great too!

Just FYI for next time we upgraded our Television system completely years ago to get all the digital free to air channels and also 2 latest release movie channels. You just need to select your preference on the remote control for what your would prefer to watch and we have popped some easy instructions beside all the TV's to make this process easy for people.

Remember for next time if you ever have any difficulty with this or anything else our friendly staff are their to help 24 hours a day and are just a quick phone call from your room away.

Hope to have you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently held our wedding at the retreat and we must say, amazing. Damien, Ronnie and staff went above and beyond to help us out with our wedding preparations. The day of the wedding was amazing. Damien had ensured that everything was perfect for our big day. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and location outstanding. Thankyou so much again.

Room Tip: Relax, breath in the mountain air and appreciate what this earth is giving you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_Michelle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawayRetreat, Manager at The Hideaway Retreat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks so much for choosing our home for your special day guys and we are so very proud that everything went so perfectly!

Enjoy the rest of your lives together and please pop in regularly to keep in touch as you grow old together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
4.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
moments Mountain Retreat
moments Mountain Retreat
#1 of 8 in Wentworth Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway Retreat

Property: The Hideaway Retreat
Address: 50 - 54 Railway Pde, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned and run Eco guesthouse and bush retreat. Set on 32 acres of virgin bushland in the heart of the Blue Mountains with a friendly relaxed atmosphere and an ever evolving, eco driven, organically farmed community living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hideaway Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway Retreat Centre Hotel Wentworth Falls
The Hideaway Retreat Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing