We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
Review of Bridport Bay Inn

Bridport Bay Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bridport Bay Inn
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We recently spent two nights in a 2BR cabin.For the price of $160 the accommodation fell well short of the standard one would expect for the price paid particularly in this location.The general standard of cleanliness could only be described as poor and there was an all pervading smell of dampness emanating from the main bedroom.Our experience mirrors that of a recent review.It would seem that we stayed in the same cabin(.Roger P Oct 2013)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    7
    6
    12
See reviews for
5
14
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Overall, I would suggest you stay somewhere else. Biggest flaw was I go to check in at 9:45pm and NOBODY was there to check me in. I had to waste about 45 minutes calling all kinds of numbers after too many hours of travel to find somebody. VERY FRUSTRATING. Here is my analysis:

Pros:
Location, nice people when they were there, water pressure in shower

Cons:
EXTREMELY motel like, towels hurt the body, carpet is dirty, stains on the sheets, TV is WAY tooooooo small for room, no AC

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinasohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BridportBayInn, Owner at Bridport Bay Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Like many small motels in regional areas there is not a 24 hour concierge on hand. A simple phone call to notify us that you were intending to check in after 10pm would have avoided your situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed in one of the cabins in early January. It was clean, comfortable and well located in the town centre, and a five minute walk from the beach. The price was reasonable enough too. You can start the walk around Bridport, just across the road, which is quite nice. The whole town is very peaceful, small and sweet. I'd recommend staying here if you're looking for something clean, simple and comfortable. It was good for just the one night. It's also close to some great wineries (e.g. Jansz and Pipers Brook) and there is a nice little cafe for breakfast, just next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyred33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Slow to be tabled, slow to take order and slow meal service. Oysters overcooked. Despite calling well in advance to warn of gluten and dairy intolerances I was informed chef too busy to make an effort. Thai beef salad very dry and came with ingredient specifically requested to be left out. After a one hour wait the entree and main were served at the same time. Medium rare steak came well done and sans bacon for a fillet mignon. Couldn't risk mustard as condiments were of the pre-made kind suggesting chef incapable if making own sauces. Waitstaff very apologetic.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PaleoIronman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bridport hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My partner and I spent 1 night in a 2 bedroom cabin, just recently (October 2013)
For the price of $150.00 for the night for the two of us, we found the cabin to be well below the level of the price paid. The 2 seater couch had sand and food crumbs on the cushions, a large cigarette burn hole on the arm and the whole couch looked and felt grubby. All walls had black scrape and scuff marks. The curtain at the front entry door looked grubby, as did the glass door itself, glass smeared. All kitchen cupboard doors were grubby with hand prints inside and out. The shelves on the fridge door were all broken, therefore were unable to use it for storage of milk and drink bottles. The carpet in both bedrooms was filthy. The bed linen very ordinary, holes in towels, pillow cases, and stains on both. A smell of cigarette smoke in the bedding. If we had not paid in advance for this room we would not have stayed, when departing next morning went to speak to management, nobody at reception until 9.30am could not wait around. my advice CHECK IT OUT BEFORE MAKING PAYMENT!!!!!!

Room Tip: Cabins are set back from the bar area and from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Easy to find, up the hill pace with views. The motel units are set behind the hotel area and parking is in front of your unit. They are a little outdated, but otherwise roomy, comfortable and clean. We had an end unit and experienced no noise from other guests or the hotel area.

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and are glad we did. Not only was it very inexpensive, the food was very fresh and tasty. The views are excellent and the staff very friendly. The beer was also very cold...

Overall, a good motel style place to stay with an attached pub and restaurant.

Room Tip: Get the end unit (10 I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YakkaNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The innkeeper was very helpful and even let me do my laundry for free. Room was large and although lacked a desk spot, had a couch. I would recommend it to anyone for budget accommodation. The attached Bistro had a great steak and garlic sauce and kudos to the chef and servers for handling a difficult specialty order really well. Good location within Bridport, walking distance to shops and other restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
0.5 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#6 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Barnbougle Lost Farm
#1 of 8 in Bridport
163 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bridport Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridport Bay Inn

Property: Bridport Bay Inn
Address: Bridport Inn 105 Main St, Bridport, Tasmania 7262, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bridport Bay Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bridport Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridport Bay Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing