We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
moments Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Been to the Blue Mountains many years in June, This year twice at the Moments Mountain Retreat June and September. The view from the veranda simply magical, the service from the manager Tamara was spot on. Rooms are well appointed and clean, oh the spa was great after 3 to 4 hours walk which is walking distance from your doorstep. Breakfast was good. Short driving distance to Laeura and Katoomba. Can't wait for June 2014 again, this time we are staying at EMPRESS SUITE.

Room Tip: Vera and Empress are our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello :-) Thank you for taking the time to post a review! It was an absolute pleasure to host you both times this year, and we cannot wait to see you again in June 2014! Have a great end of year and take care for now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a couple of nights mid-week on a voucher so excellent value. Regardless, we loved the place and would return at full price.

It is inside the National Park area and just a short walk to the Conservation Hut, which is the base for many walks. The Hut is also a lovely location for lunch with fantastic views both outside on the deck or inside in cold weather (with log fire). Its not cheap but a great experience. A good quality breakfast basket was included at Moments but you could upgrade to a cooked breakfast at the Conservation Hut at extra cost. Basic cooking facilities (toaster, microwave) are in the room.

The house is an old weatherboard with its original period features so the rooms differ but all have the charm that you look for in the Blue Mountains. All have verandahs that have stunning views over the valleys. You can sit outside for breakfast and take in the view and warm rugs are provided to keep out the morning chill.

There is a lovely old lounge with comfy sofas and extensive book and DVD library. A nice touch is that you can help yourself to port or sherry if you want to sit here and relax.

There is someone to help on site but you are basically left alone unless you need assistance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thanks for your review! It is great that you took advantage of one of our special mid-week promotions, but the fact that you would – and hopefully will – return at full price, is even better. We have recently started offering a home-cooked breakfast using mostly organic and locally-made products, served to the room or suite, which has become very popular with our guests in a very short amount of time. It is included in the full price advertised on our website. We have found that most of our guests appreciate being left alone, but as you mentioned, if assistance is needed, we are available and very happy to help and chat. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

What a fantastic place this is! The location is truly special, with phenomenal views from each of the rooms but there are probably any number of places to stay in the vicinity which can boast good views. What lifts Moments above the competition is the truly exceptional customer service provided by Tamara and her team. Our welcome was exemplary and we had hardly carried bags in before being offered a glass of bubbly and a snack. The rooms are quirky, comfortable and spotless. Lastly, the cooked breakfast was amazing; tasty & virtuous. Perfect to set us up for a day of walking.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jungle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review! It is a joy to read that you appreciated the whole “moments experience”: great location, mountain views, comfort, bushwalks at the doorstep and exceptional customer service. It was our pleasure to host you, and we wish you all the very best, hoping to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Alright hikers... If you are interested in treating yourself after an awesome hike on the National Pass, stay at Moments. The house manager is the sweetest person you have ever met from Austria (not Germany!) She keeps the place spotless, tidy, and welcoming. The grounds and views from every room are phenomenal. After a long hike, it was great to come back to a bottle of wine, update myself on sports, and look at the stunning vistas before me.

Hiking: It is right next to the national forest entrance (literally)! I was lucky. I had no idea this was the case. You could spend a couple days here with the miles or kilometers of hikes available. Empress Falls is a 20 minute trek... National pass is 2 hrs... Then you arrive at Wentworth Falls. Seriously unbelievable! It rivals the Grand Canyon and I am from Arizona.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us! We are so pleased to hear that as an avid hiker, moments Mountain Retreat was exactly what you were looking for. Your kind and wonderful comments are greatly appreciated, and we really need to visit the Grand Canyon now, don’t we? See you in Arizona! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this Gorgeous B & B , we had two Nights. Everything was Perfect !! To our Delight, we felt so welcome and at home. Our room was beautiful, everything was spotless.We loved all the little touches, the bottle of wine on arrival, the remote candles in the bathroom. The shower was the best !! We really loved this Property and would love to go back again soon.............

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us! It is exactly what we are hoping to achieve - that you feel welcome and at home while you're at moments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Everything about this boutique hotel is so lovely. From the reception ---flute of bubbles and a wee snack to the garden to the amenities in the room and lastly to that breathtaking view! Our room was spotless and every day was serviced brilliantly. The little extras like the choccies and the yummy shortbreads for afternoon tea were so appreciated as was the pre-dinner drinks. You are even given blankets for your balcony.

Room Tip: Do take the time to enjoy drinks on your private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryld16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
momentsManager, Owner at moments Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thanks for your visit! We are so glad you appreciated the little extras that make staying at moments special. Great room tip, by the way! We're looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in the Vera spa suite, and it was everything we were looking for. Tranquil with only the sound of birds and insects outside, beautifully appointed room with a view from the veranda to match. On arrival we were offered a glass of champagne and some nimbles on the veranda which was a nice touch. It was so comfortable we could have stayed in the suite all day, but thankfully we took advantage of some of the bush walks just a few metres from the property. There's so many to choose from. In the evening we lit the fire, and made the most of the in room spa which is huge with pleanty of room for two. All in all it was a wonderful stay, and we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tormerod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
954 reviews
7.0 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
2.8 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.5 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to moments Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about moments Mountain Retreat

Address: 86 Fletcher St, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range: £122 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — moments Mountain Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At moments Mountain Retreat, you will find it all in one magical place - breathtaking views from your room, double spas, fires, friendly service and world-renowned bushwalks from your doorstep, right at the entrance to the Blue Mountains National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your moments Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moments Mountain Retreat Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing