We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic needs for a golfer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barnbougle Dunes Cottages
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Basic needs for a golfer”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We played both the Dunes and Lost Farm over two Days. Both where great but I personally favor the lost farm.
Both places served great food for a golfer both for breakfast and lunch as well as for dinner. Very good to stay at the course.
The cottage was Clean, not so fancy (eg plastic floors instead of tiles int eh bathroom etc) but just what a tired golfer needs ie a good bed.

Room Tip: The Lost Farm is a bigger Place, more like a normal hotel incl a SPA so if I would go back I'd s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG4KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After a Christmas/new Year holiday with friends near Freycinet we decided to take the leisurely route back to Devonport to catch the Spirit of Tasmania. Barnbougle Dunes was a must see on this holiday as we wanted to drive via the NE of Tassie to experience this region that get's little attention on holiday brochures. We chose Barnbougle Dunes because of it's location - where Bass Strait blows into seemingly vast stretches of isolated coastal dunes and merge into paddocks of farming land where livestock outnumber tourists. Our cabin at Barnbougle was basic but clean and had all the essentials for our 1 night stay. As ex - golfers ( thanks to injuries) we still felt a thrill walking out to the golf range and later watch the active golfers return to the bar with wide smiles , ruddiness in wind blown checks and Bass Strait tossled hair reliving magic moments on the uniquely Tasmanian golf course. We dined at the Dunes restaurant on site and thoroughly enjoyed both friendly service , quality food and stunning coastal location. Definitely recommend this place to golfers and non -golfers alike. Who can tire from exploring or gently wandering the vast peaceful expanse of the NE Tasmanian çoast where other tourists are only spotted making their way around the staggeringly spectacular golf course.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages that are just near the practice green and driving range. The cottage was well appointed, but in winter we needed an electric blanket.

We didn't use the spare bedroom, but there was no air conditioning there at all.

The staff were very friendly. We had a very nice dinner and lunch at the club house. Good value and quality.

The golf course is simply amazing. It should be on every Golfer's "Bucket List". It is a credit to the Owner's vision.

Room Tip: Lost Farm (next door - same Owner) is a little more livelier probably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raynboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Played here on Saturday.....wow.....I play off a 4 handicap and rate this place amongst Royal Melbourne/ Victoria. We stayed in the cottages and if anyone has a bad word then they can't be satisfied. You are there to play golf....the cottages are 2 bedroom with a large bathroom. The only advice is if you grab a box of cereal in at Bridport for breakfasts...be warned there are no bowls in the room. Once again the staff are a miserable bunch and struggle to raise a smile....not sure why they are so sad. Jody is the go to person.....very helpful amongst a bunch of non helpful peeps. Plan a golfing trip and get down there.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilkotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I attended a conference this past weekend (17 - 20 May) at Barnbougle, and visited the neighbouring Lost Farms. The golf course (I didn't play) is ranked 49th in the world, and it looks it ... aka The Legend of Bagger Vance (movie).

The cottage accommodation is more than basic and well kept / appointed. The restaurant is value for money!

A trip to Lost Farms, the other golf course and accommodation option just up the road, is a must. The view from the restaurant at Lost farms is to die for! Be warned, better to book in advance if you want to dine there.

Even if you do not play golf, an over night visit and a walk around is a good treat!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or room service, but everything else is just fine!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScorpioIRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening after the drive from Hobart. We were told to go to our cottage up the back there!!! It was dark and the cottage numbers aren't lit, the drive had no lighting, so it was hard to find. When we did find number three, there was no light at the entrance of the cottage so had to fumble in the pitch dark to get the door open.
This is May in Tasmania and freezing. The room had no heating on and it took our effort not to just get into bed to stay warm. The heating is inadequate for winter. There was no extra blanket to be found.

All Niall a disappointing experience, far removed from our wonderful stay earlier at Lost Farm

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyberchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

To start the Golf was mind blowing,the dinner being Tassie produce and cooked with a lot of Love was worth the trip alone,accommodation was great, clean and Tidy.The Staff were the best,Jess was one of the best hostesses I have experienced in quite a while,and I cannot leave out Peter the Tour guide,he will have you laughing all day,cheers to the Pro shop boys from Utah as well.Thankyou

Room Tip: They have 26 cabins basically the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridport hotels
2.2 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#6 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
2.5 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bridport Bay Inn
Bridport Bay Inn
#8 of 8 in Bridport
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Barnbougle Lost Farm
#1 of 8 in Bridport
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnbougle Dunes Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnbougle Dunes Cottages

Property: Barnbougle Dunes Cottages
Address: Bridport, Tasmania, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bridport
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Barnbougle Dunes Cottages Bridport, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing