We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cottage on the Mall, Leura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Pines Chalet
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cottage on the Mall, Leura”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed with another couple at Cottage on the Mall in Leura just recently. It was indeed a lovely cottage, well laid out to suit couples or a family, and it was perfectly located just a short walk from the restaurant and shopping strip of Leura.

I can't comment on the booking process because the other couple took care of that.

The heating was superb, with a wood heater as well as other heating (not sure if gas or electric) pumped through ducts all throughout the cottage.

The beds were comfortable and the water-pressure was great. The kitchen provided plenty of cutlery, crockery, pots and pans etc - all you could need. The lounge suite was comfy and the TV reception was good.

Now for the gripes, which are minor in the scheme of things but annoying anyhow:
1) We did a big grocery shop to last us the whole stay and found that we couldn't refrigerate our purchases properly because the fridge shelves had been broken and sticky-taped back together so that they couldn't support any weight.
2) The ensuite bathroom door didn't shut properly. It barely held shut under normal circumstances but as soon as the extraction fan was turned on the door would open every single time and was then impossible to shut.
3) It would have been great for a halloween party because there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling of every room.
4) Most things were clean enough but I felt that this cottage was due for a good spring-clean, e.g. grubby fingermarks around light-switches, dirty stains on carpet and unclean windows etc

Although I thought the cottage-stay experience could have been improved by rectifying these points above, all in all it was a lovely place to stay and I would certainly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank barrydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was actually disappointed after reading all the reviews. I felt there was no warm welcome and expected a common area to relax in. Breakfast was average and thought having some heat and more of a warm feeling would help.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmello2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhisperingPines2010, Owner at Whispering Pines Chalet, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
I was puzzled and disappointed to read your review. Firstly, our whole concept is privacy for our guests - no, they do not share a common area (that is why most of our guests come to stay with us), The Garden Studio (which was your choice) has a separate entrance directly into our five acre grounds. It is not meant for people who want to socialise with other guests. It can be booked with a Room Only option or with full b/fast in our heritage-listed dining room. As for breakfast, you and your partner chose fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad,cereals, yoghurts, toast and a traditional free-range bacon & eggs option from our menu - it is a bit hard to glamourise bacon & eggs - but you could have chosen from four other options including smoked salmon with free range scrambled eggs and fresh tomato, or cheese omelette with free range bacon and sauteed mushrooms, etc. I am at a total loss about the 'warmth' comment - the Garden Studio was very cosy when I walked you to the door and checked you into it. Our accommodation is private, spotless, peaceful - and, as our other reviews suggest, welcoming and friendly. Our location can't be beaten if you are a hiker - the National Park is literally at our gate. However, as you arrived after dark, perhaps you did not give yourself the time to appreciate this. Better research on your part would undoubtedly have found a traditional, all-in-together B&B more suited to your requirements..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My daughter was getting married at the magical Yester Grange in Wentworth Falls in early May. I wished to stay in an equally alluring place to compliment the weekends festivities.The Garden Studio at Whispering Pines provided the perfect base to enjoy such a special weekend. The beautiful garden setting and suite where we stayed gave my husband and I a quiet place to reflect and prepare for all the activity associated with a wedding.Delightful hosts Maria and Bill supplied all the necessities for a wonderful stay including delicious breakfasts served in a divine period room. With the National Park abutting their garden the joyous trills of a lyre bird in the morning heralded the wonderful setting that is Whispering Pines, an elegant and gentle place to stay. I would definitely like to return here one day to take advantage of the properties proximity to the Wentworth Falls walking trails.The idea of winter walks preceded by a hearty breakfast are already playing in my mind and maybe an early morning walk before breakfast would result in the glimpse of that illusive lyre bird. I have always loved visiting the Blue Mountains and I have to say that staying at Whispering Pines contributed to making this trip a most romantic memorable and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here over the ANZAC Day weekend with my Mum for a getaway weekend before I move to the UK with my Husband. Fantastic cottage in the most delightful area of the Blue Mountains. Usually stay at Leura, but Leura has become so busy of late that I thought would give Wentworth Falls a go and so glad I did. The cottage has been wonderfully restored and maintained and felt right at home. It has everything you could ask for when a few days away from home and is very snug and warm for the cooler mountain nights. Maria and Bill are wonderful Hosts and showed us around Whispering Pines when we checked out - another marvel in itself! Would definitely book again at Appleblossom Cottage as it’s the perfect space to unwind - and would also love to stay a couple of nights at the amazing Whispering Pines! A real gem to find in the mountains, and hosted by a couple who are really lovely and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLLatrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this B & B by someone who knows a thing or two about B & Bs, having run one very successfully on Lake MacQuarie for many years. We wanted a two night stay in the Blue Mountains, as part of our three week visit to NSW. We quickly knew two days would not be enough to enjoy this extraordinarily special and beautiful place, so extended our stay. Our 'room' was in fact a self-contained appartment which like the whole of the turn-of-the-century property was unpretentiously elegant, totally comfortable, and felt very much a home. No ordinary home either, but one set amongst mature pine trees in a spacious and beautifully tended woodland garden, and situated right at the access point for some of the best walks in the Blue Mountains. The delicious breakfasts were what was needed to fuel a full day's walking. Nearby Leura, and Wentworth Falls itself, offered a generous range of options for eating out. Maria, our hostess, was lovely, gracious and good fun, made us feel totally at home, and was generous with expert and accurate advice about the local area. This very unusual place refreshed the spirit. We both felt that the accomodation was up to the astonishing and inspiring level of the unique landscapes that we had the privilege to explore each day. It was the most memorable, deeply enjoyable B & B I have ever encountered. We wished we could have stayed for longer, and are determined to return.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed in the Garden suite, a lovely room with the sunlight steaming through the windows in the morning. The owners were excellently accommodating and we enjoyed yummy breakfasts each morning. The property itself is stunning with beautifully manicured gardens surrounding the house and we enjoyed watching the local king parrots, rosellas and wattle birds gathering in the trees. The property is not even one minute's walk to the start of the Wentworth Falls walking trails and fantastic views over the escarpment. There's something for everyone here at Whispering Pines and we'll definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is self-contained, good for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I are veterans of luxury B+B country sojourns, and Whispering Pines is exceptional. This exquisite property was built in the late nineteenth century with many, many original features and the decor is glamorous, comfortable and appropriate to the period Our room, in the main homestead was extremely spacious- really a very generous apartment , and included a separate sitting room with views from three windowed walls, a kitchenette, generous bathroom and large bedroom. The room was beautifully heated, and well appointed. Our hosts were extremely helpful in recommending walks for us, printing out maps and so on. Maria made our breakfast exactly as we wished. The property has beautiful gardens, lantern lit at night and is three steps away from the most glorious walks imaginable. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wentworth Falls
3.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
3.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
7.6 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.2 mi away
Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Chalet

Property: Whispering Pines Chalet
Address: 178 - 186 Falls Rd, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales 2782, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wentworth Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wentworth Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whispering Pines Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2008 & 2009 Blue Mountains Award for Excellence, Silver Award 2008 Tourism NSW. Luxury chalet apartments for couples at the head of the majestic Wentworth Falls. Whispering Pines Chalet, on 4 acres, adjoins the World Heritage National Park & has direct access to some of the best walking trails in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whispering Pines Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Chalet Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing