We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cottage feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
moments Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at the cottage on "Murphy's" for 1 night, very cozy with own fire place and Spa/Jacuzzi area. Basically a 1 bedroom flat with spacious living room and separate kitchen and outdoor terrace. Very clean, quiet and and home-feeling. Not the easiest to find, you really need to have exact address for the destination of your cottage as they are (perhaps intentionally) kept looking as very local houses - which was good !

Short driving distance to Katoomba and Leura, walking distance to national pass, wentworht falls and trails. The view from the room/flat was green inner terrace area with a BBQ set too, altough this we didnt try.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HANVEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for moments Mountain Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

As an add-on to a trip to Sydney, we escaped here for some peace and quiet and great outdoors for three nights in early December.

We were in the Den Fenella Suite. The bathroom was the best part. The lights that doubled as heaters were a nice touch. In fact, it was quite cold overnight and in the mornings so the bathroom was the warmest zone. There were ample spare blankets on hand for the main room, I should add.

The view out our windows, beyond our balcony, to the escarpment was just beautiful and we never tired of looking at it as the light changed early evening into twilight. There was a strong wind blowing the whole time we were there so we found it more sheltered to sit on the table and chairs at lawn level in the afternoon sunshine (than on our balcony).

The grounds of the retreat are lovely and the birds certainly make their presence known.

When we weren't hanging out there, we were walking, either on the tracks that depart from the conservation hut one minute walk down the road, or on routes from Katoomba, about ten minutes drive away.

The continental breakfast supplied daily to our fridge was plentiful and good, the fruit toast in particular. There are numerous decent eateries nearby. Our favourites? Il Postino's Cafe and Deli in Wentworth Falls and Common Ground Cafe in Katoomba.

This is the perfect place to unwind and get back to nature.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurasays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed two nights. Our Victorian era room had a covered verandah with table and chairs and windows which opened fully to make the most of the wonderful views and pretty garden. The large bathroom had a spa bath as well as a shower. Continental breakfast was left each day in the small fridge in the kitchenette outside the bathroom - a rather odd set-up. It was all very quaint but for us two nights was just the right length of time. The area is stunning and excellent bush walking trails start from just down the road....so the location is brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Our room with open balcony - cushions and blankets offered as it was windy and cool - was delightful - the big spa bath in the room but separate toilet. The mattress was firm, a choice of soft and hard pillows, fresh fruit, sherry and port available in the lounge room as well as a good supply of CDS, books, videos and games. The view is great.

Ordinary breakfast supplies for continental breakfast, no staff on duty until 10 a.m. - food left in fridge. Special voucher for a hot breakfast at the Conservation Hut if required which is only a minute down the road. There is also free internet access in the lounge for guests.

Please note only Telstra mobiles work in this area - our vodafone was useless even in town or in Leura.

There was air-conditoning and an electric blanket and also a lovely open fire (not real, of course, but it looked great.). It was really chilly at night.

A great variety of bush walks are available from here with easy, medium and hard grades. bush wea

Room Tip: We had the corner suite so the sun did reach the balcony from mid-afternoon. Three of the suites ha...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackson2560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

On a spur of the moment trip we stumbled upon this little hidden gem. Warmly welcomed by our host, we were immediately made to feel at home.
We chose the Empress Room for its great views, pleasant decor & for the fact it had a spa bath/shower located in the centre of the room, a little unusual but really cool.
Our host was kind enough to ask what we were interested in & then recommended a number of things to do in the area based on our interests. We liked what we heard & decided to do all that was suggested, (these were, the national pass walk, tea at 1923 resturant, And a visit to a gourmet deli in town & one other I can't recall at the moment) they were all great & shows that the staff really know their town.
Each morning we had breaky provided, we had the continental option of cereal, bread, fruit etc. it was more than enough & a great way to start the day.
Other facilities provided for guests use were, guest lounge with Internet access, extra food provisions, port & sherry for late night drinks, a selection of dvd's & cd's for use in your room.
Our initial intention was to only stay 2 nights but we had such a great time we decided to stay a third. It was money well spent.
We would have no worries about recommending Moments to our family & friends who were looking for a great place to stay in one of the best locations in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zulooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Booked a last minute rate & stayed at the empress spa suite. Loved the charm & character of this place. Got in late & left early for a bush walk so didn't see the staff however the room was beautiful. Enjoyed some sherry & walnuts in the guest room. Had brekkie at the conservation hut booked prior - great value!! The location is perfect was bush walking. Read reviews about the balcony not being private which is true, but didn't bother us. We will most definitely come back, perfect location to getaway from Sydney enjoy the fresh air & amazing nature. Makes me appreciate our amazing country!! Thanks for the stay! Jaz & Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We rented the Murphy's cottage mid-week in winter (last week). This is a stand-alone, single cottage with a kitchen, lounge and bedroom. A small deck with bbq and garden outdoors... with a 20-foot tall bayleaf tree, rosemary bushes that were in bloom and .. the bees visiting the cherry blossoms(?).

It was very nice.

The cottage is situated in a quiet lane that is pitch black at night. Looking unspectacular from the outside, it was charming inside. We enjoyed learning how to set and stoke the fire in the fireplace... (don't use up all your kindle on the first night!). ... and also enjoyed the hotwater spa which sits to the corner of the bedroom.

The bedroom also looks out through wide windows onto the deck and into the picturesque garden. The heating in the bedroom is a bit inadequate, but electric bed pad is provided.

We also enjoyed cooking our own dinner of angus steak in the kitchen.

It is within easy reach (by car) to the various wentworth falls park locations ... and a reasonable driving distance to Leura falls, and the main town of Katoomba... we did our grocery (and other) shopping in these two locations. Impossible to get around if you do not have a car.

If there is any downside, that would be no wi-fi. That said, we spent most of our free time in the evenings maintaining the fire in the fireplace! Breakfast is not provided... but we bought delightful buttermilk scones from Coles in katoomba and toasted these in the oven each morning. Wonderful.

Another, is that would be that in mid-winter... it would probably snow in Blackheath, but does not further down at Wentworth. In any case, given the weather we had last week... it was nice and dry with no chance of snow anyway.

The check-out time was also a very reasonable 1130am, unlike a lot of places in Australia which can be as early as 10am.

I was there mid-week and thought the prices were reasonable (esp in comparison with Sydney!). I've seen the weekend rates and am not sure I'd pay that though... so try to go off-peak.

All in a great experience, esp if you come from the tropics as I do.

Room Tip: Go mid-week is best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
945 reviews
7.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
2.8 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to moments Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about moments Mountain Retreat

Address: 86 Fletcher St, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range: £120 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — moments Mountain Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At moments Mountain Retreat, you will find it all in one magical place - breathtaking views from your room, double spas, fires, friendly service and world-renowned bushwalks from your doorstep, right at the entrance to the Blue Mountains National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your moments Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moments Mountain Retreat Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing