We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killynaught Spa Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Boat Harbour B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2013

loved the "old style" feel,the kids loved the 2 donkeys and the baby goats,the large spa was a great way to relax after a long drive,very friendly staff, and the bacon and eggs next morning was great as well!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tassiewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. A cute comfortable cottage with nice touches throughout which made the place feel like you were visiting grandmas.
Comfortable bed, large well appointed bathroom with full sized toiletries, hair dryer and plenty of powerpoints.

Kitchen is similarly well appointed and easily caters for a longer stay if you want to self cater.

Digital TV (free to air only) no wifi but good Telstra signal.

Comfy and not costly. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishaPurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Would be more than happy to recommend anyone staying at the cottages. Generally, very well maintained; clean; most courteous and friendly staff, and would recommend dining at the attached Sea Breeze Cafe/Restuarant which food is second to none, in both presentation and taste.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Savageosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here approximately 10 years ago and thought It could not get much better. Now they have an outstanding restaurant and still have all the lovely extra's like the open fire, wonderful breakfast provisions and port, not to mention the lovely spa and comfortable beds.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend. We will definately be back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The property was the most expensive B & B in the whole of Tasmania but we thought that the experience would be worth it after viewing the website... lets just say that websites can be deceiving. VIEW the cottage before you pay and commit to stay. We stayed in Miss Maud's cottage - the cobwebs and dirty exterior, along with the ripped fly screen on the front door should have been enough... the interior, whilst 'quaint' was very very dirty...not what I expected for $180 per night - we were due to stay 2 nights but could only bear 1 night. Their were no decent toiletries - 1 sachet of shampoo only....hand soap in a canister that was broken - nothing extra...the towels were mismatched - a faded burgundy colour with bleach splashes across them and frayed - torn edges - worse than what I donated to the RSPCA! The spa bath had nothing to 'spa' with - no bubble bath, salts or anything else! the website stated there was a fully stocked mini bar... could not find that I am afraid to say. The breakfast provisions were interesting - 2 rashers of bacon, 4 eggs, a lump of frozen bread, margarine ( not even butter !) and one container of jam..... no fruit, no cereal... milk appeared to be either skim milk or milk powder - very watery...and the final indignity was a note from the owners in the kitchen asking guests to clean up the kitchen to keep expeneses down! you must be kidding. Managers care for this B & B - it is obvious the owners need to be more in touch with their establishment. Other stays in B & B's confirmed that this was indeed a "BAD" B & B and that it does not have a good reputation. Such a shame as in its hey day - I am sure the cottages would have been lovely and well worth the stay. Please, please inspect before you commit to stay and pay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arctophile_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killynaught, Owner at Killynaught Spa Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Hi - just wanted to let you know that we are the new owners of Killynaught Cottages and took over the property in June this year. I had been meaning to write for a while to say that we used this review as the basis for what we wanted to change about the cottages! I wrote down every bad thing that was said and made a checklist (along with all the other things I was keen to change). We have now recarpeted the three 2 bedroom cottages, are in the process of replacing all the leaking windows and doors in every cottage, installed heat/pump airconditioners in each cottage and digital TV's with DVD players, new microwaves and some new furniture (some of the couches were a little worse for wear). There is all new linen on the beds, new towels in the bathrooms, new curtains and smoke alarms, and cupboard doors on the once-curtained kitchen cupboards. In the bathrooms we have provided bubble baths and salts, shower gels and shampoo and conditioner. The minibar is easy to find now, with beers, wines, soft drinks, water, chocolates, chips and nuts. As far as breakfast goes, we provide a full plastic container of bacon, loaf of bread, 8-12 eggs, juice, milk, the small packets of cereals, a full block of butter, home-made jams and sauces made by in Scottsdale in the northeast of the state. The open fires, spa baths and memorabilia remain, and the beautiful view Most importantly, we are keeping it CLEAN. I look after the day to day cleaning and setting up of the cottages and I have a cleaner from VIP Cleaning Services who comes in for a total clean once a week or more if necessary. We are working on the gardens and surrounds, and re-opening the restaurant once it is refurbished and renovated. We hope this reviewer comes back one day and give us a chance to surprise you - thanks very much for your honest review of what the cottages were like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

This place is fantastic! Loved the antique furnishings, the open fire and the spa.

This place is great for travellers as not only does it have the "step back in time" qualities it also has all the facilities you need whilst travelling such as a washing machine and dryer and a full kitchen.

We arrived on a very wet and rainy day to a beautiful cottage that was exceptionally clean and well set out with the most wonderful open fire place all ready to be lit, a bottle of port and great coffee.

The bedroom is just lovely (we stayed in Miss Maude's cottage). The bed is sooo comfortable, although a bit daunting as it is approx 2.5 feet off the ground! A lovely little wooden step is provided for those who don't think they can make it by themselves! Also had a lovely resident old teddy named "Jacob" sitting on the bed which was a lovely touch.

The cottage is full of lovely little touches such as antique books, lamps and other interesting things.

Breakfast provisions are also good with a range of cereals, freshly baked bread, fresh eggs, bacon, plunger coffee and lovely home made jam.

The spa was wonderful, although not quite fitting with the "antiqey" feel of the place but hey, we can absolutely live with that!!!

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Will definitely be back and next time it will definitely be for more than one night.

Lots of things to do in the area. We were lucky enough to visit the Tulip Festival in nearby Wynyard which was teriffic. The beach looks great, but too cold and wet for a walk when we were there.

Can highly recommend the fish and chips at a place called Bucaneers in Wynyard, but be prepared for a wait as it is popular and therefore very busy.

Happy Travels Guys! All the best. Claire :)

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2007

If you wish to stay in a charming, atmospheric cottage in the peaceful countryside ,Killynaught should be your choice. Two wonderful nights with spa , breakfast and even an evening port by the open fire for the bargain price of $200.. Although quiet, its only acouple of hours away from Cradle Mountain and close to Stanley etc so the position is great too. Highly recommend and cant wait to go back .

1  Thank gooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat Harbour
22.6 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
203 reviews
12.9 mi away
Burnie Ocean View Motel and Holiday Caravan Park
5.3 mi away
The Waterfront Wynyard
The Waterfront Wynyard
#1 of 1 in Wynyard
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
1.5 mi away
Boat Harbour Garden Cottages
Boat Harbour Garden Cottages
#3 of 4 in Boat Harbour
14 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killynaught Spa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killynaught Spa Cottages

Address: 17266 Bass Hwy, Boat Harbour, Tasmania 7321, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Boat Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat Harbour
Price Range: £111 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killynaught Spa Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killynaught's five individually designed cottages are set on 9 green acres with beautiful sea and rural views at Boat Harbour. Evoking the atmosphere of Victorian times, yet including the amenities and little luxuries to make your stay an experience to remember. Complimentary port, open log fire and luxurious spa, digital TV/DVD, heat pump/air conditioner, kitchen and laundry, parking outside your door. Centrally based on the North West Coast between Stanley, Cradle Mountain, Strahan and the ocean. Boat Harbour beach is white sand and blue ocean only a few minutes away by car. Burnie/Wynyard airport is only ten minutes to the East. Very popular Seabreeze at Killynaught restaurant is on site, open every day and close enough to walk from your cottage, but far enough away to retain your peace and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killynaught Spa Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing