We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect setting!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retreat at Wisemans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Retreat at Wisemans
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect setting!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We were very impressed from the word go with the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The grounds and golf course were just the perfect setting for the two nights we had there. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and we totally enjoyed our meals there. The retreat is located so you can walk to everything and is the perfect getaway for a romantic weekend or even a weekend away with friends. We loved it and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool and tennis courts have a great outlook and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisemansmanager, Owner at Retreat at Wisemans, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Sue

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review of your stay with us – so pleased you enjoyed it. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    100
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
45
115
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydnehy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were impressed with the restaurant and the amenities were very generous. Our 2 night stay allowed plenty of time to play 18 holes of golf, take a trip to St Albans to check out the old historic pub and generally check out the area. An all-round most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We paid for a river-view room, but I'm sure they all had nice outlooks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Brilliant location, and for a hotel/ retreat, the food at the restaurant was surprisingly amazing

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZDBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisemansmanager, Owner at Retreat at Wisemans, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review which I will pass on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed here in April for a wedding I was attending in the local area. I can't say too much about the place as I only stayed one night a didn't really spend too much time in the room, but I thought I'd post a review anyway.

As mentioned in the title of this review, this place is very basic so don't expect anything special. I think the fact that they're the biggest hotel in the area makes them complacent.

The other thing to mention is the poor attitude of the restaurant staff. I found them to be rude and not very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisemansmanager, Owner at Retreat at Wisemans, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your short visit to the Retreat and sincerely apologise for your experience in the Restaurant. Although we are the biggest hotel in the area we are certainly not complacent about the service we offer as can be seen from the many reviews which compliment our staff on their friendliness. I have certainly taken note of your comment and will investigate the matter further since we take all adverse comments very seriously. If you would like to contact me with more details I would be pleased to hear from you. Barry Topple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My wife and I “took a chance” on an Internet Promotion and booked a two night stay at the Australis Retreat, Wisemans Ferry.
We were encouraged by our first phone contact to make the reservation. The office personnel were friendly and efficient. A week later they confirmed our first opinion when they helpfully sorted out an unexpected difficulty we had encountered.
Our enthusiasm increased on our arrival. The resort and surroundings were even more beautiful than the Web Promotion Photographs and the reception staff welcomed us more like friends than paying guests.
The room was basic, clean and comfortable. The pool, golf course and other resort facilities were well maintained. The highlight of the stay was the outstanding dining room in which generous helpings of delicious entrées, mains and desert were served with the same pride and efficiency we had experience with the reception staff.
We commend the management on the way in which they have moulded their personnel into a team. All members performed their functions with willingness and pride.
We reluctantly left for home promising to treat ourselves to a future return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the Fairway Rooms. The room was basic and a bit darkish, but spacious and clean. The staff at the reception and the restaurant was very friendly. Breakfast was okay. The place itself is in a beautiful setting, we played a round of Golf which was included in our package. For Dinner I can recommend the "Wisemans Ferry Inn", they serve really nice food and the have a fantastic terrace and it is much better than the local Bowlo. The Retreat didn't blow me away, but I wasn't disappoined either - I guess you get for what you're paying for!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband & I stayed here over the Australia Day long weekend. Our room was comfortable, with a King Bed. The decor is a little dated, and it would be nice for rooms to have a sofa so we have somewhere to sit other than the bed or uncomfortable chair.

The location of the hotel is wonderful - very very quite, not far from the river if you feel like going for a walk. The restaurant at the hotel does a FANTASTIC dinner - a must visit.

It was raining on the weekend we visited so we didn't get to swim in the pool (it looked nice though).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPiggyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wisemans Ferry
21.3 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
18.7 mi away
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
1.2 mi away
Del Rio Riverside Resort
Del Rio Riverside Resort
#1 of 4 in Wisemans Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ferndale Retreat
Ferndale Retreat
#2 of 3 in Lower Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
24.5 mi away
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
#1 of 2 in Bowen Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
11.1 mi away
Riverside Oaks Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retreat at Wisemans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retreat at Wisemans

Property: Retreat at Wisemans
Address: 5564 Old Northern Rd, Wisemans Ferry, New South Wales 2775, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Wisemans Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wisemans Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Retreat at Wisemans 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 54 room Retreat at Wisemans offers everything you would expect and more from a 4 star property, including a golf course, tennis courts, and 25 meter swimming pool. It's a haven of tranquility, yet only just over an hour's easy drive from Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Retreat at Wisemans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing