We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below acceptable level for $150.00 for one night”
Review of Bridport Bay Inn

Bridport Bay Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridport Bay Inn
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My partner and I spent 1 night in a 2 bedroom cabin, just recently (October 2013)
For the price of $150.00 for the night for the two of us, we found the cabin to be well below the level of the price paid. The 2 seater couch had sand and food crumbs on the cushions, a large cigarette burn hole on the arm and the whole couch looked and felt grubby. All walls had black scrape and scuff marks. The curtain at the front entry door looked grubby, as did the glass door itself, glass smeared. All kitchen cupboard doors were grubby with hand prints inside and out. The shelves on the fridge door were all broken, therefore were unable to use it for storage of milk and drink bottles. The carpet in both bedrooms was filthy. The bed linen very ordinary, holes in towels, pillow cases, and stains on both. A smell of cigarette smoke in the bedding. If we had not paid in advance for this room we would not have stayed, when departing next morning went to speak to management, nobody at reception until 9.30am could not wait around. my advice CHECK IT OUT BEFORE MAKING PAYMENT!!!!!!

Room Tip: Cabins are set back from the bar area and from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Bridport Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Easy to find, up the hill pace with views. The motel units are set behind the hotel area and parking is in front of your unit. They are a little outdated, but otherwise roomy, comfortable and clean. We had an end unit and experienced no noise from other guests or the hotel area.

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and are glad we did. Not only was it very inexpensive, the food was very fresh and tasty. The views are excellent and the staff very friendly. The beer was also very cold...

Overall, a good motel style place to stay with an attached pub and restaurant.

Room Tip: Get the end unit (10 I think).
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YakkaNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The innkeeper was very helpful and even let me do my laundry for free. Room was large and although lacked a desk spot, had a couch. I would recommend it to anyone for budget accommodation. The attached Bistro had a great steak and garlic sauce and kudos to the chef and servers for handling a difficult specialty order really well. Good location within Bridport, walking distance to shops and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Th budget Bridport Bay Inn is comfortable enough for budget accommodation. It certainly needs updating and it is quite noisy in the room we were in. On the other hand the food in the dining room is terrific and the people are extremely helpful and friendly. Accommodation in Tasmania especially and Australia in general is very expensive so this place was a good find. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at the Bridport Bay Inn for one night while attending a friend's wedding. I paid approx $120 for a studio room. I wasn't expecting much for this price but was pretty disappointed all the same. The room smelt, the sheets had stains on them, the walls were paper thin (you could hearing people talking, quite clearly, in the next room) and the bathroom sink smelt like something had crawled down it and died. The TV was miniscule. It also took about 20 mins to check in because no one served me, and when they did they could not find my booking.

Positives? It is in a very convenient location, close to shops and beach. But that's about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had two great meals here - one on a quiet Sunday, the other on a very busy Saturday night - and both were top notch. There's lots to choose from, including an extensive entree menu, counter meal faves like scotch fillet and beer battered fish (flathead in this case - yum!), and also a specials board with other seafood alternatives, a pasta dish etc. The meals were beautifully presented and tasted just as good. The steaks were lovely cuts and cooked just as ordered. The service was friendly and quick, even with several large tables on the Saturday. We also grabbed some takeaway pizzas one evening and they were a great meal too.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Fattyandskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Three of us enjoyed lunch here on a warm and sunny day. We each chose from the lunch specials menu, with a curried scallops, open steak sandwich and chicken kiev. Each meal was A$15-$16, which is good value price these days. The non-specials menu showed prices ranging between A$20-A$35, including fresh local scallops at the higher end. We were more than happy with the cheaper lunch menu.

The scallops weren't local or fresh, but nice and firm in a tasty mango curry sauce over rice. Each meal was ordered with salad and chips, instead of optional vegetables. The salad was fresh and tasty and the chips cooked well. The steak sandwich had nice caramelized onions on top steak, bacon, cheese and salad.

The hotel sits atop the hill in the main street overlooking parts of the town and out to Bass Strait.

Anytime I'm in Bridport, I'd be very happy to eat here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.5 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#5 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Barnbougle Lost Farm
#1 of 8 in Bridport
165 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bridport Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridport Bay Inn

Address: Bridport Inn 105 Main St, Bridport, Tasmania 7262, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Price Range: £58 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bridport Bay Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bridport Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridport Bay Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing