We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the $$. A must do!”
Review of Barnbougle Dunes

Barnbougle Dunes
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Bridport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well Worth the $$. A must do!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I played both the Dunes and The Lost Farm courses. Both courses are kept and presented in top condition. Both courses have 4 different tee off points, starting with black (most challenging) through to white (easy does it) based on your handicap. I chose to enjoy myself and I tee'd off the blue markers.
As for the personalised service and accommodation, well, it was 110%. Even if you aren't a golfer it's worth going just to experience the accommodation, the friendly genuine personalised service and the fine food. I stayed at the Lost Farm, however there is accommodation available at the Dunes and I am sure it's just as good.

I was so close to extending for another night and was trying to find any excuse to stay longer. However, there were other sights that I had planned to see. I can't wait to return.

You will not be disappointed.
Ps, the heated bathroom floor is a godsend in winter!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    35
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Golf”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Must do golf. Add this course and the Lost Farm course to your bucket list. Hacker or pro or in between the walk is unbelievable. The modest fees are well worth the trek.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“A complete package”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As a tasmanian I recently took two well travelled visitors from Sydney and our non golfing spouses to Barnbougle for two nights and days of total indulgence. The golf, accommodation and food were beyond excellent and the natural warmth and charm of the staff completed a great stay. Fabulous value for money and a credit to Australian tourism. And those golf courses....I can't get the grin of my chin!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“excellent seaside GOLF course and restaurant”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stunning view of the ocean, nice course design brings a lot pleasure in playing.
the restaurant is also recommended! floor to ceiling window unvails a long coast view. feels like dinning at the end of the earth. food is above average.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“GOLFING PARADISE”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

No wonder this course is considered one of the best links courses in the world. Just an amazing experience. Oddly enough as a c grader I still scored all right. It is that kind of course. Go crazy and it can murder you, play safe and win a beer. Even if you are a hacker the experience is well worth it. Green Fees at $109 compare very favourably with capital city courses. Bridport has coffee shops and lovely walks. All round if you hit the little white ball go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnm53376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnbougle Dunes also viewed

 

Been to Barnbougle Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing